We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wha a place”
Review of Chalet etoile

Chalet etoile
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
london
Level 6 Contributor
194 reviews
126 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Wha a place”
Reviewed January 2, 2013

Every trip we go skiing in Cervinia we try and go to Chalet Etoile. The food is excellent, the service outstanding, and the value is not that bad although it is pricey. We prefer when the weather is nice and we can eat outside, but inisde is cozy as well....

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ana_and_pedro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

719 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    475
    150
    46
    26
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“The best restaurant in the area, if not the Whole of Italy”
Reviewed January 2, 2013 via mobile

We visited here several times and kept coming back for the fantastic menu, service, wines and atmosphere.

Try the reindeer fillet, the entrecôte on the bone or any of the delicious pastas. The tiramisu is to die for.

Either the restaurant or the quick takeaway will satisfy. It's great value too, especially if you're staying in Switzerland.

A MUST.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MrJLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Oh the Fish Soup!”
Reviewed December 25, 2012 via mobile

We were in Cervinia for a 7 day ski holiday and we were there for 3 lunches. As soon as I pick up the skiing, I found this restaurant! You must know how to ski to get there, at least on the blue slope. For some reasons, The map location shown on tripadvisor indicated this restaurant at the main street, but it is at the ski slope.

I had fish soup twice! Yes, they were really yummy! It's thick fish soup with lots of shell fish, so you have to peel the prawns etc. they taste sooooo gooood, something unusual to be found in the mountain, I must say. I had spaghetti di mare, yes, seafood again on my third day, i was very happy with my choice once again. My husband had pig knuckles and Swedish salmon, I tied some, thumbs up. You mustn't miss the tiramisu and the chocolate crepe, yummmm...

There's also an outdoor area where you can sit down to enjoy the sun when the weather allows. We didnt have to Q to get in on the three visits, but thats because we were there earlier. On any sunny day, make sure you get there before 1230 for lunch, otherwise, be prepared for Q or make your reservation in advance.

Helpful?
1 Thank Joey K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gdynia, Gdansk, Poland
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic place for a lunch just off the slope”
Reviewed December 20, 2012

Very nice family run restaurant with great food, excellent service. Whatever I have tried from extended menu it has been fresh & delicious. After meal you must find a space for a desert!
If you are lucky with the weather the view is stunning!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Maria Aleksandr... O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northamptonshire
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Always a pleasure to visit”
Reviewed December 20, 2012

Be it for an early morning coffee.A warm soup at lunch time or a cold beer at the end of a great days skiing Chalet Etoile was always a pleasure to visit

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank brianandc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chalet etoile also viewed

Breuil-Cervinia, Valle d'Aosta
Breuil-Cervinia, Valle d'Aosta
 
Breuil-Cervinia, Valle d'Aosta
Breuil-Cervinia, Valle d'Aosta
 

Been to Chalet etoile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing