We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Is the chef a hardcore smoker...?”

Osteria Il Cappello
Ranked #14 of 508 Restaurants in Trento
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $32 - $58
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Reviewed July 23, 2019

I wish I could a more cheerful review of this cool place. We felt lucky when we got one of the few tables, and we were - and are - thrilled by the ambience in the well designed restaurant.

Unfortunately, the food was horrible! We shared a starter - eggplant rolls with shrimps - and the lack of spices and acid made it almost as dull as the extremely dry, tasteless bread.

My wife had spaghetti vongole, and it was incredibly salty and with remains of sand from the mussels. I had a pasta with Rabbits stew, which was even more salty - it was impossible to taste anything else.

In my experience, the only people who cook - and eat - food that salty are heavy smokers. How about the chef in Osteria Il Capello?

It was a very, very hot evening, so I’ll try to forget about the young waiter constantly forgetting everything he was told.

Sorry, but the evening was a fairytale without a happy end.

Date of visit: July 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Mogeltoft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (543)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 543 reviews

Reviewed December 12, 2018 via mobile

This restaurant has kept high standards since long time. I was back in town after couple of years of absence and IL Cappello kept the usual expectations. Location is nice, food is very good (including some typical regional dishes, like the canederli or the over cooked cow cheeks). Desserts are delicious. In late fall don’t miss the Mont Blanc with cream made out of persimmons. There is always certainty for good meal here.

Date of visit: December 2018
1  Thank Give_Bxl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2018 via mobile

We succeeded in getting a table here on a Saturday evening without prior booking (failed elsewhere twice) and enjoyed superb cuisine that is distinctly different and obviously based on fresh seasonal ingredients. The service is reserved but appropriately competent when queried on, for instance, on local wine options. We opted initially for separate choices - a seasonal salad and a fine tuna-caper pasta dish. We followed up with delicious pork and duck main dishes. We were delighted by the Teroldego red wine that our waiter advised us to try. A pleasant experience overall.

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank paul_deirdre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2018

Great traditional cooking. Good mix of locals and tourists. Friendly, busy but nice feel. Good central location in historical centre.

Date of visit: September 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank GuyGeerts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2018 via mobile

Lovely location just a little off Trento’s main streets. Il Capello has both an inside and outside area (cordoned off from what is in any event a very quite piazza).

The menu is very limited but there is enough of a selection of antipasti and pasta/main dishes to satisfy everyone in the family and the food left nothing to be desired.

Prices are on the higher side with our lunch coming in at just over €110 (2 starters, 3 mains, no desert, 2 glasses of wine, several bottles of water and 3 espressos). Not expensive given the restaurant and quality of the food but not the place to visit if you’re after a meal of a tight budget. Well worth it if you’re looking for a good meal with good service.

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank robmS2747UZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Osteria Il Cappello also viewed

 
Trento, Province of Trento
Trento, Province of Trento
 

Been to Osteria Il Cappello? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing