We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel - Great Value For Money”
Review of Salgart Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Salgart Hotel
Ranked #32 of 54 Hotels in Merano
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Other reviews have really covered everything about this hotel but I have to leave another excellent review



When we booked this in the British winter the fact that the hotel did not have air conditioning and was a 15 min walk to centre did not seem a problem HOWEVER in the 35 degree heat we had the reality was somewhat different - just bear this in mind !

I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel

Tip - book direct with the hotel for the offer of 7 nights for the price of 6 (half board)

Room Tip: Request a room with a balcony overlooking the pool and mountains Room 105 recommended
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank marxbros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (67)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

26 - 32 of 67 reviews

Reviewed September 24, 2012

My wife and I go there every year. She likes it a lot, and I love it.
Merano, in Northern Italy, is also part-Austrian, and has a sub-Mediterranean climate; 300 days of sunshine per year. It's an unusally beautiful town in the Alpine foothills, surrounded by vineyards, apple groves and green mountains .
Hotel Salgart is a 15-minute walk from the centre, in a quiet spot which looks out across the valley to the hillsides in the west. There's a low-key, polite attention to guests, which blossoms, as days pass, into a thoroughly engaging friendliness.
Meals are buffet-style,ample,and nourishing, even for a huge appetite after a day in the outdoors. Rooms are simple, spotless and bright.
We go on two hoiidays per year now - one to somewhere new, and one to the Salgart and Merano, because it's hard to stay away.

Room Tip: Rooms on the front have a fine view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank tim5212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2011

We discovered this Alp region of Italy known as South Tyrol via the Inghams brochure, it is a largely German speaking region, full of great mountains and hills with good weather, walks and a lovely spa town from the Edwardian period being known as Merano.
Friendly locals largely of Auastrian origins, Italy got area after First World War, still locals want partition!
Whilst we were there, it was 34 to 36 centrigrade so too hot but normally very mild weather, area known for apples and wine.
Lots of attractions, the local travel card costs 22 euros per week and you can travel for miles on buses and trains but not cable cars.

Room Tip: We paid for a balcony but most rooms have them anyway, if you want cool room ,get one on northside
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank ChelmsfordPhilm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2009

We stayed at the Salgart Hotel for 7 nights as part of a 2 Centre holiday in South Tyrol, part of a British Package Holiday. The hotel is a family run, 3 star establishment which is popular with German and Austrian holiday makers. It is located in a semi rural area about 1 Km from the centre of Merano, which is a 20 minute walk through pleasant three lined lanes among the former villas and houses built by the rich and famous when Merano first developed as a Spa resort. The hotel is not directly served by the excellent Merano bus network, with nearest bus stops being some 10 minutes wlak away. The hotel is adjacent to fields of grapes and the modern apple industry. Merano is part of South Tyrol, which was formally part of Austria until 1918, and has a mix of German and Italian culture. This hotel refelcts the German part of the culture.

Our room was a basic twin, with continental type beds and own Shower/WC/Bidet. Most rooms have a balcony, but ours didn't. The hotel has an excellent outdoor swimming pool and patio, where we spent most time relaxing between trips to the town and the local mountains and attractions.

We were on half board arrangements, which consisted of a full continental buffet breakfast and a 4 course fixed menu dinner, at 6.30 p.m. sharp! A Gala dinner and a BBQ dinner gave variation. The food was always well prepared and plentiful, and was in the Tyrolian tradition.

Overall we had a pleasant stay, and the welcoming and personal attention by the owning family and their was a key contribution.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Stephen N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: prenotate per tempo..
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ivan l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: in estate scegliete le stanze a nord evitando il sole pomeridiano di quelle lato piscina anche se da...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank ISOLINA64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: June 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank pppp_xxxx_qqqq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Merano hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Gardenresidence Zea Curtis
0.8 mi away
Hotel Sonnenburg
Hotel Sonnenburg
#30 of 54 in Merano
47 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hotel Elisabeth
Hotel Elisabeth
#43 of 54 in Merano
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Garni Tannerhof
Hotel Garni Tannerhof
#38 of 54 in Merano
55 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Palma
Hotel Palma
#42 of 54 in Merano
14 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ansitz Plantitscherhof
Ansitz Plantitscherhof
#7 of 54 in Merano
629 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Salgart Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Salgart Hotel

Address: Via Santa Caterina 31 | 39012 Merano, 39012, Merano, Italy
Location: Italy > Trentino-Alto Adige > Province of South Tyrol > Merano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 54 Hotels in Merano
Price Range: $144 - $254 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Salgart Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Salgart Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing