We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Breakfast!”
Review of Hotel al Lupo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel al Lupo
Ranked #11 of 34 Hotels in Castelrotto
Certificate of Excellence
Edmonds, Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best Breakfast!”
Reviewed August 4, 2014

My husband and. I travelled to nine different cities throughout Italy and hands down this hotel had the best breakfast! There was an assortment of food that would meet anyone's pallet. They had eggs, meats, cheeses, fruit, yogurt, cereal, breads, juices, tea, and fabulous coffee! Hotel Wolf has a friendly and knowledgeable staff. The rooms are large, very nice with cabin like wood finishes. We really like that this hotel uses the environmental concept with regards to bath towels. If you put them on the floor they will replace with fresh, clean towels and if you hang them up that indicates to the cleaning staff that we will use the towel again. We used our towels again!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cyndie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    42
    6
    0
    0
See reviews for
28
83
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
East Moline, Illinois
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2014

We journeyed by rail to Bolzano, and walked two blocks to the Bolzano bus station for convenient every half-hour bus service to Castelrotto (Kastelruth), which is northeast of Bolzano. There is a bus stop by the train station, but we found afternoon out-bound buses were already full with locals and luggage-carrying travelers unless you walked a little further to the bus station itself. The hotel owners staff the reception desk and are very helpful with information about things to do in the area. The hotel is a 2-minute wallk from the Castelrotto bus station plaza in city center. All of the restaurant suggestions we were given for evening dinners were excellent. Their breakfasts featured a wide assortment of foods, such as scrambled eggs, soft & hard boiled eggs to order, yogurts, assorted breads, cheeses & meats, juice, coffee, tea, and hot chocolate, In the summer, there is an evening self-service beer and wine area on the ground floor for guests to record consumption on an honor billing system ledger. Another great feature of the hotel is a laundry room with a 7 Euro token washer and free dryer, provided laundry detergent, steam iron, ironing board and drying racks. There is convenient bus service to the cable car serving as swift access to the World Heritage Area Alpe Di Siusi / Seiser Alm alpine meadows for partial day, day, and multi-day hike excursions geared for both families and experienced trekers. You can enjoy relatively flat walks or choose chairlifts and paths that lead to higher elevations and overnight huts with meal service. We recommend spending a minimum of four nights in this area to enjoy the world-class mountain scenery and community culture. We hope to return to this scenic area and this hotel again in the near future!

Room Tip: A family of four with two adults and two children can request a 2+2 room that has two bedrooms with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reston, Virginia
Level Contributor
65 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2014

My husband and I have stayed at this hotel nine years in a row. We love hiking on the mountains, and this hotel is a perfect base for exploring all that the region has to offer. Rooms are generous in size and super clean; the breakfast is bountiful with cheeses, meats, breads, cereals, eggs, and all the excellent coffee and hot milk you can hold! Owners/staff are unfailingly helpful with advice about transportation, hikes, local events, restaurants, and the weather. English, German, and Italian languages. Laundry facilities for a small fee and free parking, too. And all at a bargain price considering the superb location and friendly service. We can't wait to get back there!

Room Tip: We like the back balcony view of the mountains but the bus terminal is nearby. If motor sounds dist...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CyndieSue2499
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Level Contributor
40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2014

Quality hotel, right in the center of town, and few steps to ski bus stop. Couple of ski shops down the street with rental equipment. Free outdoor parking, underground available. Several restaurants within few minutes walk.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pawel T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2014

Very nice hotel in the center of Castelrotto. You are close to everything in this cozy town. The beds were good and soft. Our room was large, clean and quiet.. We ate in the breakfast room two days and it was very good. Plenty of food items with lots of variety. Parking was secure on property, just out the back door. There was an elevator which was nice as not all hotels in Italy have one. I would love to return to Castelrotto and stay here!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bill R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonita Springs, Florida
Level Contributor
63 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2013

Beautiful hotel just steps from the bus station. Super friendly staff. We used this hotel as our base for exploring the Dolomites. The room was huge, with two double beds with duvets rather than top sheets. Not helpful when it's 80+ degrees. Our room had a lovely balcony overlooking the street below. We enjoyed sitting out there drinking wine and people watching. We bought bread at the bakery and cheese, olives and speck at the grocery store and had a feast in our room which also included a large dining table. Unfortunately, the street below was noisy until about midnight. At 3 am the church bells rang out and when I asked about it the following morning, the receptionist said it was a mistake. She said the bells never ring at that time of night and they woke her family up, too. We had a very filling breakfast in the quaint breakfast room including coffee with steamed milk.

Room Tip: Choose a room facing the parking lot if you require quiet. Not as picturesque, though
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelEuropeGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2013

The owners were so helpful! They spoke English very well and they had lots of information for us about things to do in Castelrotto. The hotel was very clean. Our room was spacious, with a balcony, a dining nook, a seating area, and a nice, clean, large bathroom. The breakfast was really nice! The cost on checkout was lower than quoted in my reservation, which was an excellent price as it was! We were very impressed and would highly recommend this hotel; it is a fantastic value!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Spyderbyder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Castelrotto hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Cavallino d'Oro
Hotel Cavallino d'Oro
#1 of 34 in Castelrotto
360 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Villa Kastelruth
Hotel Villa Kastelruth
#10 of 34 in Castelrotto
59 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Savoy
Hotel Savoy
#19 of 34 in Castelrotto
144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Hotel Pinei Nature & Spirit
Hotel Pinei Nature & Spirit
#5 of 34 in Castelrotto
260 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Zum Turm/Alla Torre
Hotel Zum Turm/Alla Torre
#22 of 34 in Castelrotto
63 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Madonna
Hotel Madonna
#9 of 34 in Castelrotto
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel al Lupo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel al Lupo

Property: Hotel al Lupo
Address: Via Oswald von Wolkenstein 5, 39040 Castelrotto, Italy
Location: Italy > Trentino-Alto Adige > Province of South Tyrol > Castelrotto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Castelrotto
#16 Family Hotel in Castelrotto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel al Lupo 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel ,,Zum Wolf" is a historical place in the centre of the village Kastelruth in South Tyrol. You will pass your holidays near the Dolomites, which are meant as UNESCO World Nature Heritage. The southtyrolean mountains offer the best possibility for every kind of sport. We promise You that You won't regret this holiday experience. A big breakfast buffet is waiting for You every morning, to charge Your energy for the whole day. The breakfast constist of many differtent types of food. We are very proud to announce that there is also a biolounge, a patisserie, a coffee- and teabar. The hotel offers at least a bar with an open chimney. The rooms are all very comforable. In everyone is a en suite bathroom with a shower, a telephone, a televisor with satellite reception, a safe, a balcony with a stunning view, a minibar and a tiled stove available. We are looking forward to see You at our hotel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel al Lupo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zum Wolf Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing