We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff in 2 star hotel”
Review of Hotel Breuil

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Breuil
Ranked #27 of 38 Hotels in Breuil-Cervinia
Certificate of Excellence
Waterbeck Scotland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great staff in 2 star hotel”
Reviewed February 1, 2013

The staff at the hotel are great but the physical fabric and decor of the hotel leaves a lot to be desired and indeed lets them down. Artex ceilings and linoleum floors in the entrance hall sum it up.

Food is OK with three or four dishes bring exceptionally good.

However, I wouldn't come again. Which is the acid test.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Waterbeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    52
    22
    8
    4
See reviews for
30
26
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2013

Had a very pleasant week with friends here. The staff were very friendly and helpful and deserve all the compliments they get.
The rooms are looked after well, kept clean and comfortable and are spacious enough for two. I think all have balconies. Do not let Inghams, Crystal or any other ski package complany attempt to put three of you in a room. They are not big enough for this. Looking at the licence by reception, I'm not sure if it's even officially allowed, as there seems to be only one or two family rooms in the hotel. There is / are single rooms in the hotel so if you have one extra person, that is where they need to go.
The food was good, but not outstanding. This to maybe to be expected given the overall cost of the package. The kitchens do seem to use a lot of catering supplies so don't expect high class dining prepared from freshly harvested and prepared ingredients. You need to select your evening meal at breakfast time which isn't ideal, though there is a reasonable choice. The food is obviously provided on a budget, but it is acceptable. The wines offered by our waiter who had a genuine interest were of a comparable cost to restaurants in town and all of good quality. There was a decent enough breakfast, but let down by tinned fruit and diluted "fresh" fruit juice. Everywhere in the area needs to realise tea needs boiling water to be prepared properly. Hot chocolate was good and coffee strong.
The bar is quiet with a plenty of seats and a good place to relax. The spa can be reserved and costs 10 E each for an hour, though again the hotel need an advance booking. The ski room is fine though they do need a few more boot warrmers (not many more, but if you 're late back, they'll all be used)
We would go back, but would prefer B&B accomodation only which I don't think they do. Would give it 3 dots, but the staff are so pleasant they push the rating up to a 4.
In summary - nice staff, rooms fine, food ok, location good, reasonable value.

Room Tip: Best views from top floor (no surprise)
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EdAuu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2013

+ The room was kept clean, although small.
- The food was terrible, not fit for a dog. Bread was stale/hard. You near on had to beg for butter. Tea served was always tepid, as though the water used was run straight from a tepid tap. Not much choice.
- The waiters served you as if you were in a fast food resturant.
- The hotel staff were utterly terrible, they would not go out of their way at all to help out, (THE COMPUTOR SAYS NO)!!!
Cervinia is a great resort for boarding/skiing with access to Zermatt with the whole area lift pass. I would go back to Cervinia, I would not again stay at Hotel Breuil. The hotel and staff spoilt my holiday.

Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank MarcusHampshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2013

Cervinia and hotel Breuill does exactly what it says on the packet.

Ski area is fantastic, an area lift pass take you to Zermatt in Switzerland and is very easy to get to and ski slopes more advanced than cervinia. Just make sure you get the cable car back if its open otherwise a very very very long and cold T-bar lift is the only option which isn’t fun!! We skied in Zermatt for about 2.5days, try and get up to the top of mountain on the train, this is covered in your area lift pass. Views are stunning.
Cervinia skiing is intermediate reds all the way with a few blacks. Black 59 is very good but do it at the beginning of the day otherwise its icy!!! Red 7 is very long and varied run. Mountain restaurants are great food and character and everywhere is sooooo friendly.
Hotel Breuill is brilliantly located for the cretez lift and we skiing to and from the side of the hotel each day. However I wouldn’t stay here if you are a complete beginner as you have to get to the gondala and up to plan maison each morning for lessons and the gondola is a bit of a pain uphill to walk to each morning. The Astoria hotel would be better located for this.
Hotel Breuill was brilliant best food for 3 star we have had on a ski trip and we don’t go any higher star than that for skiing. Staff fantastic, nice bar area and centrally located in the village. The après ski is very very different to the likes of France or in particular Austria, its dead in comparison, although there are a happy hours in all 5 bars in cervinia that we frequented. The Copa Pan and the dragon and whistle pub is very good.
We would recommend the resort and definitely skiing in Zermatt ( very pricey for a coffee £4.50!) but hey it’s a holiday!!!!
One word of caution is the resort and area is at very high altitude and can be extremely cold so take layers!
Happy skiing in Vallee Aosta!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HWSouthampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2013

My wife and I have just returned fron Cervinia having stayed a week half board at the Hotel Breuil. firstly I must state that the staff, rooms, food and ski room are excellent. Minor niggles are the location......the walk to the main cable car is a pain, but ok to the regular lifts. The walk from the garage door to the ski room is very steep and is a strain for tired legs. apart from this the wine prices are a tadge high.

And that's it, the fitness area and sauna are excellent, hot water plentiful and the hotel a pleasure to stay at.

Room Tip: all the rooms appeared good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank toffee290
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

If you are looking for some good red run skiing and a comfortable hotel, this ticks the boxes. The lifts are very close - 1-2 mins walk, the runs are lovely and wide with good snow/well maintained. The hotel is comfortable, clean, tidy, food always a decent standard and staff very freindly. The town has enough to settle to after a good day skiing with some friendly bars, tea rooms, and your usual clothes shops and small supermarkets.
I would definately go back.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HEATHER H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bh16 6bw
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2013

We are a group of 8 and have just enjoyed a fab week at the Breuil infact this is the second time we have stayed at this Hotel in the last few years. The staff are excellent nothing too much trouble and the hotel is extremely clean. The hotel is situated very close to the first lifts just a couple of minutes walk away and you can use your ski pass to ski over to Zermat which we did on two occasions during the week although I would advise that you have your credit card with you as the Lunch can be extremely expensive in Switzerland. Breakfast was very good at the Breuil and the evening meal was always a sufficient 3 course meal.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank holliehotlips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Breuil-Cervinia hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Europa
Hotel Europa
#8 of 38 in Breuil-Cervinia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 439 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Bucaneve
Hotel Bucaneve
#19 of 38 in Breuil-Cervinia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 169 reviews
0.0 mi away
Compagnoni Hotel
Compagnoni Hotel
#21 of 38 in Breuil-Cervinia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Il Meuble Furggen
Il Meuble Furggen
#24 of 38 in Breuil-Cervinia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Hermitage
Hotel Hermitage
#13 of 38 in Breuil-Cervinia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
0.3 mi away
Saint Hubertus Resort
Saint Hubertus Resort
#1 of 38 in Breuil-Cervinia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Breuil? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Breuil

Property: Hotel Breuil
Address: 11021 Breuil-Cervinia, Italy
Location: Italy > Valle d'Aosta > Breuil-Cervinia
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Breuil-Cervinia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Breuil 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Breuil reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Breuil Hotel Cervinia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing