We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel”
Review of Hotel Terme Merano

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Terme Merano
Ranked #4 of 54 Hotels in Merano
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 18, 2012

Centrally located in Merano on the Adige River it's perfect for getting to know Merano. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Beautiful, spotlessly clean, large rooms - very quiet and comfortable. Breakfast served was delicious and varied with hot and cold dishes plus some pretty yummy looking pastries and cakes.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cruziegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,321)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

78 - 84 of 1,321 reviews

Reviewed August 2, 2012

Definitely a YES for the location, a YES for the friendly staff, a YES for the stylish and well designed room (a suite!) as well as a YES for the very good treatments at the hotel's spa
A NO for too many families with small children who produce a hell of a noice and hazzle in the Spa areas, in the pool and in the garden. The area around the saunas and steam bath is very open so you feel like in a public bath. Completely misses a relaxed and calm Spa atmosphere. And a NO for the hectic at breakfast as well as a NO for not providing any small snacks in the minibar like peanuts or anything similar. When going down to the concierge in the night he was also unable to provide us with some chips or cookies at least. Well, its clearly a four star, but quite pricy....

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Eva_Maria_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2012

Nice hotel from the pictures in the Internet. But that's it.

Thank TheHeavyTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2012

i had been here before years ago when it still used to be with the steigenberger group – and it hasn't changed much. to avoid any misunderstandings, it doesn't look worn or tired, it's been kept and maintained very well. both the public areas as well as the rooms still rate very high in terms of ambiance and modern design.

when we arrived in the evening we were greeted in a personal and very friendly manner by a young female receptionist, who also explained all the amenities concerning the hotel and the free entrance to the merano therme and also made a special effort to recommend and book a nice restaurant for us. also the next evening, the reception staff had a very nice restaurant recommendation for us, as the one we had asked for was (fortunately?) closed that evening.

rooms are spacious and cosy, and a bag with towels is waiting to be taken to the spa.

the buffet breakfast offered a good and ample choice – much better and more than you would expect when in italy.

the hotel bar serves a mean hugo, a cocktail drink that i have come to love ever since

tip:
a visit to the large therme is impressive, but on some days (especially the weekend) it tends to be VERY busy with families, so after having seen and tried all the special features, it was a real treat to be able to retreat to the hotel's pool and wellness area, where it was a lot quieter. come to think of it, the hotel spa had everything in terms of the features that we also saw in the larger therme.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PushingTheSenses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2012

Modern, clean, great location, Walking distance to old city, wonderful breakfast, tunnel to thermal bath. Perfect choice.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank adala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2012

We indeed enjoyed a well needed relaxing weekend and great food at the Terme Merano. Merano is modern rather tastefully decorated hotel and is well positioned next to the river in the city centre. The staff is very professional and speaks not only Italian, but also German and some English. The hotel spa is beautiful and it's also connected to the Meran thermal baths. However, there are not enough chairs or beds for the guest at the Hotel spa. Consequently guests are putting towels on the beds and don't use the spa until later during the day. My husband fell almost twice due to the slippery wet floor. They offered tea at a corner of the spa facilities, but it was not kept in order and looked rather messy. Also the toilettes in the spa area where not clean.
The breakfast room is immaculate, the buffet is rich, fresh - one of the best I ever had in Italy. The rooms are nicely decorated and the beds very comfortable, however, we could not lower the temperature, 26 C°, in our room which resulted into that we did not sleep so well. Second night we slept with the windows open, but where disturbed by some noises outside the hotel.
No Wi-Fi in the rooms! I was quite disappointed that I could not use my ipad in our room as internet was only available by cable. Wi-Fi is available only in the lobby. On the first floor there is a computer and a printer available for hotel guests, however, the lightning was insufficient (due to missing bulbs in the lamps) where the computer was placed and we could not see the key board, or read papers, credit card numbers etc.
We had a great time, however, I would expect a little bit more from a hotel which charges 200 Euros per night. I'm confident the hotel will eventually be perfect after some "corrections" .

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mariajanette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2012

My wife and I just spent came back from a weekend at this hotel. It is a modern and quite beautiful structure, very well positioned in the city center and connected to the Meran thermal baths.
We had a very nice time, the restaurant was excellent (great breakfast buffet and good gourmet dinners) and service was very good.
Unfortunately the structure has several small flaws that need to be addressed. In fact they told us that it was recently bought by new owners that are going to close it to do some restructuring.
By looking at the building and room plan I believe that about 90% of the rooms have a beautiful or at least pleasant view: our room was one of the remaining 10% or less that look at a rather ugly apartment building.
Wifi is available in the lobby, but not in the rooms where internet connection is only available by cable. The mattresses were very hard (and we are used to a hard mattress) with extremely flat pillows, so our sleep quality was not so good.
Our bathroom was large, but it did not have ANY space where to place toiletries so we had to keep them in the closet. The shower did not have a shower plate, but only a drain in the floor and a courtain. In addition the floor did not have any slope towards the drain, so in order not to flood the bathroom when showering we had to make a little retainer with a towel. In our opinion the colour of the tiles was quite ugly (green and brown) and also I did not like that they had stainless steel accessories (soap dispensers, bath holders, grab bars, trash bin) and chromed plumbing. They should have opted for stainless steel or at least stainless steel finish faucets. Maybe some of the flaws are due to the fact that our bathroom was equipped for people on a wheel chair, but then it made no sense to put this kind of room at the end of a long carpeted hallway (not so easy access on a wheelchair).
The spa area was quite nice, but as it was a busy weekend there was not enough room where to relax, either in the pool area or after a treatment at the spa. They only offered a small table with tea and apples and it was not always stocked.
Another issue was with the elevators: 1. there is no service elevator. 2. when taking the elevator to the underground level for the spa, you get out by the garage door. 3. at lobby level the doors open on a small and very dark atrium without any decorations or indications: like many others at first we were not sure if we were on the right level.
Hopefully the new ownership will adress these issues and the hotel will easily get a perfect score.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Viclugano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Merano hotels
0.1 mi away
Boutique & Design Hotel ImperialArt
2.6 mi away
Relais & Chateaux Hotel Castel Fragsburg
0.4 mi away
Hotel Windsor
Hotel Windsor
#5 of 54 in Merano
387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Ansitz Plantitscherhof
Ansitz Plantitscherhof
#7 of 54 in Merano
629 reviews
0.7 mi away
Castel Rundegg Hotel
Castel Rundegg Hotel
#12 of 54 in Merano
171 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Meranerhof
Hotel Meranerhof
#6 of 54 in Merano
308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Terme Merano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Terme Merano

Address: Piazza Terme 1, 39012, Merano, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Trentino-Alto Adige > Province of South Tyrol > Merano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Merano
#3 Spa Hotel in Merano
#4 Luxury Hotel in Merano
#4 Romantic Hotel in Merano
Price Range: $333 - $452 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Terme Merano 4.5*
Number of rooms: 139
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Terme Merano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Steigenberger Hotel Merano

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing