We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“a relaxing weekend” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Terme Merano

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Terme Merano
Ranked #3 of 56 Hotels in Merano
Certificate of Excellence
Vigevano, Lombardia, Italy
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“a relaxing weekend”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2011

The hotel is placed in Merano city centre, near the river. It is equipped with everything guests can need to enjoy a completely relaxing holiday. The design is so medern and the service is excellent. The hotel spa is wonderful and I enhoyed a fantastic massage.
Breakfast is delicious and it was the best I've ever had in my life!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,208 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    786
    320
    70
    23
    9
See reviews for
262
620
32
76
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2011

This hotel is simply fantastic. Rooms are ultramodern, superb design. Breakfast is best we ever had in Italy. Worth the visit itself. The baths are more fun than the kids ever had before in any swimming pool. Loved it!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alpine66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2011

A sophisticated hotel, good spa, good service, breakfast could be better for a 4 star hotel, but is one of the most beautiful places that I went.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marcia_Barroso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2011

Wonderful city. Hotel is extremely nicely located close to shopping and restaurants. The view is gorgeous and nice panoramic and nature walks can be done from the hotel. The thermal pools are also very relaxing. The hotel has a modern decor with an excellent and very chic atmosphere. A definite go

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Claudiaper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2011

Stayed at the top suite of the hotel for an extended weekend. While the suite was great, too many things are wrong with the hotel, all having to do with service, or lack thereof.

Read in another review that this hotel was a former Steigenberger, which the city of Meran had to take over. This explains a lot, such as why this is one of the few hotels where the hotel manager seems to have a good work life balance (we never saw him in four days, albeit being the top paying patrons), and the staff is few, young and ill trained.

Location: perfect! We loved it, next to old town, next to river, with beautiful views.

Reception: What reception? When we arrived, there was no greeting, nobody to help us with luggage, we even had to get the luggage cart ourselves in the storage room!, putting away car etc. When inquiring by phone from our room, we didn't get the promised callback, when returning with our mountain bike we were told that we had to put them next to our car on the parking spot even though there is a bike storage room in the hotel (where we had the bikes the night before). And no, there was nobody who could take the bikes for us etc.

Room: Gorgeous, great view (corner suite on 3rd floor), interior modern, spacey (very large living room), plenty of storage space, large bath with free standing bath tub, rainforest shower, separate WC. Balcony with one sun chair (remember: suite), two chairs and a small table. Room service did at least clean room. But only 1 small bottle of shampoo for entire suite, and limited set of towels only.

Spa: good spa, direct connection to public spa for those who like sharing a hot tub with many others. Nice outdoor pool, quiet, clean. But: most of the time, there's nobody at the front desk of the spa. You get two towels per person per day in your room to take to the spa, and there are no add'l towels. So plan wisely when doing a day of wellness... No blankets in quiet room. Not all saunas/steam room working at all times. Massages were very good, highly recommendable.

Restaurant: breakfast buffet/service pathetic for a 4* hotel: no fresh juice, only 3 cheeses and when they're gone (watch out: before 9 o'clock!), no refills, cut fresh fruit not fresh and not ripe, good bread selection. Ordering omelettes is do-it yourself, as is serving. If the cook is putting away last night's leftovers, he has you wait until he's done. Service is slow und inattentive (bad training), an hour after we had left I was able to pick up my forgotten room key on our table, as it had not been cleared yet... Clearly missing is a chef de service. Didn't try the restaurant for dinner after the breakfast experience.

Room Tip: Get a room that faces outward, not into courtyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank SwissFreqTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level Contributor
150 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2011

Had a very nice room with balcony on interior courtyard; large bathroom. Décor throughout was very hip. Internet is expensive – you can buy it in 15-minute increments or for 14 Euros for 24 consecutive hours. Fabulous breakfast buffet. Hotel is connected underground to the Thermal Spa and provides robes and slippers. Merano is a fabulous picturesque town, very upscale. Make sure you walk up the river to the newly opened gardens.

Room Tip: View of town, or inner courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LCB108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2011

The staff are courteous, perhaps less effusive than some hotels, as english maybe a third language but there is no problem at reception. The location, 100m to centre and linked to large hot pool complex is wonderful. Our rooms (101 102 linked for our family of teenagers) were large (2 armchairs in each) modern and very clean, But the downside was the loud clatter of trucks unloading linen (etc) comencing from 4 a.m in the morning and going thru (at odd times) until 7 am. It was impossible to sleep through this and not an expected feature of a hotel of this quality. I suggest check all details of your rooms (and also try Liszt restaurant nearby... a fun and good vlue restaurant.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wayleggo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Merano hotels
0.4 mi away
City Hotel Merano
City Hotel Merano
#7 of 56 in Merano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ansitz Plantitscherhof
Ansitz Plantitscherhof
#5 of 56 in Merano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 595 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Meranerhof
Hotel Meranerhof
#6 of 56 in Merano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Aurora
Hotel Aurora
#20 of 56 in Merano
4.0 of 5 bubbles 371 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Windsor
Hotel Windsor
#4 of 56 in Merano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 350 reviews
0.1 mi away
Europa Splendid
Europa Splendid
#10 of 56 in Merano
4.0 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Terme Merano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Terme Merano

Property: Hotel Terme Merano
Address: Piazza Terme 1, 39012, Merano, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Trentino-Alto Adige > Province of South Tyrol > Merano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Merano
#3 Luxury Hotel in Merano
#3 Family Hotel in Merano
#4 Romantic Hotel in Merano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Terme Merano 4.5*
Number of rooms: 139
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Terme Merano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Steigenberger Hotel Merano

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing