We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good 3 Star Hotel”
Review of Hotel Edelweiss

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Edelweiss
Ranked #11 of 38 Hotels in Breuil-Cervinia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 18, 2013

This is an unpretentious 3 star hotel, but the service provided by all the staff does it great credit. They were always ready to assist in any way. When one of our party didn't have dinner one evening because of an upset tummy, the manager came in the next evening to make sure she was OK. The morning shuttle to the lifts was a boon as it is a bit of a grind uphill up to the main gondola. They will also pick you up in the afternoon if you phone them. The rooms were more than adequate with good ensuite facilities.

The wall-mounted bedside lights in our room were such that you could easily put your hand into the open top and touch live wires. One issue we had was that the room safe was not fixed to anything. The hotel rectified this by screwing it to a free-standing, non-fixed shelf inside the wardrobe with the fixing screws visible from underneath!!. A pointless excercise as anybody could have taken the safe with ease (this actually happened to us in Cervinia at a different hotel) and we would have thought the hotel would have taken the issue more seriously.

Breakfast was a little lacklustre, but dinner was much better with a good menu choice. The main menu items are set out on plates so you know what you're getting.

There is a nice lounge area with comfortable sofas and two card tables.

Overall an enjoyable stay and we would recommend this hotel.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank The_Skibums
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (189)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

57 - 63 of 189 reviews

Reviewed March 11, 2013

This is an hotel that has got the balance just right.Everything you need for a enjoyable ski holiday is available in Edelweiss.It is a comfortable ,relaxing hotel and the staff tend to your every need with a smile on their faces The food was excellent and there was a good choice for all meals and with sample dishes on view before you order there are no bad surprises .We had room with bath and really enjoyed this after hard days skiing.This not a five star hotel but we enjoyed its friendly staff and pleasant atmosphere ,great food,its clean rooms ,its location and charm much more than other higher star hotels we have stayed in.Well done Edelweiss

Room Tip: room with bath
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ollie w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2013

Stayed in this hotel Feb 2013. The staff were friendly and very helpful.
Our room, although small, was comfortable and clean, and linen was changed daily.
The food in the hotel was excellent, with a varied selection. We particularly liked the fact that as you entered the dining room you were able to view each item on the menu, prior to selection. If anything there was too much to eat.
The hotel provides a shuttle service to the ski lifts in the morning. Although this service is available at the end of the day, we chose to take the short walk back, approx 10 minutes.
The management are insistent that skis,snowboards and boots are stored in the boot room at all times. This is not a hardship, although I was a little concerned about security.
I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone considering a ski holiday in Cervinia.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Skibum51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2013

Comfortable, well-run hotel, very friendly staff who speak good English.

Rooms not huge but have plenty of storage space, decent sized bedside tables & good lighting. En-suite newly refurbed, had two-speed hairdryer next to large, well -lit mirror. Shower gel, soap & paper shower slippers provided. Nice shower but no bath in ours (some rooms have got baths). Didn't get around to using the sauna, Turkish bath or gym.

Ski storage room has heated ski boot racks, bliss! Don't even think of walking to the lifts, the hotel is happy to provide a minibus service on demand. Walking back down hill from the Cretaz lift is pretty easy, but again you could ring for the minibus.

Food is traditional Italian, wholesome and plenty of it. Fabulous desserts, forget the diet!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Val D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2013

A lovely family run hotel. Very helpful propriotor and staff. Very good food, the black squid ink pasta was most memorable. The hotel is not luxorious but it is good value, I would return. The steamroom and sauna were very welcome after a days skiing. Wifi needs to be more robust.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank m m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2012

The hotel is basic but has everything you want for a great ski holiday. The food is amazing, good quality Italian food with a great selection each night to choose from. The ski lifts are a 10 minute walk uphill but the hotel runs a shuttle bus in the morning and the downhill walk back to the hotel is nice and easy.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2012

The Hotel Edelweiss is a few hundred metres from the lift up to the ski slopes and just outside the main bar/shopping area in Cervinia so it's conveniently placed. There's a supermarket around the corner and they run a shuttle to the lift, so everything is at hand. Unpretentious, three-star, comfortable but obviously not luxurious, this is a friendly hotel where the staff are ever helpful and the rooms comfortable and clean, if a little small. They also have both a Turkish-style steam room and a Swedish-style sauna downstairs, with Jacuzzi on the side. There's a good if small ski equipment room to store your ski stuff and dry your boots overnight. The least impressive aspect is the food which, if you take the half-board option, is going to keep body and soul together but is not anything one could rave about.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Breuil-Cervinia hotels
0.1 mi away
Saint Hubertus Resort
Saint Hubertus Resort
#1 of 38 in Breuil-Cervinia
386 reviews
2 mi away
Les Neiges d'Antan
Les Neiges d'Antan
#2 of 38 in Breuil-Cervinia
677 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Europa
Hotel Europa
#6 of 38 in Breuil-Cervinia
522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Chalet Valdotain
Hotel Chalet Valdotain
#18 of 38 in Breuil-Cervinia
184 reviews
0.6 mi away
White Angel Hotel
White Angel Hotel
#15 of 38 in Breuil-Cervinia
120 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Meuble Mon Reve
Hotel Meuble Mon Reve
#7 of 38 in Breuil-Cervinia
168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Edelweiss? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Edelweiss

Address: Via Guido Rey 18, 11028 Breuil-Cervinia, Italy
Location: Italy > Valle d'Aosta > Breuil-Cervinia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Spa
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Breuil-Cervinia
#14 Family Hotel in Breuil-Cervinia
#18 Romantic Hotel in Breuil-Cervinia
Price Range: $169 - $484 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Edelweiss 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Edelweiss reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Edelweiss Hotel Breuil Cervinia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing