We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“excellent”
Review of Osteria da Nando

Osteria da Nando
Reserve with
Osteria da Nando is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #4 of 291 Restaurants in Aosta
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $34 - $56
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Romantic, Families with children, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
SanktPeterburg, Saint Petersburg City, Russia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“excellent”
Reviewed January 15, 2013

Wonderful cozy little restaurant in the heart of the city. Delicious dishes with unexpected flavor. Cabbage soup with cinnamon and local cheese is incomparable.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank DmitryZagrivny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

791 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    399
    285
    66
    22
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
milano
Level Contributor
62 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“Unmissable if you are in town”
Reviewed December 3, 2012

We happen to be in Aosta quite often because my girlfriend's parents live nearby. Whenever we can we try to secure a table at Nando's. In our view it is definetely the best in Aosta, with excellent typical food from the Aosta Valley and an amazing wine list! Prices are reasonable and the price/quality ratio is excellent. Booking in advance is highly recommendable especially on weekends.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank giorgionet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodinville
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent food.”
Reviewed November 20, 2012

2010
They advertise Valdostane specialities so we went in but were were somewhat dismayed to see it was dead empty - we were the first customers. We feel that is never a good sign, but the menu looked good and we were hungry so we gave it a reluctant chance. Good thing too, because the food was excellent - it was probably the best meal we'd ever had in Aosta. I had fonduta (it's essentially fondue) for the very first time and loved it. My wife had polenta and Fontina that she loved. They were similar but different. My fonduta came with little dried pieces of bread that you dipped into the fonduta - a mixture of Fontina and something else that kept it liquid. It came bubbling in a little individual fondue bowl. Another bowl held some polenta that was made with what tasted like roasted corn because there were little black flakes of burnt corn in it. You dip that separately into the fonduta too, keeping the bread and polenta separate. My wife's polenta was the same as mine, but being mixed with melted and creamy Fontina, hers tasted quite different from mine. We ordered a small bottle of the local wine that was pretty good. Also a bottle of sparkling water. We were extremely happy with the food (E42 - 2010 prices).

2012
A return trip to Aosta meant lunch at Nando... We were pleased to see it was still the same. Turns out they'd been in the business for 75 years! And the family that runs it is named "Scarpa" - almost a relative - my mom's cousin married a Scarpa. Our young server is a Scarpa so I told him my story and he was most interested. They had no relatives in California though and his dad told us the family originally came from Spain to Sardinia and then to Venice and then all over Italy, so they're not really a "local" family name. I had Bagna Cauda (which I have always wanted to try so now was the time). My wife again went with polenta with fontina. This time, hers was okay - but at okay, it was still better than mine. Actually, mine was okay too, but you really have to like anchovies and vegetables to like it a lot. It's a sort of thick anchovie-flavored soup that you dip raw vegetables in and then eat. The veggies were good and fresh, but I'm really more of a meat lover but never the less I stuck with it and ate most of the veggies. It was good and I'd recommend it just because I feel you should always try the local specialties. We'll definately be returning on our next trip to Aosta.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank frammis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“To try”
Reviewed October 10, 2012

One of the best restaurant in Aosta. Definitely to try if you are close to this city . Amazing food and perfect service

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Therockblog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level Contributor
31 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Very good local food.”
Reviewed July 19, 2012

We ate a delicious meal of wild mushroom salad, tagliatelle with smoked lardo, shared the local veal fondue then finished with fresh berries with lemon and sugar. Just what we needed.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SpaghettiB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Osteria da Nando also viewed

 

Been to Osteria da Nando? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing