We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful B&B in Castelrotto/Kastelruth”
Review of Residence Mayr

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Castelrotto
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Residence Mayr
Ranked #41 of 59 Hotels in Castelrotto
Reviewed July 16, 2012

First, let me start off by saying the host, Petra, couldn't be more friendly and accommodating. We were traveling with our 1 year old daughter and Petra insisted they clean/sanitize her bottles which they did each morning. The location is perfect and our top floor, spacious room afforded us a great view of the Dolomites. The beds were comfortable and the bathroom was spacious too. It was very easy to relax at Haus Silbernagl! Haus Silbernagl is conveniently located if you wanted to walk a short distance into Castelrotto's city center or one can start their treks/hikes right from Petra's place one one of the numerous trails in the area. Petra is a subject matter expert on where to go and what to do and knows the trails extremely well. We highly recommend Haus Silbernagl if you're headed to the Dolomites. The only reason we cannot give our stay 5 out of 5 is because of the steep wireless internet fee and the breakfast. Outside of the eggs made to order, the breakfast was very average compared to other B&Bs we've stayed at in the past throughout Germany, Austria, Switzerland, and Italy. Although the breakfast was somewhat disappointing, Petra is one of the best hosts we've ever come across.

Room Tip: Ask for the top floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Northwoods4Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (197)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

58 - 64 of 197 reviews

Reviewed July 15, 2012

We had seven wonderful days staying at Haus Silbernagl in May 2012. As others have indicated Petra is full of local knowledge and helpful advice about the best walks for differing weather conditions. We had a spacious room on the upper level with views to the mountains. We particularly enjoyed walking in the Suis de Siusi area. If you are travelling by public transport it may be worthwhile getting a Bolzano card which gives access to museums and the transport system including travel from Bolen/Bolzano to Castelrotto/Kastelruth and beyond. We purchased a 7 day card and used it to visit a number of Museums including the Iceman exhibit. We also used it to ride the cable car and train above Bolzano as well as traveling around the area on the bus system so we really found it excellent value. At the time of our visit the cable cars were not running so we also used the bus to access the start of the more elevated walking routes. The restricted internet access (relatively expensive time charging) may be a negative for international travellers but I think Petra might be reviewing this for next season.

Room Tip: We enjoyed our upper floor room with views towards the mountains. You will however have more stairs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SMMAust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2012

Castelrotto is a lovely town in the Dolomites in Italy in a beautiful area where all the towns are named in both German and Italian. This made for an interesting stay since my husband is part German and I am 100% Italian. There we stayed at Haus Silbernagl where we had the best time out of the 10 places we visited in the Alps! It was a gorgeous location with a delicious breakfast consisting of a buffet and eggs to order. Petra, our hostess, was at breakfast daily to visit and to go from table to table answering questions in German, Italian, English, and we think French also. She would help with problems and give suggestions for daily hikes and adventures with maps she provided to help. Our room was spacious and beautiful with a double sink in the WC and a balcony with a gorgeous view. There was a heated indoor pool, free parking, and lovely landscaped gardens with chaises and beautiful flowers and trees where you could relax. It was in a great location...you'd be in town in about 5 minutes or less. One night she recommended a fabulous restaurant where I had the best Cordon Bleu in my life and my husband bragged about his delicious steak. For the Alps, the prices for our stay and the food were amazingly low.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank justgo4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2012

Petra greeted us like an old friend, welcome after a long day of travel. The rooms were spacious, the pool was wonderful, and the breakfast was the best of our trip. Petra pointed us to her favorite hikes and restaurants, and her enthusiasm was contagious. Loved Haus Silbernagl!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2012

We stayed for two nights and really enjoyed our stay. The room was spacious and so clean! Petra was very helpful in assisting us with our day trips. Wonderful breakfast! Will stay here again!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris4446154943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2012

What can you say about Haus Silbernagl and its hostess, Petra---not enough! We were only in Castelrotto for 2 days, and it rained all day on one of the days, and we still loved it. Petra reminded me a of young Carol Channing (in a good way!). She met us at the door of her beautiful home, and the hospitality never stopped. After a tour of the house (including the indoor swimming pool), she pointed out walking trails along the Alpe di Siusi that she thought we might like and other places that she thought we would enjoy. She also had good recommendations for restaurants.

We had a room on the top floor, quite a few stairs for the non-hardy, but worth it for the beautiful Dolomite views out of both windows. The room itself was spacious with a balcony. Breakfast was very pleasant with a small buffet and some of Petra's homemade jams and marmalades. Petra also had a refrigerator set up with wine, beer and other beverages that guests could pick up at any time. All that was required was signing your name for future billing.

As I mentioned we had one very rainy day that was totally unsuited for sightseeing or hiking. We chose to use it as an R & R day and read in the small lounge area and only ventured out for meals. I had planned to use the pool, but was so comfortable reading that I never got around to it.

Petra may be Castelrotto's biggest cheerleader. She clearly loves her house and the area, and it shows. Haus Silbernagl will not be forgotten.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Afroglet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2012

View from balcony is amazing. Petra is a wonderful person and helped us fall in love with Castelrotto. She is like your own personal enthusiastic tourist information. Room was beautiful. Bathroom was gorgeous and huge for Europe. Breakfast is included in price and is delicious and wonderful. She does charge for Wifi but it just helped us relax and enjoy Castelrotto. Amazing place to stay. Incredible price for the services offered to you. Best place we stayed on our 19 day trip to Italy.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rachel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Castelrotto hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Cavallino d'Oro
Hotel Cavallino d'Oro
#7 of 59 in Castelrotto
384 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Savoy
Hotel Savoy
#35 of 59 in Castelrotto
154 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel al Lupo
Hotel al Lupo
#26 of 59 in Castelrotto
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hotel Ortler
Hotel Ortler
#38 of 59 in Castelrotto
66 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Mayr
Hotel Mayr
#23 of 59 in Castelrotto
210 reviews
1.7 mi away
Alpine Boutique Villa Gabriela
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Mayr? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Mayr

Address: Puflatschstreet 1, 39040, Castelrotto, Italy (Formerly Haus Silbernagl)
Location: Italy > Trentino-Alto Adige > Province of South Tyrol > Castelrotto
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Castelrotto
#4 Romantic Hotel in Castelrotto
#5 Family Hotel in Castelrotto
Price Range: $40 - $47 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
Haus Silbernagl Castelrotto
Haus Silbernagl Hotel Castelrotto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing