We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Palma(Merano)
$201
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$227
$206
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$185
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$259
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
$278
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Terme Merano(Merano)
$371
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$228
$217
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$235
$205
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$347
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (434)
Filter reviews
434 results
Traveler rating
373
44
9
5
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
373
44
9
5
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshunting lodgeitalian alpsstar michelingracious staffyoga instructorlocal activitieslovely surroundingsexcellent foodtravelled extensivelyincredible viewsspecial thanksbeautiful propertyunforgettable experiencewine listour honeymoondolomite mountainsnice pool
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 434 reviews
Reviewed June 3, 2018

My family recently returned form 5 days at the Castel. We booked the spa package and delighted in a fantastic sampling of yoga, massage, rose baths, sound baths and relaxation. The food was spectacular - delicious and beautifully presented. The rooms were magnificent with spectacular views. Especially important were the great, warm and friendly staff. Ruth, at the front desk, was always kind, patient and helpful to the extreme. Renata, took us on a day long excursion up a skilift to hike, eat, enjoy the grandeur, and best of all, learn about the flowers, herbs and vines of the region - what can be done with them, and which are poisonous. She was open and warm. Giampero, our waiter, was careful with our food choices, explained the cuisine carefully, and recommended a fantastic local Rose that we came to love. Muse Bella, the yogi, was serene. She led us through yoga, breath work, and sound baths with grace and even made the far less limber male of the family able to fully participate without diminishing the experience for the others.
We loved our time there and are planning to return at the end of the summer if possible.
JackGarden

Room Tip: Try room 302
  • Stayed: May 2018, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank traveler1430
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CastelFragsburg, Inhaber at Relais & Chateaux Hotel Castel Fragsburg, responded to this reviewResponded July 7, 2018

Dear Mr Garden,

thank you for taking the time to write this amazing review. We loved having you and your family here at the Fragsburg and it is so great to hear that you enjoyed your time.
We have passed on all your kind words to our staff and we all would love to see you again at the end of summer.

Best regards from the Fragsburg
Family Ortner & team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2018

We returned again, this time with friends and we all thoroughly enjoyed our stay, both in the hotel and the beautiful little town. We will surely come back, maybe a bit later in the season when the weather should be more certain.

  • Stayed: May 2018, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Relais & Chateaux
1  Thank Travelling R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CastelFragsburg, Inhaber at Relais & Chateaux Hotel Castel Fragsburg, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2018

Dear Travelling R,

thank you for having taken the time to write this review. We are very happy that you stayed at Castel Fragsburg again and that you enjoyed your stay. We are looking forward to welcoming you again during your next visit in Merano.

Warmest greetings and all the best
Family Ortner and Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2018 via mobile

Booked very last minute as part of a trip to Bolzano and decided to stay 1 night in Merano.

Loved everything about the hotel - around 20 min from city center lost in the fruit plantations. Very nicely apointements rooms - outside pool and jacuzzi are spotless - spa area very nice too. Everything is tidy and in perfect conditions.

Food was very good too and felt perfectly taken care of even while dining alone at very decent prices.

Breakfast was excellent and so many choices.

Stayed: April 2018, traveled solo
Thank Gilles R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CastelFragsburg, Proprietario at Relais & Chateaux Hotel Castel Fragsburg, responded to this reviewResponded June 14, 2018

Dear Gilles R,

thank you for having taken the time to write this review and for your kind words. We are very happy to have surprised you in a positive way and that you enjoyed your stay at Castel Fragsburg. We hope to welcome you soon again!

Warmest greetings and all the best
Family Ortner and Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2018

A gem of a hotel, clean, comfortable, staff very friendly. Great breakfast on the porch with an amazing view.
Stunning location. Helpful, friendly and professional staff. Fantastic breakfast. Clean and tidy. Great place altogether for a vacation.
We really enjoyed our stay. The room was comfortable and clean and the design of the entire hotel is special. The staff were friendly and helpful. The food was very good and the location was excellent.
The breakfast was lovely and had a wide selection of different fruits, cereals, and bakery goods. The staff were more than helpful...helping us with directions, restaurants and general queries. The location of this hotel is great and the view is breathtaking!
I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone. Hoping to stay there again in the future.

  • Stayed: July 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Noa1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CastelFragsburg, Proprietario at Relais & Chateaux Hotel Castel Fragsburg, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2018

Dear Noa1970

thank you for having taken the time to write this review and for your kind words. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay and that you would recommend a holiday at Castel Fragsburg to anyone! We hope that you will come and visit as again the next time you are in Merano, there is great news (outdoor jacuzzi and wonderful alchemistic spa) waiting for you.

Warmest greetings and all the best
Family Ortner and Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2018

We traveled all over world and especially a lot in Italy and France. So far Castel Fragsburg is definitely in top 3 for us! We were welcomed by the amazing staff as if we were long time friends of the house, just returning for another visit. Our rooms were really cozy and had this charming rustic feeling, but equipped to the highest standards. OK, now we are coming to the best part... THE FOOD + THE VIEW... definitely our favorite from all the hundreds of locations we've stayed at. It's breathtaking - the food and the view. Another cool feature is the nearby waterfall - a nice short walk away.

  • Stayed: June 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vlado_P_Ldn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CastelFragsburg, Inhaber at Relais & Chateaux Hotel Castel Fragsburg, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2018

Dear Vlado_P_Ldn,

thank you so much for this beautiful review.
We are pleased to be part of your top 3 hotels and that you enjoyed our food so much. You are absolutly right about the view, even for as they still are breathtaking.

We hope we can welcome you soon again here at the Castel Fragsburg.

Kind regards
Mr Ortner & Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews