We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not too sure about this one!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Punta Maquignaz
Ranked #30 of 38 Hotels in Breuil-Cervinia
Reviewed November 6, 2012

Rooms are decorated a bit bizarrely, maybe due to the owner being an artist (and in my humble opinion, not a great one!!) Good location for getting to the slopes with a 3 -4 minute walk. Unfortunately the biggest let down of this hotel was the food!! Firstly the breakfast was a bit poor to say the least, but that was not as bad as dinner!! We were on half board and the food was appalling, very tasteless, very uninspiring and very disappointing. We then complained and was allowed to choose form the A Le Carte menu (I had my reservations), but I was astonished, a complete turnaround in the food front, surprisingly it was very good. In the end we enjoyed our stay, but would think twice about going back.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ptw1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (113)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

31 - 37 of 113 reviews

Reviewed August 6, 2012

It is a quite good hotel, but a little bit old and shabby. We have been here in augest, in milan it was too hot, but here very fresh and cold in the evening. Perfect for the relaxing summer. If you do not want to suffer from the crowd places-you should go to the mountains-much more better here!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ovk2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2012

I stayed at the Hotel Punta Maquignaz for a week in April whilst on a skiing holiday; there were 6 of us in total (3 couples) staying in three separate rooms in the hotel. We couldn't have asked for better service or better accommodation for such a reasonable price! All three rooms were clean and well-presented and were really in theme with the town and surroundings. The rooms were cleaned daily whilst we were out on the slopes, including new towels and fresh bed linen and a re-stocked mini bar!
We booked half board and benefitted from excellent service, especially from "Al" during our stay. The staff were very helpful during both breakfast time and at dinner. The breakfast was a buffet with choices such as cereals, pastries, breads with cheeses and cold meats, hot sausage and egg and various fruits and yoghurts, as well as bottled water and a selection of fresh juices, tea and coffee. The staff were more than happy to recommended the best or their own favourite dishes from the evenings set menus - every night there was a set menu with a buffet to start (large selection of cold meats, cheeses, salad, vegetable dishes and Italian specialities) then followed by a choice of 3 starters followed by a choice three first course dishes in turn followed by a choice three main meals and finishing with a desert buffet and selection of cheeses! The wine list is fabulous and we would highly recommend the local wines from the Aosta valley - or just ask "Al" - his wine recommendations did not disappoint! To say that you won't go hungry is a sure understatement, our ski gear definitely felt tighter by the end of the week.
We were looked after very well and after speaking with a few other couples at the same resort they agreed that the food and service had been fabulous and exceeded expectations based on previous Trip-Advisor reviews and the price we paid - simply excellent value for money and we would definitely return! The bar attached to the hotel is very friendly, with free snacks (cold meats and breads) with every round purchased (whether it be one drink or six) and we thoroughly enjoyed backslappers/après-ski in this bar, also the bar just down the road - `The Coppapan` is worth a visit, they run happy hour in the early evening with buy one get on free on drinks, and if the sun is shining they have a fab roof terrace to top up that tan and try to get rid of the goggle tan! (Ps for those of you worrying about `backslappers` it's out term for congratulating ourselves on no broken bones and a good days skiing!)

Room Tip: If you are in the rooms at the back on the 4th floor you will most likely have a view of the Matterh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Laura B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2012

A very disappointing experience, as hotel guests we were treated like second class citizens.
The priority was to fill the Restaurant every night and extend dining into the residents lounge!
We were sidelined by outside diners and did not have a reserved table as one would expect as a paying guest. There was no evidence of a manager/owner to welcome guests and was at times chaotic. To reach the Wellness Centre you had to walk down a poorly lit corridor next to the public toilets used by people visiting the Bar which was owned independently and it was therefore not possible to put drinks on your room bill. There was nowhere to sit and have a drink before or after dinner in the hotel. Bedrooms were minute with Austrian style hand painted furniture in vivid colours and knobs were missing. Very overpriced and dated, avoid at all costs there are much nicer properties.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Wycombe10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2012

Don't go for the half board. If you have payed for the dinner in advance, no one in the personel is interested of you as a guest. The service is extremely slow and arrogant. The portions are unevenly small and not nicely arranged.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Service
Thank Dalaroe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2011

Stayed 2 nights good clean tidy beds n rooms.
Just what u want after skiing Bfast good selection coffee good , scrambled eggs n Frankfurt thing give a miss but all In all good time well enjoyed

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ryan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2011

Rooms great. We had a family suite, interconnecting doors, kids had shower and WC, we had a good sized bath, shower and WC. Only downer was the location: just above the bar. During our stay there was a welcome party and a farewell party, the other nites noise was bearable and only until 10.30ish.
Breakfast great, service great, dinner (halfboard) in the first part of the week abominable, after complaints of ALL guests it got better and better. Staff very friendly. Rooms neat.
Downer: skilocker room. Not enough space during high season for all ski shoes to be placed on central heating. (So guests sneeking to rearrange ski shoes after dinner, before going to sleep..)

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tantefrans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Breuil-Cervinia hotels
0 mi away
Hotel Bucaneve
Hotel Bucaneve
#16 of 38 in Breuil-Cervinia
180 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Europa
Hotel Europa
#6 of 38 in Breuil-Cervinia
522 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Edelweiss
Hotel Edelweiss
#9 of 38 in Breuil-Cervinia
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Sertorelli Sport Hotel
Sertorelli Sport Hotel
#12 of 38 in Breuil-Cervinia
229 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Chalet Valdotain
Hotel Chalet Valdotain
#18 of 38 in Breuil-Cervinia
184 reviews
0.4 mi away
White Angel Hotel
White Angel Hotel
#15 of 38 in Breuil-Cervinia
119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Punta Maquignaz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Punta Maquignaz

Address: Piazzale Guide Maquignaz | Cervinia, 11021 Breuil-Cervinia, Italy
Location: Italy > Valle d'Aosta > Breuil-Cervinia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Breuil-Cervinia
#14 Spa Hotel in Breuil-Cervinia
Price Range: $178 - $254 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Punta Maquignaz 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Punta Maquignaz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Punta Maquignaz Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing