We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Old world elegance” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Adria

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Adria
Ranked #19 of 56 Hotels in Merano
Certificate of Excellence
Bridgwater
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Old world elegance”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2012

If you like character in your hotels rather than slick modern, the Hotel Adria is ideal. Generally excellent staff closely supervised by the owner everything is spotlessly clean and efficient but redolent of a slower less frantic age. Set in a quiet residential area, ten minutes from the centre of the elegant town, the views from the hotel of the surrounding mountains are stunning. The food is excellent. We like areas not usually frequented by large numbers of English tourists so it suited us fine but the clientele are largely Swiss, Austrian and German. Some staff speak good English and the daily information sheet and menus were specially written in English for us but in general Merano is a German speaking area moreTyrolean in character than Italian. The hotel suited us perfectly, not too large like some in Merano but large enough to have good facilities. We were too busy enjoying the wonderful walks in the area to use the spa or pool but they are there if you want them.

Room Tip: Have one of those at the back with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ca922
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    47
    8
    1
    4
See reviews for
32
89
12
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2011

1) If you fancy visiting a lovely,clean,spa type,south tyrol town(city!) at the convergence of 3 valleys,with a raging mountain river and surrounded by fairly close snow capped mountains and offering limitless out and about sorties of ALL levels(we preferred thedead slow + coffee variety). These sorties assisted by a very low cost(or free) mobilcard permitting 'no fuss' use on bus,train,many cablecars within a large radius.
Then suggest you try a visit to MERANO.
2) If you go to Merano,book with INGHAMS. I believe they are the only operator listing this resort..via Verona airport. Also they happen to have an outstanding rep in the person of Ian Hall (when we visited).Ian's local knowledge,enthusiasm,concern and subtle sense of humour added immensely to our visit.
3) If you visit MERANO with INGHAMS, check out the HOTEL ADRIA. Possibly the ideal location for this town. A genuinely leisurely 30 mins stroll ito town via winding paths down the riverside woodland to flat riverside paths into heart of town, or via roadway and through parks to same.Bus return is easy option if desired with bus stop 3 mins from hotel.
The Adria has previously been described as ' a charming old pile'..thats about it..mod cons in a characterful building in a pleasant suburb. Very clean and tidy everywhere. Good rooms with various mountain and garden outlooks.Wonderful friendly and effecient staff.Food (breakfast & dinner) of a high level of quality and presentation ond dinner main course beautifully served covered by a silver dome plate cover with a quaint ritual of their removal in unison....well I thought so!!.
so...MERANO/INGHAMS/ADRIA........enjoy.
We combined with a week at Gardone on Lake Garda.....talk about 'DOLCE VITA'
ciao.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank reddimike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adria_belvita, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Hotel Adria, responded to this review, August 24, 2011
Thank you very much for this great feedback!
Greatings from Merano
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Yorkshire UK
Level Contributor
29 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2011

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay here, relaxing and very comfortable. I agree with the last review. The food was by far some of the best we have had in a hotel, as it was consistently very good throughout our 10 day stay. The various pasta dishes were excellent, and we had a Tyrolean and Gala dinner during our stay. All the staff were very welcoming and efficient. Yes, the dinning room was quiet from time to time but this was just everyone enjoying such wonderful meals. Spa and pool facilities were to a high standard, enjoyed the white robes and towels. Merano is a beautiful place and it is so easy to be in the mountains realtively quickly using the Mobilcard on bus/train or cable car.
It was extremely hot during our stay and there was no air con in our room. Sleep was a problem due to the heat even with the doors open.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ginger3658
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adria_belvita, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Hotel Adria, responded to this review, August 24, 2011
We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay at the Belvita Hotel Adria and hope you will be also in future our guest!

Sunny greating from Merano
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NE England
Level Contributor
72 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2011

Stayed 7 nights at the Adria - it is wonderful. During our stay there was free use of Rucksack,also useful hessian bag with 4 towels for spa/swimming/sunbathing. Lovely white fluffy dressing gowns/slippers for spa/swimming. Very peaceful surroundings. Friendly helpful staff. Excellent food - the best we have ever had anywhere.
We went with Inghams and had the wonderful help and expertise of the surrounding area and what was on offer and a Merano pass that gave us free travel on buses/trains and some chairlifts - excellent. Lots of lovely things going on in Merano - go by bus or walk along the Sissi-Weg into town - very pretty walk. Jazz Festival on during our stay.
Loved the daily Newsletter given at breakfast - helps plan what you can see/do in the hotel and Merano town.

Room Tip: Room 55 and 56 are corner rooms with 2 windows - useful for air flow, as no air con in bedrooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank ArthurNEEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
90 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2009

Merano is a charming small town in a beautiful setting. The Hotel Adria is a great old pile with the charm of a by-gone era. There are several hotels of this type in Merano. They cater, for the most part, to older people, many of whom are German, Austrian or Swiss.

Our room was comfortable with a balcony that had a slight view out to one side. From the advertisements and descriptions on the hotel web site I assumed the hotel was in a park. It is near a park, but the hotel itself is on a rather small plot of land which has been nicely landscaped, but is smack up against a lot of similar looking buildings-- some are hotels, others are private homes. There is a free car park, although our car was damaged by someone during our three day stay--we didn't find out who scraped the whole side of our car because they left no information.

We were required to take half board, which turned out to be full board because lunch is offered as well as breakfast and dinner. A special tea room serves cakes and sweets at tea time which is also included. The breakfast buffet was the nicest one we had anywhere in Italy. The dining room is very formal and the evening meal is several courses long, served by waiters in formal attire. The food was excellent and plentiful. As everywhere in Italy, you pay extra for your bottle of water or wine. The weird thing was that the dining room full of people was almost silent. No one seemed to be having a very good time, and most of the time people whispered. Perhaps this is just European behavior. it was a bit intimidating!!!

There was a nice pool available for guest use, and some other spa amenities but there was no explanation in English so we didn't understand how to use some of the special saunas and whirlpools. We were very impressed with one of the staff members at the front desk, Daniella. She spoke excellent Italian, German and English, and made our stay very pleasant by advising us about what to see, where to go and answering our questions. We were able to walk to all the interesting in-town tourist destinations and found the old town particularly attractive. We took a long day trip up the Valdosta Valley as the apple harvest was being gathered. it is a spectacular trip with many different castles, churches, villages and other points of interest to see along the way.

Our room and board was 240 Euros a day or about $360 at the current exchange. Considering the quality of the food, the comfort of our room, and the general expense of hotels and food in Italy, we thought it was a reasonable bargain overall.

Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
Helpful?
27 Thank Dedphred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesbrough
Level Contributor
107 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 228 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2009

The Hotel Adria is a charming old hotel which has preserved many of its historic features whilst refurbishing its rooms to an excellent, modern standard. The service is first class with all staff from reception to housekeeping to the restaurant going out of their way to be pleasant and helpful. It’s a handy location – just over 5 minutes to the beautiful riverside promenade which leads into town. The pool and leisure centre are excellent and open out onto a pleasant garden with comfortable sun loungers and outdoor Jacuzzi.
The absolute highlight for us was the fabulous food. We had spent the previous week in another area of Italy on a B&B basis and had been disappointed by the general standard of affordable restaurants. The Adria more than restored our faith in the Italians’ ability to produce gastronomic delights! Each evening there was a five course dinner with huge choice of cold starter followed by a pasta course with between 4-6 varieties to select from – self service so the opportunity to try them all if you wanted. Soup (no choice) was then followed by a main course which you were asked to choose (from three options) at breakfast time. Finally came dessert (always delicious!) and though there was only one on the menu there was also a vast selection of fresh fruit and cheeses available if you did not like what was on offer. The wine list was extensive with plenty of good, local wines between about 15 and 17 euros.
Merano itself is a pretty spa resort with good shopping, lovely botanical gardens and lots of easy walks in the valley. It is as yet largely undiscovered by the British and the main language spoken is German. One particularly interesting feature is the “Wahlwege” which are irrigation channels. similar to the levadas in Madeira. These provide very pretty and interesting level walks through apple and pear orchards and the vineyards with waterfalls and other interesting features en route.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
32 Thank annb15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2004

An enchanting place, attentive service,
many sport and movement offers,
ideal for hiking and wandering,
good SPA
excellent food

Helpful?
26 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Merano hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Meranerhof
Hotel Meranerhof
#6 of 56 in Merano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Terme Merano
Hotel Terme Merano
#3 of 56 in Merano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,208 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ansitz Plantitscherhof
Ansitz Plantitscherhof
#5 of 56 in Merano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 595 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Aurora
Hotel Aurora
#20 of 56 in Merano
4.0 of 5 bubbles 371 reviews
0.8 mi away
City Hotel Merano
City Hotel Merano
#7 of 56 in Merano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
0.9 mi away
Grand Hotel Bellevue
Grand Hotel Bellevue
#31 of 56 in Merano
4.0 of 5 bubbles 255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Adria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Adria

Property: Hotel Adria
Address: Via Hermann Gilm 2 | 39012 Merano, 39012, Merano, Italy
Location: Italy > Trentino-Alto Adige > Province of South Tyrol > Merano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Merano
#12 Luxury Hotel in Merano
#14 Romantic Hotel in Merano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Adria 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The charming hotel is situated in the heart of the residence area of Merano only a few steps from the historic town centre and the promenades. Experience the unique hospitality in a familiar atmosphere, enjoy the beauty of the nature while wandering and golfing, relax in the bath pavilion and taste culinary delicacies. Experience true well-being! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Adria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belvita Hotel Adria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing