We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Look no further - Maison Bondaz is the perfect place for any Valle d'Aosta Holiday”
Review of Maison Bondaz

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Maison Bondaz
Ranked #1 of 51 Aosta B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 19, 2013

Many other reviewers have already been utterly positive about this comfy, family-run B&B - and I can only concur. Maison Bondaz is a true gem.

Aosta was the first stop on our two-and-a-half week Italian and Swiss mountain holiday in June and July 2013, and we were so happy that we had booked our first nine nights here. The owner family (Bondaz) has a very high ambition with their business, and pays attention to every detail to make their guests feel welcome and comfortable.

The B&B is conveniently situated on the main street in Aosta's historic center. We arrived by train and bus from Geneva / Martigny, which was perfectly fine, Maison Bondaz is just a 10 minute stroll from the railway and bus station in Aosta. We were told that it is likely that the grounds of the building is of Roman origin!

Travelling without a car the central location was perfect for us, and every day we would use the extensive network of buses to explore the surrounding valleys and mountains (which too are extremely beautiful). Or we would walk to the cable car station in Aosta (15-20 minutes) and take the gondola to Pila where numerous hiking trails are available. In Pila there are also several restaurants, hotels, an outdoor playground and adventure park etc to cater for all needs.

Our room was nicely and elegantly renovated, still with respect for the historic ambience. Needless to say the room was spotlessly clean, and every evening there was a bottle of cold, fresh water delivered to our room. It had a small, but very nice, balcony with a lovley rooftop / mountain view, where it was wonderful to relax after a day out in the mountains.

Thinking of the central location one might be afraid that there would be a lot of "noice pollution" from the city, but when we closed the windows we couldn't hear a sound from the world outside. However - and I want to be perfectly clear that this is the only drawback that I'm able to come up with for the entire stay - the isolation between the rooms seem to be a bit on the weak side. There were times when we could hear what the guests in the room next to ours were saying to eachother even when they were speaking in a normal conversational tone. I'm usually not a nonsense complainer, and I don't want to give the impression that this is a big deal, the only reason for mentioning this is if somebody reading this review prefers total silence.

The breakfast is a story of its own and I guess I could go on forever talking about the delicious plates that would just keep on comming from Jeanette's kitchen. Every morning we were served natrual yoghurt from a nearby farm, freshly made fruit salad (I didn't even need to say that I'm allergic to apples; the fact that I had left the small pieces of apples in the bowl after breakfast was imediately but discretely recognized, and the next morning I had my fruit salad without apples (thanks!!)), local cold meets (ham, salami), local cheeses, fried eggs, beans (Jenaette's zuppa di fagioli - to die for!) and then .. the cakes. Freshly prepared by Jeanette a new delicious cake was served every morning. It is really amazing how well she takes care of her guests.

The Bondaz family is of Valdôtain origin and they will be happy to provide insight into local traditions and culture. This is really captivating for anyone interested in getting a deeper understanding of places visited. Between the family members they use the regional language, which is a dialect of Franco-Provençal called Valdôtain (locally, patois). Try to understand that if you can!

To sum up, my impression is that Maison Bondaz is an elegant and professionally run B&B with high attention to detail. There is no reason to look for another place to stay in Aosta. Anyone chosing Maison Bondaz will leave happily pampered - and perhaps with a few extra kilos to carry along the way....

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MHB70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (280)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

35 - 41 of 280 reviews

Reviewed July 16, 2013

I hesitate to write this review because others will get to know of this extraordinarily good B&B. A beautiful and sensitive renovation of an old family house giving comfortable bedrooms and state of the art bathrooms. Free WiFi, a really warm welcome and as others have said, a great breakfast many of the ingredients from the family farm. A "gem", it is worth making a detour to stay here.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Traiteurdelonnes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2013

Having driven by Aosta on many occasions we decided to use it as a stopover and chose this hotel. What a good choice, a charming family run B&B recently renovated and full of character. Don't have too much to eat in the evening as the breakfast just keeps coming...eggs,ham,cheese,fruit,yogurts,cakes and more cakes..fantastic.
Try to travel light as a long walk from the parking areas but a great position in the middle of the main pedestrian street.
Definatly a recommendation.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Sh1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2013

Staying at Maison Bondaz was one of the highlights of our European trip. The accommodations could not have been better! Family owned, this beautiful and cozy get away exceeded our expectations in every way. Owners' attention to details is apparent throughout. The delicious and bountiful breakfast was thoughtfully prepared. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We highly recommend this Bed & Breakfast!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carrie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

We stayed one night here. Know Aosta very well so found it easily but did not find the reception at first and walked up several flights of stone steps with our cases and found nothing so back down and found the door. Bell did not work but thankfully someone came along and knocked for us and the door was answered. Very friendly people but if you have difficulty walking as one of us had, it was a long way up to the room. There was no air conditioning and it was very hot. The room was very clean and nicely furnished, the bathroom was very modern and clean but the plug in the wash basin didn't work so no washing in there. However, the shower was very good. The breakfast was amazing and so much of it and meeting the owner and his mother was a lovely experience although they spoke very little english but we managed with our little knowledge of Italian. Probably wouldn't stay there again as the stone steps were steep and difficult to negotiate.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lucca2627
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2013

Lucky enough to find this beautifully renovated B&B, it has plenty of character and history. Unfortunatly only stayed one night, but we found the room very comfirtaable and the breakfast very good. We needed a restaurant for dinner and was directed the Bataclan Restaurant, a very good restaurant and pizzeria. If your travel by car, like we did, Maison Bondaz is located on a pedestrian only street, you can park in a car park about 200m. Try Maison Bondaz, you will not be dissappointed.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maria M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2013 via mobile

A just renovated old family house in the center of the city of aosta. The rooms are furnished with fine taste and the owners are very available to help you in whatever you need. The food is just exeptional. Everything is home made using the product of the agrarian firm hold by the owner family. In a few words it is a lovely experience to do and an great way for discovering the city and the mountains around!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pakolis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Aosta hotels
0.5 mi away
HB Aosta Hotel
HB Aosta Hotel
#2 of 18 in Aosta
492 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Duca d'Aosta
Hotel Duca d'Aosta
#1 of 18 in Aosta
288 reviews
0.5 mi away
Le Reve Charmant
Le Reve Charmant
#2 of 51 in Aosta
228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Domus Antica
Domus Antica
#11 of 51 in Aosta
57 reviews
1.3 mi away
Bed & Breakfast Ambrosia
2.7 mi away
Hotel Village Aosta
Hotel Village Aosta
#1 of 4 in Quart
354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maison Bondaz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maison Bondaz

Address: 36, rue Saint-Anselme, 11100, Aosta, Italy
Location: Italy > Valle d'Aosta > Aosta
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 51 B&Bs / Inns in Aosta
Price Range: $127 - $130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Maison Bondaz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maison Bondaz Aosta, Italy, Europe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing