We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing place - great stay!!!”
Review of Haus Silbernagl

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Castelrotto
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Haus Silbernagl
Ranked #18 of 34 Hotels in Castelrotto
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Amazing place - great stay!!!”
Reviewed August 20, 2013

We stayed four nights in August 2013. No wonder this hotel is #1 in the Trip Advisor listings. The place is fantastic, the rooms great, the views great, the food great and best of all, the Host Petra (and daughter and husband) is/are great.

We spent two weeks in South Tirol and I can say without reservation that Castelrotto is probably the best place to stay if you enjoy bucolic scenery (just picture postcard perfect) and amazing walks with great public transportation.

Petra has been in the hosting business since she was a child and is an amazing host, providing a treasure trove of information about the local walks and places to see.
All in all a great stay and we plan to return to her house next time we are in the area.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    177
    12
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
51
100
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2013

My wife and I stayed for three nights at Haus Silbernagl during our honeymoon. Castelrotto is quiet and quaint, and perfectly located for outdoor exploring in this Tyrolean part of Italy. The hotel itself is clean and comfortable, though not especially recently upgraded or design-oriented. The location is near the center of town, but among many other houses and inns, so there's a certain feeling of density in the neighborhood. Any sense from the photographs that Haus Silbernagl is both central and somewhat removed from other buildings is an illusion.

Many reviews here mention Petra's notable hospitality. We can confirm that she is welcoming and a formidable source of information, but I found her a bit overbearing and almost meddling in the mornings. We had a decent idea of the activities that we wanted to do in the area; sometimes it seemed Petra wanted to impose her own thoughts! In all, I found her too much of a presence at breakfast and in our plans.

Breakfast was adequate. Our stay was pleasant.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PJLHC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sammamish, Washington
Level Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2013

We stayed at Haus Silbernagel for 3 nights the first part of August! Petra, the Hostess is absolutely wonderful! Each morning she greets you with a wonderful breakfast and then helps plan out your day of hiking according to our ability and how we feel. She is a real treasure! Her place is fantastic, clean and very Tyrolean! Unbelievable views from our room! I can't wait to come back and stay longer! As far as I can tell, Petra speaks German, Italian and English very well.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marilyn J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Silbernagel for three days with three young children. The hotel is very pleasantly situated near the center of Castelrotto. The town itself is a nice active community. There are nice, unpretentious and good places to eat diner.
Everybody speaks both German and Italian, as the Austrian roots can still be felt.
Petra is indeed very strong and helpfull, who knows the appropriate walk ways for any party. We really enjoyed our walks up on the Seiser Alm and our swim in the mountain lake.
The hotelrooms were clean and well maintained. We looked forward to the local delicasies in the morning. Highly recommended!

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Fam_Korver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orchards, Washington
Level Contributor
55 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2013

The #1 rating on TripAdvisor is well deserved. Hostess Petra Silbernagl is great. She says her English is poor, but we communicated very effectively and thoroughly enjoyed our two night stay. Wish it could have been longer. Breakfast was hearty and lots of friendly travelers with whom to share plans and tales of adventure. Petra suggested a hike in the Seiser Alm (aka Alpe di Siusi), and combination bus and gondola transport, insisting "you will like!" She was right, we liked!

Room was very comfortable with a large bathroom, balcony, and peek-a-boo view of the mountains. Hotel was very easy to find from Petra's written directions from the bus station. She even held our room without a deposit booked several months in advance. The bus ride from Bolzano was a white knuckle experience. Be sure to sit on the left side out of Bolzano for a thrill, and beware oncoming buses.

Castelrotto / Kastleruth is a perfect base for exploring the Dolomites, with a supermarket and several nice German restaurants, all conveniently located within walking distance from the Haus.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed July 14, 2013

Haus Silbernagl is a very clean, well located, reasonably priced B&B for a base for hiking on the Alpe di Siusi. Breakfast was lavish and the pool was a welcome respite after a day on the mountain. But the treasure is Frau Silbernagl. An avid hiker herself, she enthusiastically tailors a day for you taking into account your interests and abilities. I'll be back!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winter Haven, Florida
Level Contributor
269 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2013

We stayed at the Sibernagl along with some friends for three nights. It is in a perfect location as a jumping off spot for great hikes, and there are plenty available for all levels. The hotel was small in the typical Tyrolian style. It is located only a block or so from the middle of town, yet it was very quiet. The views from our room and hotel were fantastic. One of the things that made it so special was Petra and her daughter. They were accommodating, and helpful, if a little loud and brash at times. English was spoken, as well as German, which was good for us. Breakfast was very good. Petra made us bacon and eggs to order, home made jam and cake and some good honey. Parking is a bit tight, but we managed. The place was clean and in order. We thoroughly enjoyed it.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bandmanjp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Castelrotto hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Cavallino d'Oro
Hotel Cavallino d'Oro
#1 of 34 in Castelrotto
360 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Villa Kastelruth
Hotel Villa Kastelruth
#10 of 34 in Castelrotto
59 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Savoy
Hotel Savoy
#19 of 34 in Castelrotto
144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
ABINEA Dolomiti Romantic SPA Hotel
3.1 mi away
Hotel Pinei Nature & Spirit
Hotel Pinei Nature & Spirit
#5 of 34 in Castelrotto
260 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel al Lupo
Hotel al Lupo
#11 of 34 in Castelrotto
138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Haus Silbernagl? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Haus Silbernagl

Property: Haus Silbernagl
Address: Puflatschstreet 1, 39040 Castelrotto, Italy
Location: Italy > Trentino-Alto Adige > Province of South Tyrol > Castelrotto
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Castelrotto
#2 Romantic Hotel in Castelrotto
#2 Family Hotel in Castelrotto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
Haus Silbernagl Castelrotto
Haus Silbernagl Hotel Castelrotto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing