We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly and charming. But somewhat old...”
Review of Hotel Cecchin

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Cecchin
Ranked #4 of 18 Hotels in Aosta
Certificate of Excellence
Milan, Italy
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Friendly and charming. But somewhat old...”
Reviewed August 2, 2012

This hotel staff is friendly and helpful. The location, close to a roman bridge, is very peculiar. There is no private parking but free slots are close by. The hotel is also a few meters away from the city center.
The breakfast is simple at best but you get the chance to eat under the millennial bridge. Note that the breakfast is served from 8:00 am only so it might not be business-friendly.
The rooms are fairly old but stylish (if you like the mood, that is); the rooms lack proper sound insulation and it can be a pain if you have noisy neighbors.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MindFlavor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

274 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    142
    109
    17
    4
    2
See reviews for
60
157
9
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nelson, Nelson, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2012

Recently we took over the entirety of the Hotel Cecchin for my sister's wedding. It was like staying with family, but the kind of family that cleans your room, makes you breakfast, and waits up for you at night. Expect a pension-style experience, basic but solid, clean as a whistle, for a reasonable price. A modest breakfast is served in courtyard under a 2,000 year old bridge. The hotel is just on the edge of the old town, a three minute walk from the beginning of the action. You'll hear a bit of traffic noise with the windows open, but this is an in-town experience. When we left we were so grateful to our hosts for their kindness and generosity, it was hard to avoid the tears.

Room Tip: If you're going in summer, try for an upstairs room. You won't mind climbing the stairs in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SNAW2L8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
686 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 235 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

My wife and I spent 7 wonderful nights in late May with Jean Marie and Loredanna, our hosts and the owners of the Hotel Cecchin. We arrived quite late on a Sunday night after a 4 train, 2 bus journey from Lucerne and Jean Marie was waiting to cook us dinner! It only got better.

The hotel is small, 9 spotless, generous sized rooms. Its foundations incorporate a Roman bridge. To explain, Aosta was originally founded in the last quarter of the 1st Century BC by the Emperor Augustus as a military city to keep the recently subdued local Helvetii tribes pacific. He settled his Praetorium Augustus with battle hardened veterans. Aosta is one of the best preserved Roman cities in Europe. Most of its circuit walls survive as does its Paretorian Gate, theatre, cryptoporticum, an Augustinian triumphal arch (very close to the hotel) and, of course, the bridge.

The hotel offers a good Italian style breakfast included in the room price and free wifi. As mentioned by another reviewer, they have opened a new breakfast room which opens out onto a sheltered garden.

We cannot praise the Hotel Ristorante Cecchin too highly, we loved our stay with Jean Marie and Loredanna and warmly recommend it to future visitors.

Room Tip: Ask for room 3. It overlooks the Roman bridge, garden and straight at an amazing mountain.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank V581ZSdonb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami FL
Level 6 Contributor
195 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2012

Just got back from another Italy trip. Spent 3 days at this fine ,small property. My wife and I have been staying here for over 20 years and each stay is super. They just redid their breakfast room and we were lucky enough to inaugurate it. As we left they were preparing to open their restaurant- wish we could have stayed another evening to enjoy the food. They also offer parking in an enclosed garage which makes it easy for those driving.
All in all a fine experience and I can guarantee that we will be there again when we visit Italy.
Gil and Mary Muratori

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank countconti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 11, 2011

This lovely hotel is on a beautiful street (or rather historic Roman Bridge), in an excellent location, run by a wonderful family. The rooms are clean and spacious with great views. The owners never stop working and are full of helpful tips and advice. We did not want to leave!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rebecca E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2011

My husband and I stayed in this quaint little hotel. The place was situated perfectly for exploring Old Town Aosta. The Roman ruins were awesome and all the small shops were great. The people in the town were so nice. The proprietor of the hotel served an excellent continental breakfast and always remembered what you liked. He even set up breakfast early one morning so my husband could go skiing. The room was small but spotless. The view from the room was great. There is free public parking within a short walk. Not fancy, just perfect for when you are looking for a small, intimate, Italian Inn. Our vacation was too short when you have such an excellent host. We loved this hotel!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelqueen059
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackwood, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2010

My parents, my wife and I stayed for 4 nights. The rooms were large, comfortable, and spotless with a pretty view of the mountains. The TV had many satellite channels, some in English, German, and French. The location is great, within a short walk of the downtown pedestrian area with its wonderful Roman sights. Parking garage around the corner for 6 Euro per day. Breakfast in the garden next to the old Roman bridge was a treat. The owner was very flexible and got breakfast ready a half hour before advertised on our last day so that we could leave on time to catch a train.

The proprietor is especially friendly and helpful. My father needed medical attention late at night, and he arranged for an ambulance to the local hospital and translated for us. He made sure I knew how to find the hospital in my own car.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vmh83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Aosta hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Duca d'Aosta
Hotel Duca d'Aosta
#1 of 18 in Aosta
251 reviews
0.8 mi away
HB Aosta Hotel
HB Aosta Hotel
#3 of 18 in Aosta
458 reviews
0.9 mi away
Le Charaban
Le Charaban
#5 of 18 in Aosta
201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hostellerie du Cheval Blanc
1.2 mi away
Hotel Diana
Hotel Diana
#1 of 2 in Pollein
190 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Le Pageot
Hotel Le Pageot
#11 of 18 in Aosta
209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cecchin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cecchin

Property: Hotel Cecchin
Address: Via Ponte Romano 27, 11100, Aosta, Italy
Location: Italy > Valle d'Aosta > Aosta
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 18 Hotels in Aosta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Cecchin 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cecchin Hotel is located in the center of Aosta City, next to the Arch of Augustus and at a few distance from the most important monuments characterizing the center of the city. It was founded in 1982 next to the Roman bridge on the structure of an ancient roman building along the Via Francigena. The Hotel has comfortable rooms, being furnished according to the style of the Aosta Valley. Bombonniere effect in the mansards all of them being made of wood, equipped with air conditioning in summer. All rooms have private bathrooms, hairdryer, color TV with satellite channels and sky tv, Internet WiFi, direct dial telephone and sound system. Breakfast (buffet service) and dinner (is cured personally from the owner) with regional and national dishes are served in the restaurant of the hotel. During the summer season it is also possible to eat outside and admire the majesty of the roman bridge (1st century B.C.) The hotel as it is located on the Roman Bridge, is accessible to cars for loading and unloading of baggage, after which, at 30 meters from the hotel, you can take advantage of hotel's garage or public parking facilities nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Cecchin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Cecchin Aosta, Italy, Europe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing