We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“top notch food and service - and not a bit pretentious!”

Sissi - Andrea Fenoglio
Ranked #1 of 188 Restaurants in Merano
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $43 - $81
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Aachen, Germany
Level Contributor
93 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“top notch food and service – and not a bit pretentious!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2012

when sissi was recommended to us by our hotel for our dinner, we were completely unaware that it is michelin star rated – we only realized when we arrived there. the restaurant that we had originally in mind was closed during our stay. at first, we were not completely over the moon when we saw the michelin certificate on the wall, as we were not in the mood for a long dinner in a stiff atmosphere. but what a lucky instance this turned out to be – we had a fabulous evening at sissi:

- the food, wine and service were just excellent and great value for money
- the atmosphere was just lovely, not in the least bit pretentious.
- the staff were highly knowledgable and the service impeccable.
- the food was top notch – modern and creative but not too playful. we enjoyed every bit(e) from starter to dessert.
- the interior is not modern or chic, more that of a family restaurant – which adds to the nice, unpretentious atmosphere that is prevalent
- the chef, andrea fenoglio, is very approachable. he came to our table to greet us and enquire about our evening and was ready to answer all our questions about the food and the restaurant's history.

all in all, sissi is highly recommended. another weekend in merano is worth it for a visit to this restaurant alone!

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PushingTheSenses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

752 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    564
    117
    32
    22
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
Level Contributor
36 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Absolutely fabulous!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2012

Yet again amazing food and wine with classic ambiance... looking forward to next visit! Expensive but excellent value for money - truely not pretentious! Once is not enough...

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank poppy585
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague
Level Contributor
22 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Fantastic experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2011

We visited 4 Michelin restaurants during our trip to Sudtirol. Zum Lowen, Castel Fragsburg, Zur Rose and Sissi. Sissi was by far the best in terms of food. As to its interior, it is more a family restaurant, than a luxurious one.

But the food is amazing, probably 2-star, as it was clearly a league above the others. My starter was nothing special (some kind of local soup with pasta and truffles), I would definitely recommend "starters degustation" course consisting of 4 different startes. That was amazing. Same applies to "desserts degustation" course. These degustation courses are just a few euros more expensive than regular ones and offer huge variety and a lot to taste. My main course (duck breasts) was the best meal I have ever had. Simply perfect.

Hopefully I will return.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MartianV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Offida, Italy
Level Contributor
62 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Best in Merano!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2011

I chose this restaurant because it was the top rated in Trip Advisor and as is often the case, the reviewers are spot on. Mr. Fenoglio is a master chef and a great host, making each guest feel special and never seeming rushed if you have some questions about the meal. The sources for the food products are perfectly vetted and then the food is perfectly prepared. Wines by the list are meant to compliment the multi course meal which is priced very fairly, as are the wine prices. I gave a full star rating for value, because, for me, it was truly a bargain. The service is impeccable. It is worth a visit to Merano just to eat here!

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ddsoffida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
36 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Fabulous food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2011

Amazing food served in a relaxed but classic setting. Food delicious and wonderfully presented. The service and head 'waitress' is perfect- calm, understated but perfection! Second visit and looking forward to next time.Expensive but fabulous value for money. Words can't describe this incredible restaurant or the approachability of Andrea.:) Looking forward to our next visit

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank poppy585
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sissi - Andrea Fenoglio also viewed

Merano, Province of South Tyrol
Merano, Province of South Tyrol
 
Merano, Province of South Tyrol
Merano, Province of South Tyrol
 
Merano, Province of South Tyrol
Merano, Province of South Tyrol
 

Been to Sissi - Andrea Fenoglio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing