We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We Love the Cavallino and Castelrotto, too!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Cavallino d'Oro
Ranked #1 of 34 Hotels in Castelrotto
Certificate of Excellence
Saint Paul
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“We Love the Cavallino and Castelrotto, too!”
Reviewed September 13, 2009

If you love the mountains and hiking in one of the most beautiful areas we've visited, you'll love the Castelrotto area. And, if you love small hotels with caring, personal service and attention to detail, you won't go wrong with the Cavallino.

I took my wife on a surprise trip for her 50th birthday. We had stayed at the Cavallino eight years earlier, and both of us recalled it as one of the nicest hotel experiences in one of the most beautiful areas we had visited in five previous trips to various European countries. We had originally planned to be at the Cavallino for two days on that first trip -- and ended up extending to six days. We only left then because we ran out of days.

We started this trip in Venice for a couple of days, but I planned our itinerary so we would be in Castelrotto for the big birthday. Again, we planned to be there four days and ended up staying six. On my wife's big day, based on one casual mention, we found champagne and flowers waiting in the room. What a nice surprise!

The staff is warm and attentive -- it feels more like a family than a group of employees. And, we felt like members of the family by the time we left! Both of us are already ready to go back again soon. At this rate, we're not going to see the rest of the world... we'll just keep coming back to Castelrotto and the Cavallino.

You'll love Castelrotto if you love being in the mountains, but this is a small town in a rural area. There's a typical small town nightlife, i.e., very limited. Also, don't go to Castelrotto to experience your probable stereotype of Italy. This area feels, looks, and sounds like Austria. It's not called South Tyrol for nothing. German is the first language, the culture is Tyrolean, the bells ring ring exactly at the quarter hour (they never ring on time in the rest of Italy), and the food is definitely not what you'd expect in Italy (except for gelatto). We found one restaurant that served pasta Italian style and visited it regularly.

These aren't negatives for us, but they were things we didn't expect the first time we visited. Now, we see this as part of our "total Italy" experience. We got a dose of the more typical Italian experience in Venice and a couple of additional days spent in Greve in Chianti. This great diversity, along with the warmth of the people, makes Italy an even more desirable destination for us.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank IMDRA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

359 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    289
    59
    10
    0
    1
See reviews for
72
197
14
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
76 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2009

The staff at the Cavallino is incredibly helpful--they set up a riding expedition for the family--as well as providing great directions to the Alpe di Suise and other locations like the local pool, etc. I heartily recommend the half board option; dinner at the hotel is great. We ate there three nights and there was good variety and all six people in our party were pleased.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank S D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia, USA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2009

The Cavallino d'oro is the perfect hotel in an idyllic town. The hotel is situated in the old center adjacent to the square, church, and campanile. The atmosphere is superb, with amazing views to be had in all directions. Parking was a minutes walk from the hotel, and 5 minutes walking took you out into a scene from the Sound of Music. Incredibly attentive and accomodating staff. We were traveling as 2 families of 4 and the staff booked us the basement spa for 2 hours of exclusive use. The kids loved the sauna, steam room and showers, while the adults rested after the drive and hikes. The restauarnt was excellent with regional cuisine of the Tyrol, and after dinner we adjourned to the 'library' to watch DVDs and have drinks. The rooms are large, bright, and impeccably clean. The overall feeling is staying in a small inn with family. We will definitely return when we can spend more tim eexploring the area.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jayhawk1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utah, USA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2009

We have travelled from Utah twice to hike and enjoy Alpi di Siusi. Both times we have been warmly welcomed at Cavallino d'Oro. The comfortable rooms and the friendly staff make it a great place to enjoy the beautiful Dolomites. We would gladly return again.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank bkim1554
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
242 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2009

We were a little hessitant at first about booking our 5-night stay in early June at the Cavallino because we're not fans of fairy-tale like hotels. But we were GLAD we did and wished that we could have stayed longer. We booked one of their larger rooms - room 24 - featured on their web site with the green 4 poster bed and matching cupboards. The room was spacious and the bathroom was modern. That room had a large balcony, perhaps the biggest on that side of the building, with partial views (blocked by roofs) of the mountains. What we appreciated was the information leaflets - information of the region, bus timetables etc - that Susanne leaves in the cubby hole where you deposit your keys. That's really useful given that the Tourist Office just across the square from the hotel isn't of much help. Another BIG plus is the free use of the washing machine and clothes dryer in the basement.

The service at the restaurant was perhaps too good. The head waiter Marco kept returning every five minutes to take our wine order, which was rather annoying after the third time. We felt as if we were being rushed into our dinner. He pretty much left us alone the rest of the night, which was really fine by us.The atmosphere was formal - as with other four star hotels - lacking the warmth presented by the rest of the hotel staff. Maybe it was this formality that made the dining experience less pleasant for us. We initially agreed to have 2 nights with half board but changed our minds after the first dinner. The food was mediocre but good value if you choose to have half board. If you prefer a more casual setting, want to sample different types of wine (by half bottle, by the glass) and let your hair down after a long day's hike, we recommend Saal Stuben, a street away from the Despar supermarket.

Another drawback is Castelrotto is under construction! A new parking lot, an old folks' home and some other construction is uinderway currently. Nevermind the bells (which we hardly actually hear in the night). The noise from the construction will wake you up promptly at 7. I reckon, from the huge cranes and the bare minimum foundation that's in place, the construction may last for sometime to come. The good thing is - shops open at 8 am!

As for Castelrotto itself, the town IS small. You can run around it in 5 minutes. There's a supermarket, with an excellent wine collection of the region upstairs, a couple of shoe shops, a bakery, a few cafes/pizza joints. There's a weekly produce market on Friday - where the farmers bring their produce to sell. It consists of about 2 stalls! But if you like to just sit at the square and people watch or just take slow strolls along the quiet streets at night, this may be a place for you. It was a close call between Ortisei and Castelrotto for us. But Castelrotto wins hands down for its charm, village-like setting. Ortisei or St. Ulrich, is larger, more touristy BUT very convenient for hikers because of its 3 lifts. The cable car near Seis, accessible by a free bus from Castelrotto, will only get you to Alpe di Suisi and if that's all you want to see, it's fine. There are several hikes you can do there but the views are about the same after a while.

Overall, this was a pleasant stay and a welcome change from the usual business hotels that we have grown so used to on our other trips.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SG_Travelbugs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2009

We spent some wonderful days, nice service, the food was excellent, the locations is perfect, we had a relaxing walkings on the several paths , the bedroom was very comfortable, nothign to complain, we recommend to our friends.

  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SwindonJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san francisco, ca
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2008

This is a charming small hotel located perfectly on the main square of Castlerotto. The service, advise and food were all better than expected for the price. it is not "fancy" but it is clean and quiet and in design and style reflects its locality. We stayed for two nights and we would stay there again.
Castlerotto is an attractive city set in a scenic location. We were there on Sunday AM and saw the town' s people in their procession into the main church. We took the ski lift up the mountain to the hiking trails which are not steep and are easy to follow.

  • Stayed September 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank maruth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castelrotto
0.3 mi away
ABINEA Dolomiti Romantic SPA Hotel
3.1 mi away
Hotel Pinei Nature & Spirit
Hotel Pinei Nature & Spirit
#5 of 34 in Castelrotto
259 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Villa Kastelruth
Hotel Villa Kastelruth
#10 of 34 in Castelrotto
59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hotel Chalet Tianes
Hotel Chalet Tianes
#6 of 34 in Castelrotto
278 reviews
23.9 mi away
Steindls Boutiquehotel
Steindls Boutiquehotel
#1 of 18 in Vipiteno
225 reviews
3.2 mi away
Alpina Dolomites
Alpina Dolomites
#2 of 25 in Alpe di Siusi
420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cavallino d'Oro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cavallino d'Oro

Property: Hotel Cavallino d'Oro
Address: Piazza Kraus, 39040 Castelrotto, Italy
Location: Italy > Trentino-Alto Adige > Province of South Tyrol > Castelrotto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Castelrotto
#1 Luxury Hotel in Castelrotto
#3 Best Value Hotel in Castelrotto
#3 Family Hotel in Castelrotto
#3 Romantic Hotel in Castelrotto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Cavallino d'Oro 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the old village square of Castelrotto (Kastelruth) in the heart of the Dolomite Mountains, you will discover a small hotel with a 700-year tradition of hospitality. The "Cavallino", which was first mentioned in the village chronicles in 1326, has been carefully renovated. New garage with reserved place extra large. Perfect starting point for excursions in summer and winter sports into the Dolomiti Superski area winter. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Cavallino d'Oro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Cavallino d Oro
Cavallino d Oro Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing