We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romantic, good food and service focusing on the local fare.”
Review of Vecchia Aosta

Vecchia Aosta
Ranked #143 of 293 Restaurants in Aosta
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Romantic, Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Boston
Level Contributor
106 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Romantic, good food and service focusing on the local fare.”
Reviewed June 3, 2012

After walking through the town we had a few glasses of wine and then decided on Ristorante Vecchio Aosta in the center right beside the area where they were digging up the old Roman ruins. On Fridays, they invite the public to ask questions of the archeologists as they work.  

We started with glasses of the local prosecco and had a barbera with our meal. My wife started her meal again with poached egg with truffles on a bed of asparagus in Parmagian sauce and I had thinly sliced duck breast with aged balsamic salad. We shared a tagliatelle in a red sauce. She had spiced beef with cloves and cinnamon in a red wine sauce on polenta and I had the pork tenderloin with apples and wine vinegar. Both are traditional regional dishes. All the dishes were nicely done, but felt the starters and the pasta were particularly outstanding.

We had hoped to eat at Ristorante Xavier as it had venison on the menu, but it was closed so we returned to Ristorante Vecchio Aosta from our first night here. My wife started with her usual and I had cod with radicchio. We shared the risotto with zucchini and both of us had the osso bocco . All were done perfectly to our tastes. The proprietor, Danielo, is a wonderful host. We tried Geispi, a local digestif made from wild flowers. The smell reminded me of the forest and it was very tasty although I would not make a habit of it.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank redroverma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

305 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    120
    49
    34
    37
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Blonay, Switzerland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Romantic place...and excellent typical dishes from the valley”
Reviewed November 27, 2011

The restaurant sits on the antic walls of the city of Aosta. The view at the first floor is just magic at night. The service is cordial and the choice quite large, mostly typical dishes cooked with style.Prices are quite affordable.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank marie1946485
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
50 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Beautiful old house”
Reviewed August 25, 2011

Had a quick lunch, but guess this place is better when you've got more time and is worth a visit for a dinner. The restaurant is situated in an old house which looks just beautiful from outside and is very charming inside.
The food was good and the service as well!

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank maria_swe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanoi, Vietnam
Level Contributor
597 reviews
260 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 446 helpful votes
“Very VERY mixed bag”
Reviewed June 29, 2011

The first time we visited it was a blessing, as other places were already closing down. And we liked the food a lot ... and the location is nice too.

But the second time, when we specifically brought out of country guests to experience this place, it was a disaster! Service was unfriendly, the 'grilled' piece of meat came pan-fried (something I would be ashamed to offer my family) and then there was the discussion if charging 2.5€ as coperto for a toddler was fair (snotty reply '2.50€ means nothing to me, I don;t know why you complain")

It is a shame, the location is nice, the first time we were there was great even though we were pretty late for the usual tourist lunch crowd ... but the second time .. well .. we never went back .. big surprise ... We felt ashamed we brought friends there. (actually our last visit was July 06, but the TA system would not let me put in that date)

Visited July 2010
Helpful?
Thank caipirina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cancun, Mexico
Level Contributor
35 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“ok. on average with others.”
Reviewed April 11, 2011

Been there on a Tuesday nite, restaurant quite empty.
Good: quality of food satisfactory, service ok. Price on average with similar restaurants around town.
Bad: The portion on the "menu" are horribly small. The other portions à la carte as well not very big.
Overall, probably not the best restaurant in Aosta but definetly fair for a Tuesday nite. Especially considering that most of the other restaurants were shut, and did not signal this on their website. So reward the fairness of this one.

  • Visited March 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vecchia Aosta also viewed

 
Aosta, Valle d'Aosta
Aosta, Valle d'Aosta
 

Been to Vecchia Aosta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing