We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Serenella
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Europa(Breuil-Cervinia)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Chalet Valdotain(Breuil-Cervinia)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Excelsior Planet(Breuil-Cervinia)
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Edelweiss(Breuil-Cervinia)
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Mignon(Breuil-Cervinia)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Hermitage(Breuil-Cervinia)
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Baita Cretaz(Breuil-Cervinia)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Bucaneve(Breuil-Cervinia)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Meuble Mon Reve(Breuil-Cervinia)
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Meuble Gorret(Breuil-Cervinia)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (66)
Filter reviews
66 results
Traveler rating
3
19
22
7
15
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3
19
22
7
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshard working familyfamily runlocation is greatrooms are cleanski bootsnoiseslopes
Filter
Updating list...
24 - 29 of 66 reviews
Reviewed March 18, 2012

This is what they pledged in their "welcome note" and well, this is true.

We booked the 2 remaining single rooms in this resort with Inghams for Serenella and Marmore hotel. I choose the lesser hotel and allowed my friend the better one. Mine is £100 cheaper.

I was concerned enough about the bad reviews about this hotel to email Inghams Admin but did not get a reply. I was in Room 9, which is recommended for quiet. I was comfortable and slept well but the room is basic and bathroom even more basic, but hey, there is always hot water. I was happy enough. There is a fridge in the room and they are happy for you to have drinks in the room as long as you do not bring them to the dining room. I brought a travel kettle and could have fresh milk. You get a poor packed breakfast on the departure morning if you leave very early like I did, and no coffee. I came prepared.

Breakfast is the usual continental bread rolls, ham, cheese and salami, with muesli, toast bread. Morning pastries were individually packed (I guess for convenience and to reduce waste) but handy to put in your pocket which everyone did. Same daily and no hot food, but real coffee is served everyday - not the greatest coffee but significantly better than machine coffee served in many other hotels.

Dinner was decent and the portions were very small the first 2 days (as other reviews) but doubled in size from day 3. So maybe this problem is now resolved. There were a few choices of starters and main courses each day. A basic side sald is available with each meal. There were good variations of pasta dishes each evening and main courses are very "italian" in style - I have stayed in Italy often enough but it is not "meat and 2 veg" which may shock some less aware English Travellers. Desserts were disappointing.

The ski room is basic but dry and warm enough. There is enough room for everyone. The hotel is virtually 2 minutes away from the chair lift, as is the Inghams Ski Hire The gondela is possibly 10 minutes away uphill. We could ski virtually to less than a minute walk back to the hotel so as close to ski in and out as you can get.

Great long runs both in Cervinia and Zermatt. The snow was better on the Zermatt side this week as we enjoyed glorious sunshine all week.

Food much higher standard in Zermatt but a price to match - seriously expensive. You can pay in Euros but you get changed in Francs - Euro coins not accepted. the exchange rate used in the restaurants is not favourable.

TopTip: Get an international ski pass.

More about the ski areas Cervinia and Zermatt under Attractions section, from me.

Room Tip: Rooms away from the reception/bar area room 9 upwards.
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Sunworshipper003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2012

"Service" with a scowl, room not clean ([--] stains in WC and months of dust and hairs in those not so hard to reach places), Italian TV (mainly cartoons) played for staff in guest lounge resonating along corridor and into rooms. Blankets too small for bed.

Food OK. Central location. Room size OK. Shower OK.

If you are young and get a cheap deal this may be OK for a place to sleep, but it will not be a home for home.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank john_rumsey9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2012

stayed at the serenella in january 2012 having travelled with inghams The service provided by inghams was 1st class transfers were smooth and problem free.The good things about the hotel were location could ski almost to the door,it was warm and clean if rather dated feeling.Unfortunately the welcome was anything but warm we always felt we were rather an annoyance to the staff/family.If you are the sort of person who likes to eat lots of breakfast then last until dinner this is not the place for you.Breakfast is advertised as 8-9 but make sure you are there early as even arriving at 8.30 we felt too late.There never seemed to be enough of the basics tea /coffee /water or milk For the whole dining room of approx 20 people there were two small jugs of milk which were topped on request but always with that slight feeling of annoyance The same goes for tea /coffee/juice and bread -never enough of anything.The evening meal was pretty much the same not really enough, i have never felt so hungry after a three course meal, my tip stick to the pasta dishes as they at least seemed adequate I would like to assure you my party are very average eaters.The most disappointing breakfast was departure day as we had been promised a bagged breakfast by the rep, upon asking where breakfast was we were told there wasn,t any the owner very reluctantly made coffee for people and gave pre packed croissants but it was quite clear we were being unreasonable expecting this before our two hour journey to the airport even though being so early we couldn,t get any other food elsewhere.I think this is all a pity as it could be a good place to stay but feel reluctant to recommend mainly due to unfriendly" welcome"

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank wendy b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2012

Stayed here 3rd week in January 2012. This is a small family run hotel - mother doesn't seem to understand/speak much english and rarely smiles; father is the chef who seems to spend the rest of his time watching television or playing cards; daughter is very pleasant and can communicate well with the guests.
The hotel is clean and the room I had (a single room) was basic but adequate and I could turn the heating down to my requirements! There was always plenty of hot water and adequate storage space. As the whole of the hotel is located on one floor of a circular building the noise from the lounge/television/bar area carries a long way and I found it very noisy till about 11pm (or when the last guest decided to go to bed) athough there is not a lot of noise from the resort. The lounge/bar area is not very inviting as it is very small and right next to the reception and television (which was always on).
The breakfast was continental and was ok for a week but the evening meals were nothing to write home about, often being too much pasta and not enough vegetables. The price of the drinks were high - I paid 3 Euros for a bottle of still water which I swear was tap water as the seal on the bottle was broken (I was ill that same night). Tip - buy fizzy water as that can't be doctored! The coffee, also 3 Euros, is a strange mixture of coffee and chicory - not the best cup of coffee in the resort!
The ski storage area is good - I felt that my equipment was safe - and the main ski lifts are only a short walk away. The ski area is fantastic with enough runs to keep everyone happy. If you're a reasonable skier, make sure you get a lift pass to go over to Switzerland and spend a long lunch at the mountain restaurant in Schwarzsee - the live band are absolutely great!
I was disgusted at the offering for breakfast on the morning of departure. I know it was early - 6.15am - but a cup of tea and a small sweet croissant is not enough to travel on for the rest of the day! We were denied access to the dining room even though everything was laid out the night before!
A great week of skiing with fantastic weather (5 out of the 6 days anyway) was a definite plus! The resort is whatever you want it to be and there are some nice bars/restaurants although everything is fairly expensive.

Room Tip: The few rooms away from the reception/lounge will be quietest - probably rooms 12/13/14
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Janet T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2012

Small, budget, family run hotel in good location run by 3 members of the owner family who speak very little english which causes constant confusion. Rooms were clean and adequate.The food quality however was dissapointing.

Room Tip: Room numbers: 7+
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank biki17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews