We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best skiing holiday ever !” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Il Meuble Furggen

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Il Meuble Furggen
Ranked #22 of 38 Hotels in Breuil-Cervinia
Certificate of Excellence
hereford
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Best skiing holiday ever !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2014

Just got back from a fantastic holiday at the Furggen. Lovely family hotel, incredibly clean and spotless. You go to breakfast and by the time you got back yr beds were made and room cleaned by 2 Romanian girls who also worked in the bar. Mama Elinor, daughter Claire and Rimini Daniel couldn't do enough for you to make yr holiday enjoyable, Always smiling.
The rooms are basic but spacious and clean. There's no sauna but hey you can make the mini bath in yr bathroom into yr own little hot tub !
Bar is cosy with a great choice also did snacks of pizza and pain is if required.
Breakfast, continental, GREAT choice with cheese, ham, eggs you can boil yourself, fruit, yoghurt, cake, rolls, jams, honey, choice of teas, coffees, need I go on !
Ski in ski out red run in the day to Breuill chair lifts, or ski down slope short walk with skies to gondola/cable car to Plan Maison.
In the evening 15 min walk to town, 20 min back up hill or you can call hotel between 5pm-11.30 (and son Kristoff will pick you up (hope yr better :0) ) even when he was taken ill the hotel didn't let you down, Claire's boyfriend Ivan who taught snowboarding in the day jumped in and helped out taxiing people to and from the town. (we only used this on arrival when we went to pick our skies up as we liked the walk)
Its great to stay away from the 'Hubba Hubba' or join it if you require
Boot room spacious in the garage below with lockers for skis.
All in all a great holiday. Would definitely return.

Room Tip: Definitely get a room at the front so you can see the Matahorn
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hereford6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    43
    13
    2
    1
See reviews for
18
43
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2014

Location good if you want to be on the slopes, but a bit of faff to get to the village. The hotel has a bus service and it is quite good but not like being in the village hotels for acces to restaurants and shops. Ski in easy but a walk up a slope to get to the bottom part of a red run. Not ideal with children.

Hotel quite nice, staff very helpful. Beds small and not the best. Rooms and bathrooms very standard for this type of hotel. Snow lockers and changing room very good.

Wedsite says no need to book parking, so I didn't and it was full. Not ideal.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank snowriderav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaumaris, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2013

We returned from Cervinia 3 Feb 13 after staying at the Furggen through Crystal. After staying at mostly Austrian and Swiss resorts previously, we were initially disappointed with the room we had. We had a lower floor, back room which if we lay down on the bed could just about see a bit of the Matterhorn!. The rooms on the front of the hotel have fantastic views but with one big disadvantage, the mini bath! Our room had a proper shower so restored itself in our estimation. Having said that, half way through the week the front rooms received a shower curtain which went a little way to remedying the situation. The bathrooms are a little tired and could do with a revamp and the rooms themselves are a little small. Thats the bad part out of the way. Now the good..The rooms were spotlessly clean and the rooms were cleaned and serviced every day. The high degree of pride the staff showed in their hotel was evident. The breakfast in the morning was good although the coffee was not the best. The staff are really friendly, extremely hard working and try extremely hard to make your stay a good one. The location on the ski slope is a good one as better skiers can ski straight down the one of the chairs that will take you to the main area and the run back at night is straight to the door. The location is a long walk into town but the hotel run a shuttle service between 5 and 11.30pm which gets around this. The one thing that stands out for our stay is that on the final day we had what amounted to a hurricane blow up. We were down in the town at the time and couldn't get back due to the extremely high winds and whiteout conditions (My wife was blown off her feet across a road!). Under extreme conditions mini bus came out to rescue us which was way beyond the call of duty. The bar serves snacks and makes a great Chocorum! We spoke to other couples who went to more "Upmarket Hotels" who were not looked after anywhere near as well as us. After reading trip advisor before going we were to a degree expecting the rooms (considering the price they are reasonable) but were not expecting the little gem of a hotel that it actually turned out to be. Quite a number of the guests with us were returning guests which is a recommendation in itself. If you want a clean, warm hotel, in a great skiing location where the staff try their hardest to make you welcome, the Furggen is for you.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Draig_Gwyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2013

Just returned from spending a week at this excellent hotel in Cervinia. This was my second time in Cervinia (both times with crystal ski). I typically go skiing 1-2 times per year so have stayed in a wide variety of accommodation over the years. My priorities are as follows; easy access to slopes, good skiing with a large range (200km+), being close to the craic/fun in the skiing resort, friendly staff, hot showers and privacy for couples. Furthermore, I look for all of the above at reasonable prices!

Hotel Furggen:

Rooms: We stayed in room 32 on the second floor and got a balcony (paid extra supplement of 50 euro approx when we booked the trip to secure this). All of the rooms on this floor appeared to be similar in terms of size and facilities. I would recommend paying extra for the balcony. The room was quite reasonable in terms of size, the bed was perfectly comfortable (difficult leaving it some mornings!) and the shower was a modern type (no sit-down bath hybrid as has been mentioned in other reviews) with plenty of hot water. We had more than enough room for all our ski-gear, our bags, and the room was cleaned impeccably well every morning. The heater is not adjustable, but the balcony door can be left open a smidgeon if you're too hot during the night. The walls are a little thin between rooms, but the other guests were quiet so we had no real trouble in this regard. I get the feeling that this hotel does not usually cater to loud groups, and if there was any trouble the staff would be very helpful and understanding. Overall, as a couple, we were both very happy with the room for sleeping/relaxing/showering and would stay in this room again in a second. A hairdryer was available on request from the reception.

Location:
The hotel is fantastic in terms of location. You walk out the garage (where you have a locker for skis available to you), you turn right, and you're on a ski run that comes off red run 3 into the village. You ski 150m and you're at the chair lift that will take you up to the top of number 3 run, and you can gain access to the rest of the mountain from here with ease. At the end of the day you ski down number 3 run, choose whether to stop in le bricole or not for apres-ski (50m across the slope from hotel furggen), and ultimately ski right back to outside of the hotel and walk back in. This access does not appear very snow-dependent either, unlike some other ski-in and ski-out facilities I have stayed at. The very easy ski-in and ski-out in this hotel is one of its high points. With regards to the village of Cervinia, we walked down each evening in about 10 minutes, and whenever we finished dinner and/or drinks we simply called the hotel and they sent down a mini-van within 5 minutes to pick us up and bring us back! We did walk back up one evening which took 15 minutes, so ultimately I would recommend this hotel as within practicable distance of all the facilities of Cervinia.

Food/Drink:
Breakfast is a simple affair, held from 7:30-10 each morning, with meats, cheese, cereals, some simple cakes, and various caffeines and juices. Nothing more fancy than that. So don't be looking for bacon and sausages, but as long as its something simple to start the skiing day, with pleasant service and a wonderful view of the mountain out the windows, then this will work for you.
For dinner the hotel has a relationship with la bricole restaurant, which is a short walk across the slopes. The dinner menu is posted in the reception area of hotel furggen each day, and costs approx 20 euro. We had some apres ski in la bricole on two occasions, and their bombardino and hot chocolates were very nice, but we didn't go to dinner there, so I can't comment further. We went to dinner in Cervinia itself each night, and were generally happy with our experiences in the various restaurants there, especially la copa pan!
For drinks and snacks there is a cosy bar in the hotel which also does a variety of sandwiches. The service is prompt, pleasant, with good measure of spirits poured! A nice way to wind up a night.

Skiing in Cervinia:
I won't spend too long on this. For beginners and intermediates, Cervinia is well worth at least one trip, and it's probably best to get the local pass and only upgrade to the Zermatt area for one or two days. For experts it will seem a little simple (very little real black runs). Has a red run that is approx 22km in length from the Klein Matterhorn down to Valtourneche, so no complaints in terms of the length of runs!

Craic in Cervinia: Some good pubs, most notable Copa Pan and Ymeltrob. Not as crazy as places like Meribel, but plenty of watering holes for you to make your own fun.

To conclude, this hotel was one of the highlights of our trip. It's friendly, very affordable for its location and facilities, and we found our room spacious and welcoming. Transport is always available to and from the village in the evenings, and the walk is short in either case. Beer and spirits are available in the bar, and the breakfast is perfectly adequate. Our shower was modern and had plenty of hot water, and we slept perfectly in our bed (both concerns of previous reviews). Highly recommend. Hard to really come up with cons unless you're looking for 5 star accommodation, or unless the rooms on the lower floors were less pleasant than those on the second floor.

Caveatss:
I don't know what rooms are like on the lower floors.
It's not a place to bring a major boozing group who are going to wake up the hotel every night when they come back, but its particularly good for couples who do their partying in the village and then want a hotel for a good sleep and easy access to the slopes the next day.
I didn't need crystal ski for the entire week, but they did have a presence in the hotel on some mornings if required.

Room Tip: For the best option, rooms 32 or 33 had balconies, amazing views, and were at the end of the corrido...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank drcdavenport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skipton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2013

We have just returned from a late booking through Crystal staying at the Furggen.The family and staff are very welcoming, friendly and helpful.The hotel is homely and for us a great location overlooking Cervinia with door-to-door skiing.A minibus operates in the evenings to the village should you not wish to make the 15 minute walk.We took the half board option at La Bricole which is a short walk, crossing a piste.Warm and welcoming staff, great food, excellent value and we were pleased to have taken this half board option.Great to look at the night sky on the walk back! If you are looking for a traditional hotel with family hospitality, the Furggen is for you.

Room Tip: We had a room with balcony overlooking the village.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Happytraveller52_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

Situated beside the piste (red run 3) this is a great hotel for keen skiers overlooking the resort of Cervinia. Clamp the skis on and traverse a short way over to the piste and ski down to Cretaz area to joing the main uplifts.
The family and staff running the Furggen are extremely welcoming and attentive and cannot do enough for you. Rooms are basic, but cosy with plenty of wardrobe space - bathroom was a bit antiquated and could do with refurbishing (toilet flush broke on 2 occasions - but was fixed within hours). The hotel is a 15 minute walk up a hill from the village, but fear not, the obliging Christoph (owner's son) is on hand to run you up or down in the family minibus (this service is from 5pm to 11pm).
Breakfast is the usual continental affair which was fine; my only gripe would be that tinned fruit should be replaced with fresh fruit. Half Board is taken at La Bricole Mountain Restuarant (on the piste) about 200 yards from the Furggen - a bit spooky crossing the piste at 8:00pm. Don't believe any horror stories of the restaurant being miles away from the hotel.
If you are looking for cosy, family Italian hospitality, this is for you.

Room Tip: Request a room with balcony and a view over Cervinia. A bathroom with a shower is probably more con...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Guy004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lymington
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2013

Was looking for a simple, inexpensive but comfortable hotel with Ski in/out for a weekend at short notice. Booked at 1200 Friday and arrived 7 hours later. Very comfortable though small and simple room but quite adequate. Very friendly and efficient staff and particular thanks to Francesca who was quite brilliant. No restaurant but still made us Paninis on arrival in the very welcoming bar area. Found room for the car in the garage even though busy which was much appreciated. True Ski in/out was great. Shuttle service to town a really nice touch. Breakfast perfectly adequate. Would have liked a shower or at least a holder for the shower attachment but really a minor thing. Will recommend and return

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Breuil-Cervinia hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Europa
Hotel Europa
#8 of 38 in Breuil-Cervinia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 407 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Mignon
Hotel Mignon
#15 of 38 in Breuil-Cervinia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Chalet Valdotain
Hotel Chalet Valdotain
#24 of 38 in Breuil-Cervinia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Meuble Mon Reve
Hotel Meuble Mon Reve
#6 of 38 in Breuil-Cervinia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
0.2 mi away
Compagnoni Hotel
Compagnoni Hotel
#18 of 38 in Breuil-Cervinia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Baita Cretaz
Hotel Baita Cretaz
#7 of 38 in Breuil-Cervinia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Il Meuble Furggen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Meuble Furggen

Property: Il Meuble Furggen
Address: Via Giomein, 11021 Breuil-Cervinia, Italy
Location: Italy > Valle d'Aosta > Breuil-Cervinia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#17 Romantic Hotel in Breuil-Cervinia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Il Meuble Furggen 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Il Meuble Furggen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Il Meuble Furggen Hotel Breuil-Cervinia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing