We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK for a tight budget, otherwise substandard.”
Review of Hotel Vela

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Vela
Ranked #10 of 36 Hotels in Trento
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 19, 2013

I am sorry to throw cold water on previous reviews, but the Vera is certainly not an outstanding hotel! It is relatively inexpensive and perhaps that is why the reviewers were so ecstatic. It is marginally adequate. It is difficult to find and out-of-the-way. Unmentioned is that the directions have been outdated for 2 years, since the closing of Centro exit from the Autostrada. From the outside, it has the general appearance of a cheap 1960s hotel. The decorations downstairs pick up the cheap look with a tasteless mix of colors and cheap looking furnishings. As for the rooms, the first we saw had a strong odor of mothballs and grubby carpets. The second room had the same run-down look, carpets and smell. The room we chose had a wood laminate floor. All rooms we saw were larger than the tiny rooms found in some budget hotel chains, but they are NOT spacious. Spartan is a better description: 2 tiny bars of soap, 2 half-size bottles of hotel shampoo, 2 half liter bottles of water in the refrigerator. The views on all sides are best seen through closed dusty drapes. The rooms are basically white and wood-colored. Our radiator was badly rusted. Other reviewers found the breakfast from average to good. Compared to what? The breakfast, compared to those of Northern Italy and Northern Europe is substandard in both quality and selection. Finally, it is best to get to the hotel early as there is grossly inadequate parking at and around the hotel. Many guests were forced to create their own parking lot at a wide point of a nearby street.
Other reviewers called this hotel “Great”, or “The very, very best. Benissimo”! Where are their standards? Such inflated reviews are a disservice TripAdvisor readers!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DonPaulo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (303)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

11 - 17 of 303 reviews

Reviewed March 7, 2013

We stayed at Hotel Vela for 3 nights from 18th to 21st January 2013. We had a lovely stay and the staff are extremely helpful and nice. Rooms are very spacious and cosy. Food is incredibly delicious at Hotel Vela. We ate there all three nights and we were extremely satisfied with the service and delicacy of the different dishes we tried. Breakfast is ideal too. The hotel is very close to the bus stop and is located in a very lovely village. We were extremely satisfied with the stay and will recommend others to stay here. Well done :-)

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Johanna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

Hotel Vela is situated a few km south of Trento, but with a regular bus service into town. It's very much a focus for the local community & as a family run business, the personal touch is very evident. Claudia, in particular, was extremely helpful, but many of the staff spoke good English & were happy to help in any way. Wi-fi access is free, & even you don't have a laptop or tablet with you, they have a guest lending laptop for your use.

Prices are very reasonable, the accommodation is a little basic - for example, British visitors used to an AA or RAC 3 star rating may be a little disappointed, but at the same time, you would not get the same value for money at a UK hotel Breakfast was nice, very much Italian style with fruit, yoghurt, rolls etc. Dinner was something of a revalation.The hotel seems to market itself to the locals as a pizzeria, so I didn't dine in the restaurant for the 1st two evenings, thinking I wouldn't get true Trentino cuisine. How wrong I was. On my final evening, I had a starter of spinach & parsley dumplings, a main of venison & mushroom stew with polenta, accompanied by an excellent Teroldego red wine (a local speciality). This was helpfully advertised in an English language menu (yes, an additional service provided by the hotel). It was absolutely delicious & finished off by a delightful apple strudel, the 3 course menu being only 20 Euros on a Saturday night. Trento is an excellent base for exploring Trentino & Alto Adige. The region is spectacularly beautiful. I shall certainly return to Trentino-Alto Adige soon & when I do, I shall be staying at Hotel Vela.

Room Tip: Rooms in the hotel, rather than the annexe are probably more comfortable, and a little further from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thaslam65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2012

We stayed in Trento for one night then heading towards dolomiti ski resort, this hotel is picked up basically because of the good price for 4 people.

We drove there, to our surprise, it was a 3 star hotel with a nice resturant! And the food served there was fantastic! We arrived quite late but the reception man was waiting for us and kindly asked us to take dinner before it was too late. We ate till quite late but received no complaints from the reception, instead, we had smiley service all the time!

The room is really spacious for 4 persons, and the breakfast is brilliant too!

For the price we paid, this is definitely a GREAT choice!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Soleil_Gal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2012

Very good hotel at Trento. Very friendly and good staff. Nice restaurant with good prices and good food, good option to lunch or dinner. Beautiful sight of the mountains at the windows. The location is not in the center of the city, but it's worthy due to the quality of the hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RafaelPP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2011

The hotel is far from principal atractions,you need a car or the bus (20 minutes).
The triple room was very confortable. The breakfast was really good,but did not have fresh fruits. The recepcionist was very helpful. Free parking and free internet.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cristina57_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2011

The location is excellent with the bus stop just a few seconds away. Therefore very easy access to the town and station. There is a supermarket and small childrens park nearby too. Food is delicious and is served very fast. The staff are very friendly. Rooms are large and comfortable and i was thrilled with the bathroom which was like a room in itself!! Free internet access too.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nats0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Trento hotels
2.1 mi away
B&B Hotel Trento
B&B Hotel Trento
#6 of 36 in Trento
1,188 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Everest
Hotel Everest
#12 of 36 in Trento
217 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel Monte Bondone
Hotel Monte Bondone
#1 of 2 in Vaneze
302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel Buonconsiglio
Hotel Buonconsiglio
#9 of 36 in Trento
427 reviews
1.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Trento
Grand Hotel Trento
#4 of 36 in Trento
1,568 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel Sporting Trento
Hotel Sporting Trento
#16 of 36 in Trento
318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Vela? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vela

Address: Santi Cosma e Damiano, 38100, Trento, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Trentino-Alto Adige > Province of Trento > Trento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 36 Hotels in Trento
Price Range: $96 - $131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Vela 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is located ca. 1 km from the exit Trento Centre of the motorway A22. It’s a modern building with all sort of comforts, private car park, garage and attended coach parking. For those who haven’t got a car the town Vela is well reachable by public busses from and to the city.Our hotel has 30 best furnished rooms, all with bathroom, satellite-TV, safe, fridge-bar, direct phone, radio, hairdryer and air conditioner.INTERNET WI-FI FREE ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Vela reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing