We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Relais & Chateaux Hotel Castel Fragsburg
Nearby Hotels
$295
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$150
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Terme Merano(Merano)
$355
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$190
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$207
$186
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$240
$215
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$234
$220
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Adria(Merano)
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Grand Hotel Bellevue(Merano)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Reviews (417)
Filter reviews
417 results
Traveler rating
358
44
9
3
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
358
44
9
3
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshunting lodgeitalian alpsstar michelinpool area is lovelyrustic feelingunique locationgracious stafflocal activitieslovely surroundingsexcellent foodtravelled extensivelyspecial thanksbeautiful propertyunforgettable experiencewine listsurrounding mountainsfeel special
Filter
Updating list...
78 - 83 of 417 reviews
Reviewed April 27, 2012

we visited Fragsburg because of a great LuxuryLink deal and because we'd always wanted to go the the Wine Festival in Merano. I'm embarrassed to say we paid little attention to the specificity of the hotel itself and that was a big mistake....what a find! Tucked way up on the top edge of a monster valley is this hunting lodge/spa/gourmet restaurant. Once we finally climbed the winding road we never wanted to leave.
The food was better each of our five short nights. The spa was relaxing....and those views down the mountain---it was impossible to stop looking. This i is a special place.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank biznews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2011

Upon arrival we knew our choice had been a good one. Check in was extreme friendly and swift. Our many bags and cases were taken from the car to our suite deluxe while we enjoyed a gourmet lunch on the terrace deck overlooking a spectacular mountain- and valley scenery.
Our suite was quaint and comfortable with two small balconys with views to one side of the valley and mountains, on the other side to the apple-orchards and pool. We loved the rooms for their luxurious, rustic feeling and fine colourscheme.
Service was outstanding in every possible situation. The whole has such a relaxed, luxurious somewhat rustic feel that you will feel right at home.
The restaurant is a 1 star Michelin and one choses between the half board dinner option on one side of the restaurant, or the a la card part of the restaurant. Both very well on all evenings. The food outstanding, using local products and finding the right balance between modern and traditional cooking; northern italian alps meeting the french kitchen. Breakfast is a 10+ with some dishes on the menu i have never seen before on a breakfast menu; some very unusual and when ordered they were outstanding.
It is a 10 minute drive down the winding road to the small city of Meran where there is much to see and wonderful shopping to do. If Empress Sissi loved it here, you will too.

We were sad to leave after 4 days and will return without hesitation.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ajpeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2011

Excellent food, rooms and service in the Italian Alps. German spoken here.

We enjoyed the great location, food, wine and atmosphere of this classic legacy hunting lodge. Although located a long distance above and from Merano (Not within walking distance to Merano) we found the location to our liking for the respite it provided.

Staff was exceptional, friendly and courteous.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicholas B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2011

The Hotel is located above Meran with fantastic views of the valley and Mountains. It offers spa treatments (which we did not use) and has a decent size pool, considering the small number of rooms it has. By far the best feature of the hotel is its restaurant, so you should by any means book the half board arrangement. The food is very good and certainly the restaurant deserves the michelin star it was awarded. Our room was in line with expectations. Also, the hotel's staff is very helpful and friendly. For example, we asked for a late check out because we wanted to do one more hiking tour on our last day and were allowed to check out by 5 p.m. So, for those who like good food after a day of hiking, this is an ideal base.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alexander_munich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2011

I was dreaming to visit and to see the Dolomites. The mountains appeared as wonderful as expected. I was there in the summer time, in August, which is I assume not high season for this area.
The Hotel was really outstanding. I was upgraded to one of the biggest Suites with amazing panoramic views over the mountains. The room was very spacious, decorated in traditional tirol style, with mostly wooden elements.
I would also like to tell few words about restaurant, 1 Michelin star and talented chef. We had two options to enjoy the dinner a la carte or to have gourmet set menu which was already included in the room rate. I must admit that the menu included is very nice and there is even no sense to order it A la carte. Huge variety of local wines, perfect riesling. Hotel has nice pool with again panoramic views, and SPA center offering different treatments, but I would recommend to try traditional tirol hay bath. I was turned over the blanket and hay, and was put into the bath which was steamed, unforgettable feelings.
Special thanks to hotel staff, friendly, very helpful, speaking English, Italian and German. Upon departure we were presented a souvenir – traditional glass, but it was not the end. Coming up to our car we found a windscreen cleaned up and a note from GM wishing a safe and pleasant trip.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chuprasov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews