We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Restaurant, Location and Service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Relais & Chateaux Hotel Castel Fragsburg
Ranked #5 of 54 Hotels in Merano
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 28, 2011

The Hotel is located above Meran with fantastic views of the valley and Mountains. It offers spa treatments (which we did not use) and has a decent size pool, considering the small number of rooms it has. By far the best feature of the hotel is its restaurant, so you should by any means book the half board arrangement. The food is very good and certainly the restaurant deserves the michelin star it was awarded. Our room was in line with expectations. Also, the hotel's staff is very helpful and friendly. For example, we asked for a late check out because we wanted to do one more hiking tour on our last day and were allowed to check out by 5 p.m. So, for those who like good food after a day of hiking, this is an ideal base.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alexander_munich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (346)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

76 - 82 of 346 reviews

Reviewed August 14, 2011

I was dreaming to visit and to see the Dolomites. The mountains appeared as wonderful as expected. I was there in the summer time, in August, which is I assume not high season for this area.
The Hotel was really outstanding. I was upgraded to one of the biggest Suites with amazing panoramic views over the mountains. The room was very spacious, decorated in traditional tirol style, with mostly wooden elements.
I would also like to tell few words about restaurant, 1 Michelin star and talented chef. We had two options to enjoy the dinner a la carte or to have gourmet set menu which was already included in the room rate. I must admit that the menu included is very nice and there is even no sense to order it A la carte. Huge variety of local wines, perfect riesling. Hotel has nice pool with again panoramic views, and SPA center offering different treatments, but I would recommend to try traditional tirol hay bath. I was turned over the blanket and hay, and was put into the bath which was steamed, unforgettable feelings.
Special thanks to hotel staff, friendly, very helpful, speaking English, Italian and German. Upon departure we were presented a souvenir – traditional glass, but it was not the end. Coming up to our car we found a windscreen cleaned up and a note from GM wishing a safe and pleasant trip.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chuprasov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2011

we spent 10 days at castel fragsberg back in 2000 on our honeymoon , and stayed again in 2005 , and in may just gone, this has to be for us one of the best places to stay in Europe ,
top class service , the food is second to none , and the views from your room ,and the swimming pool are magnificent ,
there is so much to do and see in the area , and lots of healthy walking to reduce those pounds put on over dinner.
yes castel fragsberg is a fantastic place to stay indeed.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank adrian747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2011

We only stayed for one night, but would have loved to stay longer. The staff at Castel Fragsburg is friendly and efficient. The suite was divine. It was very roomy and clean. the bathroom was also very spacious. We had a fantastic view on the valley and Merano. The food at dinner was superb, the breakfast is copious and varied. When we left we also found that someone had cleaned the windshield of the car , which was a nice surprise, and an indicator of the level of service given at the Castel Fragsburg. We have no negative remarks. Bravo Castel Fragsburg. We will be back! :-))

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nickybeegee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2011

I recently stayed in Castel Fragsburg and it was my first visit to this hotel. I had stayed once before in Schloss Labers which is a castle hotel nearby, but wanted to give Castel Fragsburg a try. I was very glad that I made the decision to book my stay in this nice hotel. The former Jagdschloss "hunting castle" is perched way up on the mountain and has a wonderful view of the valley below. I stayed in room number 12 and it was very comfortable and had a nice balcony with a great view. The beds were also very comfortable. The hotel has a nice pool and I spent one afternoon napping by the pool in a tranquil garden setting. The price of the room included a five star gourmet meal and it was once of the best meals that I have ever eaten. Breakfast was also good. The service was also spot on. In Meran be sure to visit the gardens of Schloss Trautmannsdorf which are very beautiful and worth a visit if you like fine gardens and horticulture. Meran is very nice and the fusion of Austrian and Italien culture makes the place very enchanting. It all used to belong to Austria before WWI and German is the primary language of the region.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eibsee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2011

Only had dinner at restaurant, so can't comment on hotel.

From the perfect ingredients (oysters, herbs, meat, fish, desserts - all top quality and extremely fresh) to the preparation and decoration one beautiful sensation of the senses.

Service is superb, and as attentive and response as we like while still giving enough room to the guests - something I tend to miss at 2+ Michelin/16+ G.M. restaurants.

The restaurant - a hunting lodge/ castle is not exactly our preferred style of architecture, but the view from the terrace into the Meran valley is gorgeous, as was the drive up to the restaurant. We understand why the guests of the hotel are so flamboyant about it, and can't rule out staying there sometime in the future.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SwissFreqTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2011

Let me be upfront. I did not spend a night at this hotel. So I'll keep my review brief. I drove here because the restaurant was recommended to me. As I approached the castel I was a bit skeptical. The castle is decorated with antlers on the outside. I told my friend, "This looks like it is out of Bugs Bunny." Quite wrong. The inside is warm and cozy (though the dead animal theme continues -- in fairness as it was a hunting lodge). The views from the hotel are beautiful.

And the restaurant fantastic! It's a 1-star Michelin restaurant. I should mention I am vegetarian, and even though there is a lot of game on the menu they came up with a spectacular dinner for me. I have not eaten as well often (as it turns out, Merano has a number of superb restaurants -- see my other reviews).

Price for dinner was 140 Euros for two people including a bottle wine and grapa. With tip we made it 160. 80 Euros or 120 dollars a person is pricey but for a top dining experiencing. Such a bargain compared to New York, and such great food and services. (We opted not to have dessert, but it wasn't needed as their platter of petit fours is generous and delicious. I they also have very nice mid-courses.)

I am tempted, if I can, to stay at this hotel, or at least make a trip back to Merano just for a dinner here.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Service
Thank bombaybeauty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Merano hotels
2.6 mi away
Hotel Terme Merano
Hotel Terme Merano
#3 of 54 in Merano
1,356 reviews
2.7 mi away
Boutique & Design Hotel ImperialArt
1.8 mi away
Villa Eden Leading Park Retreat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Castel Rundegg Hotel
Castel Rundegg Hotel
#12 of 54 in Merano
176 reviews
3 mi away
City Hotel Merano
City Hotel Merano
#8 of 54 in Merano
404 reviews
2.4 mi away
Park Hotel Mignon & Spa
Park Hotel Mignon & Spa
#15 of 54 in Merano
135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Relais & Chateaux Hotel Castel Fragsburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Relais & Chateaux Hotel Castel Fragsburg

Address: Via Fragsburger Strasse, 3, 39012, Merano, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Trentino-Alto Adige > Province of South Tyrol > Merano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Merano
#3 Romantic Hotel in Merano
#4 Luxury Hotel in Merano
Price Range: $412 - $659 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Relais & Chateaux Hotel Castel Fragsburg 5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
High above the valley of Merano – nestling against the sundrenched southern slopes of the mighty Dolomites and commanding spectacular sweeping views over one of Europe’s most enchanting landscapes: this is Castel Fragsburg, a fine 17th century Retreat of noble origins, now the smallest luxury hotel in the region. Castel Fragsburg is privately owned since 1955 by the Ortner family, who continue to give the hotel remarkable character reflecting the unspoilt, vast landscape of the Dolomites and the vineyards and orchards of South Tyrol. As a member of Relais & Châteaux the Castle Fragsburg follows the philosophy ‘a unique home for a unique stay’ and is part of their ‘collection of the world’s finest restaurants and hotels’. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Relais & Chateaux Hotel Castel Fragsburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castel Fragsburg Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing