We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning ,luxury and superb service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Relais & Chateaux Hotel Castel Fragsburg
Ranked #2 of 56 Hotels in Merano
Certificate of Excellence
Dunbogan, Australia
Level Contributor
83 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Stunning ,luxury and superb service”
Reviewed December 1, 2012

FragsBurg. This would have to be one of the most luxurious places that we have ever stayed in. It was written in our Italy Drives book and sounded really interesting so we decided to check it out. After an amazing meander up a narrow winding road above the beautiful town of Merano we arrived at the Castel. Every single detail was perfect outside , from the garden layout, the autumn decorations throughout the garden and entry ( carved pumpkins, berries in jars, bowls of colored flowers and foliage) . We went in and enquired and quickly discovered this was an exclusive hotel and the price reflected it. We showed Elisabeth, our lovely receptionist, what the guide had listed the cost bracket to be and she took that to the manager and we ended up paying half price. Our suite overlooked the valley 1000 meters  below, the pictures tell this story, the separate "bath" room was tiled in travertine and the picture window also shared the superb valley view, the snow capped Dolomites rising upwards. The king bed was swathed in Egyptian cotton monogrammed linen and down pillows. Fingertip controls @ the bedside allowed for the electric shutters to be raised or lowered, dimming of the up lighting lining the perimeter of the room in the layered ceiling.  The lounge was hand carved timber as was the chiffoner and writing desk. The shower room and toilet had underfloor heating as well as heated towel rails ( same in bathroom), the bath products included perfumed water. The shower was completely lined in travertine and had a 30cm diameter shower head. 
Our deck overlooked the valley and again the views need to be seen to be appreciated.
The walk in robe had complimentary footwear and robes to wear down to the sauna area (. 4 saunas all different temperatures) we then lounged in the conservatorium sipping any one of a myriad of herbal teas. 
Dinner : The 2hour degastation we feasted on in this Michelin Star restaurant was amazing. We felt like royalty as we were served by Vincento and Paulo the most exquisite meal , imagine mustard ice cream served in glass jar of sesame seeds that accompanied 4different ways of cooking char ( a local fresh water fish) as well as caviar and sea asparagus .  Between entree and, main we were treated to a range of in between dishes all beautifully presented. At 83 euros it was  well worth the experience. A lasting memory. We awoke to clearer skies and much snow had fallen on the mountains surrounding us. Breakfast was included and again , in keeping with the quality of dinner, it was a stunning array of fruit, baked goods, home made jams, mueslis with any accompaniment ( seeds, yoghurts, dried fruits ) any cooked thing you could want, beautiful Italian hams, semi dried tomatoes, olives, grilled zucchini, fish, fresh juices, great cappuccino . We were so fortunate to have stayed here what a special place !

Room Tip: Any room is wonderful that looks over the valley
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pennart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

300 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    255
    34
    8
    1
    2
See reviews for
31
198
11
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2012

We stayed for 4 days in the beautiful hotel and could not have had a better experience. The setting is exquisite, truly peaceful and healing. We were greeted heartily by Gunther who saw that all our needs were met. Every staff member was warm and welcoming and we had NO problems with language, even though we are English speakers. Anna was particularly charming, and our excursion with Tomas into the mountains remains a vivid and exhilarating memory.

Dinners were works of art, with time between courses to enjoy the meal to the fullest. Be sure to get full board so as to take best advantage of the meals offered by Michelin rated chef Alexander Ortner. Spa services were also fantastic and relaxing. Poor could have been a bit warmer, but it is the end of the season.

Do not miss this hidden gem. We cannot wait to return. A heartfelt thanks to the Ortner family for this wonderful experience.

Visited October 2012

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lanvale135
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, UK
Level Contributor
75 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2012

A lovely spot among the rows of vines and apples, perched spectacularly above Merano and the valley. The food (local Tyrolean produce, but with a light, modern touch) fully deserves its Michelin star. But best of all are the staff - probably the best hotel staff we've ever come across. They are professional yet not from bland charm school; informal but not over-familiar; and always smiling and ready to crack a gentle joke when appropriate. They seem to have been encouraged to be themselves. The hotel is small enough to feel cosy and intimate.

Of course, you have to pay for hospitality of this quality. But it's worth it.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnWoodford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2012

We travelled to the Alto Adige to escape the humid heat of the Veneto. The hotel was everything we had been assured it would be, relaxing, comfortable in lovely surroundings and with excellent food. It is worth a detour

Room Tip: The views of the valley are the most breathtaking but the other way is fine too
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tolly04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2012

The Fragsburg is part of the Relais and Chateau chain, which in itself heralds for a certain amount of luxury yet the Fragsburg manages to exceed expectations with a unique combination of location, food and service. The hotel is family run and it shows. There is always someone there to look after you thus creating a wondeful blend of warmth and privacy. The food is fantastic (michelin star) and served in a location very few restaurants can offer.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sohokha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, West Virginia
Level Contributor
126 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2012

We only had one night to stay in this area, and we were lucky to have stayed here. This hotel is perched above the town of Merano, situated on nicely cared for grounds surrounded by apple orchards. The views of the valley below and surrounding mountains were stunning. Game trophies are mounted in the hallways, giving the feel of a hunting lodge, albeit somewhat contemporary. The rooms are larger than average and have balconies to take advantage of the incredible views. The rooms were nice and clean, with turndown service.

We strolled down to the pool area to relax and take more photos before making our way to the decked area off the restaurant, where we enjoyed some wine from the Alto Adige region. The staff was attentive and helped us with selections. Like many in the area, our waiter's native language was German, and he was willing to share some history of the area, its climate and toursim tips.

Dinner was a sensational experience. There is an excellent wine selection, and the wait staff was very helpful with suggestions. There was a multi-course meal that was exceptional. The next morning, the breakfast buffet a real treat, with options galore for health-conscientious eaters, the gluttonous, and everything between.

In little more than 16 hours, it was time to leave, and we wishing we had more time to spend at this unique property. If you are planning a trip through northeast Italy, a stop here will be rewarded. Try to stay long enough to take advantage of everything they have to offer.

Room Tip: Most rooms have a terrace or balcony, but be sure to ask for one that does.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank R S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 2, 2012

the most beautifull place i,ve ever been. a fantastic vieuw ,and the best servants ever.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank elisabethanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Merano
2.0 mi away
Ansitz Plantitscherhof
Ansitz Plantitscherhof
#5 of 56 in Merano
609 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hotel Terme Merano
Hotel Terme Merano
#3 of 56 in Merano
1,238 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hotel Windsor
Hotel Windsor
#4 of 56 in Merano
363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Villa Eden
Villa Eden
#14 of 56 in Merano
115 reviews
1.2 mi away
Miramonti Boutique Hotel
2.4 mi away
Castel Rundegg Hotel
Castel Rundegg Hotel
#12 of 56 in Merano
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Relais & Chateaux Hotel Castel Fragsburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Relais & Chateaux Hotel Castel Fragsburg

Property: Relais & Chateaux Hotel Castel Fragsburg
Address: Via Fragsburger Strasse, 3, 39012, Merano, Italy
Location: Italy > Trentino-Alto Adige > Province of South Tyrol > Merano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Merano
#2 Spa Hotel in Merano
#3 Romantic Hotel in Merano
#5 Family Hotel in Merano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Relais & Chateaux Hotel Castel Fragsburg 5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
High above the valley of Merano – nestling against the sundrenched southern slopes of the mighty Dolomites and commanding spectacular sweeping views over one of Europe’s most enchanting landscapes: this is Castel Fragsburg, a fine 17th century Retreat of noble origins, now the smallest luxury hotel in the region. Castel Fragsburg is privately owned since 1955 by the Ortner family, who continue to give the hotel remarkable character reflecting the unspoilt, vast landscape of the Dolomites and the vineyards and orchards of South Tyrol. As a member of Relais & Châteaux the Castle Fragsburg follows the philosophy ‘a unique home for a unique stay’ and is part of their ‘collection of the world’s finest restaurants and hotels’. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, World Independent Hotel Promotion and HRS so you can book your Relais & Chateaux Hotel Castel Fragsburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castel Fragsburg Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing