We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Gem!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Venezia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Venezia
Ranked #25 of 36 Hotels in Trento
earth
2 reviews
“A Gem!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2013

I absolutely loved my stay in the middle of Trento last May! When I was in my room, I was entertained by a diverse range of local activity from a gathering of school kids from all over the district to different market days -- all set up in the Piazza di Duomo. It's wonderfully clean and very homey with quilts on the beds -- and absolutely central to everything I wanted. I could walk everywhere. The staff were terrifically helpful and friendly. I'd stay here again and again!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joni c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelveneziaTN, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Venezia, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Dear Joni,
thank you for your good review and for rating us on TripAdvisor.
We're so happy to know that you spent a lovely stay in Trento.
We look forward to welcoming you in our hotel again this year in room #38 with balcony.
Best regards,

Francesca and Family Tabarelli de Fatis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

273 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    109
    75
    20
    23
See reviews for
68
87
25
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Earth
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2013

Located directly in the pedestrian precinct of the city's heart "Piazza di Duomo" and only a 10 minute walk from the main station this hotel offers a 24h reception desk and camera monitoring of all entrances. The receptions checks on anyone unknown entering, especially after 22:00h so you can feel safe (but please learn to say your room number in italian or show your room key, if there's a new receptionist on duty). Some receptionists speak english, others just now how to get along with simple italian words.

Considering the location, hourly bell rings from the dome and noise from the bars around up until midnight are to be expected.

The rooms are typical italian handyman's work: everything looks fine at first sight, but paint coming of here and there and strange noises from the water tubes at closer inspection. Shower in the morning starts off cold so you better let some litres go down the drain until it's hot.

The breakfast is called "continental" but is rather typical italian high-carb: buns and jam, cake and muesli, juices and coffee. No meat, cheese or eggs.

Hints for your stay:
- fashion stores and cafes around are open on sunday, supermarkets and pharmacies arn't.
- there's a 24h supermarket vending machine in 200 metres north in Piazza Lodron, selling cold drinks and snacks as well as washing powder.
- ATM's are everywhere, as is Unicredit bank, even a (german?) Volksbank.
- Bus tickets (best choice is "giornaliero" = 10 oneway tickets) are available at any newspaper/tobacco shop; sundays you may have to refer to the shop in main station)

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HG-Buttentee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
60 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2013

The Venezia is located right on the Piazza del Duomo in the centre of Trento. It has rooms facing the piazza, and next door, on a side street. The rooms on the side street are a little more modern, so you can choose elevator and TV, or a view of the cathedral and the square.
The rooms are not luxurious, but comfortable and clean; the staff is friendly and helpful; and there is no better location in Trento. Go around the corner to Pizza Cavour for a slice or to the Café Dersut, or have a glass in any one of the many cafés on the piazza.
I stayed at the Venezia on three occasions for a total of about two weeks. I'll be back next time I'm in Trento.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nvulpe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelveneziaTN, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Venezia, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear Mr. Vulpe,
thank you for your good review and for rating us on TripAdvisor.
It was a great pleasure to meet you.
We look forward to welcoming you in our hotel again.
Best regards,

Francesca and Family Tabarelli de Fatis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Conner
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2012

I don't understand the negative reviews...my experience was positive in every way. This is no luxury hotel, it's a historic hotel smack on the main square in Trento offering excellent value and character. The location could not be better! My room had a panoramic view of all the activity in town, who needs TV. The room was an unbelievable value that more than made up for the stairs or simple furnishings. I don't speak Italian so it is always a little frustrating for the reception person to understand my needs, in this case they were very gracious and put me in the perfect room. Luca was very hospitable in sharing hiking and Refugio information that made the Dolomites the highlight of my trip. Absolutely no gaps in cleanliness and service in this characterful old hotel...I would recommend it to my best friend. This is the sort of place in Italy that makes being a traveler a joy.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LaConnerMark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
47 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2012

Have stayed here before, but this time enjoyed the stay a lot. Very nice spacious room with an oversized bathroom (hard to find in Europe), and great fast WiFi service IN the room. Nice breakfast provided daily and centrally located in the very center of Trento with incredible views. Only drawback is some lack of English with the staff, but Francesca was great and able to answer most of our questions (and another young man who was at the desk at times). Clean, friendly and great service. Will stay again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wendyapolis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012

You can't beat staying right on the Piazza del Duomo, and the Hotel Venezia is a solid bet. We found the rooms clean, with the basic necessities, big bathrooms, good beds, ok towels. Nice tall windows that open completely, and have wooden shades. Great price for location, and the bar immediately below serves tasty local wine. Hotel staff spoke English when we arrive, and were very helpful. Breakfast was included in room price and pretty hearty for Italy- fresh rolls and croissants, jams, strong coffee, yogurt, those funny crispy zweiback bits served to all non-Italians for breakfast. Cool little peek-a-boo architectural window between floors exposes a bit of old Roman structure.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kmh1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salzburg
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2012

This hotel is located in the beautiful old town of Trento. Our room was very nice and cozy, with all the necessary. The entire building facing the street has just been renovated in a very fine stile. The family that run this hotel made us feel like at home. Excellent breackfast with fresh cornetti, cakes, cappuccino, ecc.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hermes b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Trento hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Accademia
Hotel Accademia
#21 of 36 in Trento
3.5 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Buonconsiglio
Hotel Buonconsiglio
#11 of 36 in Trento
4.0 of 5 bubbles 355 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Trento
Grand Hotel Trento
#4 of 36 in Trento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel America
Hotel America
#6 of 36 in Trento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 524 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Everest
Hotel Everest
#14 of 36 in Trento
4.0 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Aquila d'Oro
Hotel Aquila d'Oro
#15 of 36 in Trento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Venezia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Venezia

Property: Hotel Venezia
Address: Piazza del Duomo 45, 38122, Trento, Italy
Location: Italy > Trentino-Alto Adige > Province of Trento > Trento
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 36 Hotels in Trento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Venezia 2*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Venezia is located in the suggestive Piazza del Duomo (Cathedral square), in the historical center of the regional capital of Trentino, just 500 meters from the railway station and bus station, a few Km from the highway A22 and near bike path of the Adige Valley. The hotel's strategic location makes it ideal for exploring the city on foot, a few steps from historical monuments, restaurants, shops and from the University Area.Hotel Venezia is a typical family business and it’s open all year round. It offers 43 rooms with a total of 85 beds, some of these rooms overlook the wonderful Cathedral of San Vigilio and the Neptune’s Fountain. Pets are welcome in our hotel, they will stay with you in your room at no additional charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Venezia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Venezia Hotel Trento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing