We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Cecchin
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Roma(Aosta)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (296)
Filter reviews
296 results
Traveler rating
153
120
17
4
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
153
120
17
4
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsroman bridgejean marieshort walkvia francigenaexcellent locationnice hotelenglishkeycenturysubduedparkingaccosy
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
34 - 39 of 296 reviews
Reviewed August 21, 2012

This hotel is perfectly located near the city centre of Aosta. It is situated allmost on top of the roman Bridge in Aosta.
The owners of the hotel are very friendly and helpfull. it feels like coming home, when you come back to this hotel after a previous visit.
The deco of the rooms is somewhat old, but everything is very clean.
The breakfast is basic, but you can ask for everything.
You can park for free outside the hotel or you can reserve one of the parking spots that the hotel provides in an nearby garage (for a very small amount).
A place to discover and to come back to.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VALAX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2012

This hotel staff is friendly and helpful. The location, close to a roman bridge, is very peculiar. There is no private parking but free slots are close by. The hotel is also a few meters away from the city center.
The breakfast is simple at best but you get the chance to eat under the millennial bridge. Note that the breakfast is served from 8:00 am only so it might not be business-friendly.
The rooms are fairly old but stylish (if you like the mood, that is); the rooms lack proper sound insulation and it can be a pain if you have noisy neighbors.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MindFlavor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2012

Recently we took over the entirety of the Hotel Cecchin for my sister's wedding. It was like staying with family, but the kind of family that cleans your room, makes you breakfast, and waits up for you at night. Expect a pension-style experience, basic but solid, clean as a whistle, for a reasonable price. A modest breakfast is served in courtyard under a 2,000 year old bridge. The hotel is just on the edge of the old town, a three minute walk from the beginning of the action. You'll hear a bit of traffic noise with the windows open, but this is an in-town experience. When we left we were so grateful to our hosts for their kindness and generosity, it was hard to avoid the tears.

Room Tip: If you're going in summer, try for an upstairs room. You won't mind climbing the stairs in exchange for the air conditioning those rooms offer.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SNAW2L8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

My wife and I spent 7 wonderful nights in late May with Jean Marie and Loredanna, our hosts and the owners of the Hotel Cecchin. We arrived quite late on a Sunday night after a 4 train, 2 bus journey from Lucerne and Jean Marie was waiting to cook us dinner! It only got better.

The hotel is small, 9 spotless, generous sized rooms. Its foundations incorporate a Roman bridge. To explain, Aosta was originally founded in the last quarter of the 1st Century BC by the Emperor Augustus as a military city to keep the recently subdued local Helvetii tribes pacific. He settled his Praetorium Augustus with battle hardened veterans. Aosta is one of the best preserved Roman cities in Europe. Most of its circuit walls survive as does its Paretorian Gate, theatre, cryptoporticum, an Augustinian triumphal arch (very close to the hotel) and, of course, the bridge.

The hotel offers a good Italian style breakfast included in the room price and free wifi. As mentioned by another reviewer, they have opened a new breakfast room which opens out onto a sheltered garden.

We cannot praise the Hotel Ristorante Cecchin too highly, we loved our stay with Jean Marie and Loredanna and warmly recommend it to future visitors.

Room Tip: Ask for room 3. It overlooks the Roman bridge, garden and straight at an amazing mountain.
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank V581ZSdonb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2012

Just got back from another Italy trip. Spent 3 days at this fine ,small property. My wife and I have been staying here for over 20 years and each stay is super. They just redid their breakfast room and we were lucky enough to inaugurate it. As we left they were preparing to open their restaurant- wish we could have stayed another evening to enjoy the food. They also offer parking in an enclosed garage which makes it easy for those driving.
All in all a fine experience and I can guarantee that we will be there again when we visit Italy.
Gil and Mary Muratori

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank countconti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews