We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel with a fantastic view!”
Review of Pension Brunner

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Pension Brunner
Ranked #32 of 47 Merano B&B and Inns
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful hotel with a fantastic view!”
Reviewed July 21, 2013

I was a bit surprised to read a couple of the negative reviews. My family and I had a great stay here. I will say up front that the family that ran the hotel weren't the friendliest I've encountered traveling, but they were very accommodating when we had to change our travel plans several times, including showing back up at the hotel a few minutes before 11am to ask if we could check out right then because we hadn't figured in the reduced train/bus schedule the next day (Sunday) and wouldn't be able to make the connections we needed to make. He wasn't happy, but still worked with me to get us checked out and on our way.

With that said, they were always courteous and the hotel itself was very nice. We had a third floor balcony room that overlooked the street in front. The view was fantastic! The only issue we ran into was the property across the street had live music until later in the evening one of the nights we were there, complete with a drunken singer who thought it was karaoke night. :) The pool was relaxing and it was a fairly easy walk to town and the thermal baths.

All in all, I would recommend it to folks looking for a nice place to stay at a reasonable price.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PJ D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    28
    13
    7
    11
See reviews for
13
35
4
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bern
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2011

Rooms and breakfast are o.k. But they don’t accept neither credit cards nor debit cards (not even EC) and they don’t have small money ready to pay back. They keep passports for more than 12 hours to be able fill out papers they need. For them it is normal and the gust has to accept it. The culminating point was the bill. The price you have to pay is per person and not per room. For the additional (third ) bed in a double room they asked the same amount as for the first or second bed. Explicitly: double room cost 148 Euro and for the additional bed we had to pay further 74 Euro. Something similar newer happened to me in the whole world.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank zmrzlina007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Merano hotels

Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2010

We start with the positive features; nice & tidy rooms, ok food and good location. But - we've never been treated so bad anywhere before. The family running the hotel has no feeling for service what so ever, they barerly greet or talk to you when you arrive or during your stay. One interesting example was when we asked the manager about a small village about 10 min by car from Merano - his answer was that he couldn't know about that village since he had never been there. At one time when we had special requests regarding the dinner we where actually yelled at in the dining room in front of all the other guests. Our visit ended with the wife of the manager accusing us for trying to pay with false money. Well, new money from the bank might feel differrent, but what do you expect when you don't take creditcards? This was the Merano Faulty Towers!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Futurevoyage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
Level Contributor
32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2010

We choose the hotel based on the great price and the location, and we werent disappointed at all.
The hotel is very nice, extremelly clean, has a nice pool and is located in a wonderful area in Merano, just 10 minutes walk to the centre of the town and the Thermal baths, so we had a wonderful time.
The hotel is runned by a nice family and they were always very friendly and helpful.
My husband even forgot his camera there and they offer to send it to us without problems.
I certainly recommend this hotel if you are thinking of staying in Merano, was in fact a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Pati-chueca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Merano
4.5 mi away
Hotel Brunner
Hotel Brunner
#7 of 12 in Avelengo
72 reviews
0.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Bellevue
Grand Hotel Bellevue
#34 of 56 in Merano
263 reviews
0.7 mi away
Manzoni Rooms Merano
Manzoni Rooms Merano
#8 of 47 in Merano
36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Garni Villa Betty
Garni Villa Betty
#1 of 47 in Merano
217 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Jasmin Garni
Hotel Jasmin Garni
#29 of 47 in Merano
21 reviews
0.0 mi away
Residence Ladurnerhof
Residence Ladurnerhof
#20 of 31 in Merano
12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pension Brunner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pension Brunner

Property: Pension Brunner
Address: Via Giuseppe Verdi 31/a, 39012, Merano, Italy
Location: Italy > Trentino-Alto Adige > Province of South Tyrol > Merano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 47 B&Bs / Inns in Merano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Pension Brunner 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Pension Brunner reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing