We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A spotlessly clean, comfortable hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Chalet Valdotain
Ranked #18 of 38 Hotels in Breuil-Cervinia
Reviewed February 21, 2013

We had a very pleasant, though short stay at this hotel. Rooms were spotlessly clean and the staff were friendly and welcoming. Nothing was too much trouble. It's a little way out of the town, but the hotel runs a shuttle bus throughout the day.

Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Caroline U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (192)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

32 - 38 of 192 reviews

Reviewed September 17, 2012

This hotel was chosen as a stop over for The Tour du Monta Rosa and was the only hotel in this area. It's a bit dated, but probably similar in quality to Anything else in the area. You will need to take a shuttle bus to get anywhere. Im guessing that this hotel might be family run and it's a challenge to service a group. The rooms were as expected in comparison to the other village hotels on our route. The food was average and we could tell that our servers were stressed with our group.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 5startraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2012

A group of four stayed three nights in mid March for a short ski-ing trip. The hotel was excellent as was the food and service. In winter the hotel shuttle runs til 1800 but there is the local bus at 1930 from the centre to the hotel.

Not much to say as everything was professional and well done. We will return here for sure if we go again to Cervinia.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ozlynch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2012

we stayed here for a week in late february 2012,and we had the time of our lives!
First of all the rooms were clean and comfortable, with generous bathrooms including baths. All of the staff, especially barbara and the young russian guy were friendly and helpful, and were extremely kind if something was missed out or got delayed. The pool was warm and had a soothing jacuzzie which was perfect after a long, tiering day of skiing.However, people who are not there to ski will be slightly dissapointed that the pool opens at 4pm and closes at 8pm. the 'nibbles' at the bar are alowed to be eaten by anyone who is staying there and all sorts of drinks can be purchased at any time.
What really boosts the greatness of this hotel is the food. Breakfast is large, with breads, toast, meats and hams, cheeses, nutella(for us kids),croissants,cereals,juices, coffees and hot chocolates,milk,jams and butter. Dinner is superb,it has 4 courses (antipasti,primi piatte,main course and dessert) the food is delicious and some of the best foods we ate are the pumpkin ravioli with cream sauce, tagilliateli with mushroom and parsley, braised pork loin cooked with beer and complimented with vegetables hand-shaped as flowers and leaves , chocolate mousse with rasperry and a colourful fruit tart!
It is definately one of the best hotels in Cervinia and even my father who has been skiing for many years said that it was one of the best skiing hotels he'd stayed in. the only downside is that it is 5 mins outside of the town and it requires u
to take their minibus which is free from 8:00-18-00 and comes every 30 mins, but it means u have to pay 10 euros to go and eat out in the town.
Overall, this is a spectacular hotel and i would really recommend staying there.

L ( 12 years of age )

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LucaScorpion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2012

We stayed here one night because we couldn't find a hotel to stay in continuously while in Cervinia. The hotel is a decent distance away from the town and ski lifts, but they have a regular shuttle that goes back and forth between them. It really isn't feasible to walk since you'd have to walk through the tunnel.

There's a pool in hotel which we didn't use. The rooms were good and the bathrooms pretty big. The rooms were a little on the cold side and there wasn't a way to adjust the temperature (just a normal radiator). Beds were comfy but know that a "double" is just two twin beds. They stay together reasonably well, so it could be worse.

The restaurant downstairs is actually quite nice. Big fire grill and lots of menu items, including fondue and wide selection of wines.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aldomoniun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2012

Stayed in Jan 12, for the fifth consquetive year. Food is good and staff generally helpful. Ski shuttle service runs whenever you ask them, (if you ask nicely!).
Rooms a bit small and could do with a it of refurbisment, but I still would go back.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2012

Stayed at Hotel Valddotain in mid-March. We had one of the less expensive rooms and it was clean and warm. Beds were comfortable with good bedding. Food in the restaurant is really excellent. Great northern Italian food. Breakfast was buffet with all we wanted or needed plus some cold meats that seemed a bit Germanic. One real treat was an appetizer of a small Tommino de savoie cheese (hockey puck sized disk) grilled so it was a bit crisp on the outside and runny inside and served on a bed of greens. There are some really great local wines on the wine list at decent prices.
The hotel is close to the ski slopes and has a shuttle van. By the way, both lift tickets and ski/boot rental in the village are much more reasonable than in the USA. My son skied down to Zermatt and took the lift back to ski back to Cervinia. (bring a passport if skiing across the border)

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dboconnor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Breuil-Cervinia hotels
1.2 mi away
Hotel Europa
Hotel Europa
#6 of 38 in Breuil-Cervinia
540 reviews
1.5 mi away
White Angel Hotel
White Angel Hotel
#14 of 38 in Breuil-Cervinia
137 reviews
0.8 mi away
Saint Hubertus Resort
Saint Hubertus Resort
#1 of 38 in Breuil-Cervinia
397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Les Neiges d'Antan
Les Neiges d'Antan
#2 of 38 in Breuil-Cervinia
693 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Hermitage
Hotel Hermitage
#15 of 38 in Breuil-Cervinia
178 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Edelweiss
Hotel Edelweiss
#9 of 38 in Breuil-Cervinia
193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Chalet Valdotain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Chalet Valdotain

Address: Localita Lago Blu, 2, 11201 Breuil-Cervinia, Valtournenche, Italy
Location: Italy > Valle d'Aosta > Valtournenche > Breuil-Cervinia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 38 Hotels in Breuil-Cervinia
Price Range: $139 - $519 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Chalet Valdotain 3.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Chalet Valdôtain blends harmoniously into the beautiful surrounding natural landscape at the doorstep of Breuil-Cervinia. It stands in a particularly splendid panoramic position among ancient larch trees and the picturesque scenery of Lago Blu with the magnificent Matterhorn dominating the background. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Chalet Valdotain reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing