We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Still the Worst Accomodation...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cielo Alto Apartments
Bratislava, Slovakia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Still the Worst Accomodation...”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2012

The residence Cielo Alto Apartments is an "ex hotel" from 60-70-ties currently used as a complex of private apartments and apartment for rent. Nothing has changed in the equipment since its construction 40 years ago. Most of the apartments are of terrible quality. The most serious problem is cleanness of the residence and apartments thereof. Despite the fact that final cleaning fee of apx. 30 EUR is required (not including kitchen cleaning), the apartments are dirty and you must clean it on your arrival. We were group of almost 30 people and as we could not get any other accommodation in Cervinia we have decided to try the residence Cielo Alto Apartments...mistake! The majority of assigned apartments were dirty and unsatisfactorily equipped. The beds were mostly tipping, small and of bad quality. Further in most of the apartments there was a gap between beds so it was not possible to move the beds together. This is maybe good for friends on holiday, but definitely not for couples. As a bonus it should be mentioned that each tipping bed in our apartment was supported by cut off piece of plastic tube so the bed was shaky. There is lack of equipment in the kitchen, so be sure that you have your own if you want to prepare breakfast or cook. Some of the apartments which were declared as “reconstructed” were even worse than standard. For example the only heating of these apartment is an air-condition unit which is noisy and outcomming air smells so you can choose between sleeping in ice cold cave or heated smelly sheepcote. The last but not least service and stuff of Cielo Alto Apartments is probably the worse I have ever seen. From variety of annoying situations I would mention rude, vulgar and unhelpful receptionist whose hygienic habits were terrible (same clothes during whole week), without exaggeration he smelted like a pig.

To be fair I have to admit that residence Cielo Alto has very good position and if there is enough snow in Cervinia it is a ski in/out accommodation and one of the best slopes is in its "backyard".

Room Tip: Some of the private apartments are good or better than what I have described above, but you have to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jozef B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    18
    10
    8
    20
See reviews for
26
7
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2012

It Was a Awful.Dirty,Horrible Beds,Inconvenient NOT SKI IN SKI OUT unless you are a experienced skiing and it may be cheap but extra costs are horrible. and the bed broke and so did the dvd player,But the skiing is amazing for family.

Room Tip: Do Not Go if you want to ski in ski out
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PatrickJ749
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Breuil-Cervinia hotels

Rzeszow, Poland
Level Contributor
40 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2010

We were in the part of the Cielo-Alto for the week on skeeing.The part of the apartments call Petit Tibet..It was only two stars apartment hotel but clean with all facilites for the people who like mountains and skeeing.The staff of the front desk were allways very helpfull and we got all the informations very clear.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelerPodkarpacie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brno
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2009

Not very clean, I hesitate bedroom without window, when you switched on the boiler for hot water together with electric stove or with some lamps, the circuit breakers went off - the circuit breaker was in the cellar - the staff helped us - showed us wher it is and somebody of us 3 to 4 times every evening had to run to the cellar to switched it on.

  • Stayed March 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nekuchar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2008

We have just returned from a trip to Cervinia. This is a nice town with great skiing. We booked the accomodation about 6 weeks before leaving. Some apartments are owned by private individuals and some owned by an organisation managing the apartments. As we booked later, we were allocated an apartment owned by a private individual, with this being a lot dearer than the others. We were told that all apartments had to be paid in cash on arrival, apparently normal in Italy. We (a family of five including 3 children aged 9 to 4) were shown an apartment. I dont know the number, but it will be distinctive due to the red tartan carpet. On the plus side, the apartment was warm. The negatives are too many too state but include electric wires hanging bare, apartment not clean despite a charge for cleaning (we found knickers, an apple and a purse with money in it), the toilet was broken, the shower was leaking over the floor. The rooms for the first two days spelt of dog piss (as did the one next door) but apparently this was from upstairs. The worst was that the bath was so old that our 7 year old's bottom bled. We reported our concerns immediately and were given a mop, bathmat and extra towels to soak up the water from the floor. Cervinia is a nice resort - this apartment lets it down. Not all of the apartments are bad, but the variations in standard are enormous.

  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank garflynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Co Mayo
Level Contributor
62 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2008

We traveled as a group of 29, adults and children. The accommodation was terrible with the exception of one room in the main building. The rest of the rooms were of poor quality, very old and some were dirty. Some of our group refused to stay here and moved into a hotel in the town. Beside the standard of accommodation another major problem is the distance to the main village. You can ski part of the way but you still have to walk a distance to the main ski lifts or the gondola, not very good when you have children with you. Also on their website there is a ski lift visible in one of the photos - however this does not allow connection with the main ski areas - you can only ski back into ceilo alto via 2 ski runs! The ski bus is erractic and unlike most austrian resorts which are free you pay 1euro each trip - it is suppose to run every 30min but sometimes we waited an hour without a bus appearing. One particular bus man was extremely rude. On snow days the taxis will not run up to the apartments and we were left stranded in the village for over an hour one day when the bus did not show up - eventually we had to walk up a steep hill, covered in snow with all our ski gear and the kids - not pleasant.
The pizzeria, on the upper level and opposite the main building was excellent ( thank you Hector and Josef) and the children could play outside while we enjoyed good quality food and service and the ski rental shop was very helpful and good with the kids ( I think it was called Valle Ski rental). In the main Village Lino's is fantastic for apres ski for families, -very friendly and great food. Copanans (topof street on left)was great for a night out for the adults. The skiing was wonderful and the village was pleasant and friendly and I would definetly recommend this for beginners and intermediates, however stay in the village and far away from the Ceilo Alto apartments

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — see above
  • Stayed March 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MagsCoMayo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Breuil-Cervinia hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Europa
Hotel Europa
#8 of 38 in Breuil-Cervinia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 429 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Hermitage
Hotel Hermitage
#12 of 38 in Breuil-Cervinia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Chalet Valdotain
Hotel Chalet Valdotain
#22 of 38 in Breuil-Cervinia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Saint Hubertus Resort
Saint Hubertus Resort
#1 of 38 in Breuil-Cervinia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 355 reviews
1.8 mi away
Les Neiges d'Antan
Les Neiges d'Antan
#2 of 38 in Breuil-Cervinia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 653 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Edelweiss
Hotel Edelweiss
#10 of 38 in Breuil-Cervinia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cielo Alto Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cielo Alto Apartments

Property: Cielo Alto Apartments
Address: Strada Piolet Cielo Alto 14, 11021 Breuil-Cervinia, Italy
Location: Italy > Valle d'Aosta > Breuil-Cervinia
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 9 Specialty Lodging in Breuil-Cervinia
Hotel Class:2 star — Cielo Alto Apartments 2*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Cielo Alto Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cielo Alto Apartments Hotel Breuil-Cervinia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing