We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Choice!”
Review of Haus Silbernagl

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Castelrotto
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Haus Silbernagl
Ranked #18 of 34 Hotels in Castelrotto
Sun City West, AZ
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Excellent Choice!”
Reviewed September 29, 2012

We stayed here for 7 nights and found the accommodations to be excellent with just a two very minor negatives. We had a room with an excellent view from our balcony. Everything is spotless and Petra is a charming and engaging hostess. She provides a wealth of information for hikes in the Alpe di Suisi and surrounding area. Breakfast area is bright and cheerful. We did not use the pool so cannot comment on that feature. The minor negatives would be the hard pillows and the breakfast assortment. It was exactly the same every morning, and after 7 mornings, gets quite monotonous. The town of Castelrotto is picture-perfect and the bus transportation is great. We would recommend Restaurant Bachler, where there is music on Monday and Thursday evenings.

Room Tip: All rooms have balconies except one small room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DesertDwellerToo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    177
    12
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
51
100
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Concord, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Quiet, clean, warm, friendly.

Two of the best nights we spent in Europe this summer. Fabulous breakfast in the morning to fuel our days hiking on the mountain.

Will will return next year to hike again in the Dolomites and will attempt to stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jon J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2012

We just returned from a 10 day trip to Northern Italy, and by far our best experience was in Castelrotto and Haus Silbernagle! Petra is the perfect hostess! She greeted us upon our arrival, gave us a tour of her quaint B&B, and answered all our questions. Breakfast was the best to be found in Italy where a croissant and coffee are typical. Not at Haus Silbernagl! Breakfast consisted of fresh breads, yogurt, fruit, cereal, cold cuts, cheese, and coffee. A perfect way to start off a day of hiking in the Dolomites. We hope to return someday to experience winter and skiing, and will without a doubt stay with Petra in her beautiful home!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LALPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2012

The village of Castelrotto is spectacular and there is no place better to enjoy it than while staying at Haus Silbernagl. Our room was spacious including a balcony with doors opening onto a beautiful view of the mountains. Petra is a wonderful hostess and because we were only staying one night; she promised not to rub salt in our wounds by telling us how much there is to do around Castelrotto (and therefore how much we'd miss!). We will definitely be back and we'll definitely stay at Haus Silbernagl.

Pete and Cath

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 110degrees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalmar, Sweden
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2012

The rave reviews of this guesthouse seem to be all true. The room we were in was spacious, the location in a lovely mountain village perfect for travelling, and the knowledge of Frau Silbernagl very useful. We want to come back, if possible tomorrow.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Family_from_Kalmar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2012

First, let me start off by saying the host, Petra, couldn't be more friendly and accommodating. We were traveling with our 1 year old daughter and Petra insisted they clean/sanitize her bottles which they did each morning. The location is perfect and our top floor, spacious room afforded us a great view of the Dolomites. The beds were comfortable and the bathroom was spacious too. It was very easy to relax at Haus Silbernagl! Haus Silbernagl is conveniently located if you wanted to walk a short distance into Castelrotto's city center or one can start their treks/hikes right from Petra's place one one of the numerous trails in the area. Petra is a subject matter expert on where to go and what to do and knows the trails extremely well. We highly recommend Haus Silbernagl if you're headed to the Dolomites. The only reason we cannot give our stay 5 out of 5 is because of the steep wireless internet fee and the breakfast. Outside of the eggs made to order, the breakfast was very average compared to other B&Bs we've stayed at in the past throughout Germany, Austria, Switzerland, and Italy. Although the breakfast was somewhat disappointing, Petra is one of the best hosts we've ever come across.

Room Tip: Ask for the top floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Northwoods4Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2012

We had seven wonderful days staying at Haus Silbernagl in May 2012. As others have indicated Petra is full of local knowledge and helpful advice about the best walks for differing weather conditions. We had a spacious room on the upper level with views to the mountains. We particularly enjoyed walking in the Suis de Siusi area. If you are travelling by public transport it may be worthwhile getting a Bolzano card which gives access to museums and the transport system including travel from Bolen/Bolzano to Castelrotto/Kastelruth and beyond. We purchased a 7 day card and used it to visit a number of Museums including the Iceman exhibit. We also used it to ride the cable car and train above Bolzano as well as traveling around the area on the bus system so we really found it excellent value. At the time of our visit the cable cars were not running so we also used the bus to access the start of the more elevated walking routes. The restricted internet access (relatively expensive time charging) may be a negative for international travellers but I think Petra might be reviewing this for next season.

Room Tip: We enjoyed our upper floor room with views towards the mountains. You will however have more stairs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SMMAust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Castelrotto hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Cavallino d'Oro
Hotel Cavallino d'Oro
#1 of 34 in Castelrotto
367 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Villa Kastelruth
Hotel Villa Kastelruth
#13 of 34 in Castelrotto
62 reviews
0.3 mi away
ABINEA Dolomiti Romantic SPA Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Hotel Pinei Nature & Spirit
Hotel Pinei Nature & Spirit
#5 of 34 in Castelrotto
265 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Mayr
Hotel Mayr
#12 of 34 in Castelrotto
201 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Savoy
Hotel Savoy
#17 of 34 in Castelrotto
144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Haus Silbernagl? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Haus Silbernagl

Property: Haus Silbernagl
Address: Puflatschstreet 1, 39040 Castelrotto, Italy
Location: Italy > Trentino-Alto Adige > Province of South Tyrol > Castelrotto
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Castelrotto
#2 Family Hotel in Castelrotto
#2 Romantic Hotel in Castelrotto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
Haus Silbernagl Castelrotto
Haus Silbernagl Hotel Castelrotto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing