We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always excellent, thank you!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Cavallino d'Oro
Ranked #1 of 34 Hotels in Castelrotto
Certificate of Excellence
Cranleigh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Always excellent, thank you!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2014 via mobile

I have just returned from my third yearly trip to beautiful Castelrotto and enjoyed another great stay at Hotel Cavallino. I was part of a large group and the welcome and quality of food provided by Marco, Stefan and the team was again excellent.

It is a real home from home and always incredibly relaxing.

I am already looking forward to next year!

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
4 Thank Nick L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

355 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    286
    58
    10
    0
    1
See reviews for
72
193
14
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
King's Lynn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2014

My wife and I spent 4 days in Cavallino d'Oro with 2 of our children and their partners for a short skiing trip to celebrate a family birthday. This is our third visit to this very comfortable hotel, and once again we were looked after extremely well by Susanne, Stefan and their staff.
The hotel is full of character, in the historic centre of this Tyrolean village, and very convenient to drive to from Verona airport. We parked the hire car in the hotel spaces in the adjacent underground car park and used the very efficient local bus service to the skiing gondola station.
The hotel provides a very warm and comfortable place to unwind after a day of skiing, and the breakfasts and dinners are first class.
As occasionally happens, we inadvertently left some items in our room when we left. They have been sent on to us very promptly - an excellent service.
We are looking forward to returning in the near future.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Martin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2014

We've just returned from a ski trip to the Dolomites with a group of 11 people. What an excellent find this hotel was. The room was pretty with a good bathroom and plenty of storage space. The room cleaning was very efficient and took place every morning while we were at breakfast. I would recommend a room at the back as people in the ones on the square found the church bells loud in the morning.
The deal include breakfast and dinner. The breakfasts had plenty of choice with eggs,cheese and meat on offer as well as a variety of breads and cakes. The evening meals were excellent. Five courses including a pasta course and a meat course. The staff were very obliging at accommodating one of the group who was a vegetarian. All the dining room staff were helpful and pleasant. I would agree with some reviewers that the meal was a little rushed but I thought the staff were most pleasant.
The reception desk was always staffed by friendly and helpful staff who smiled unfailingly and couldn't have been more helpful.
As a hotel to use for a skiing centre it was very good. There is a boot room next door for storage and the bus station to the slopes was round the corner. The ski lifts were then a 10 minute ride away.
I cannot recommend this hotel too highly. Excellent value and a great experience.

Room Tip: Get a room at the back to avoid the church bells
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jennifer C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2014

A memorable place!

-sweet and smiley staff
-a beautiful view of the mountains from our lovely Tyrolean room
-waking up to cowbells in the distance
-a short walk from the regional bus stop and the church wishing well
-allowed us to store our luggage overnight while we hiked to a refugio
-clean and very well maintained sauna/steam rooms (make a reservation with the desk clerk)
-let us wash a week's worth of dirty clothing (thank you!)

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank inocenteabroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pleasant Hill, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2014

Gayle and I had a wonderful stay of 3 nights here. Cavallino d'Oro is right on the Main Square (Piazza Kraus) and features a welcoming Tirolean character and superb service by Stefan, Suzanne, and their very attentive staff. This is one of those review situations where Gayle and I could add a 6th Star.

It's easy to be charmed by Castelrotto/Kastelruth, which has an appealing village character, mountains in the background, a traffic free center, centuries of history, friendly and engaging locals, and small town family feel. That last point further emphasized at the nearby central bus stop that was across the street from a school. In the morning when we were heading out, parents were walking their kids to school, while in the late afternoon when we returned, our public bus dropped us off and immediately loaded up with lots of happy children as a school bus to take that group home.

The center of Village action is Piazza Kraus, that includes a cool bell tower (with Chapel), a Catholic Church that seems plain on the outside, but is amazingly appointed and spiritual on the inside, and the Cavallino d'Oro. There were many highlights during our stay including:

- A nicely appointed room, with lots of space to move around or hang out, a good strong hot shower, and comfortable beds.

- An exceptionally good restaurant. We had Dinner there one night on their half-board plan, which was not only Great, but a great value for the money. The breakfasts were also excellent and the Dining Room itself almost begs you to stay a little bit longer (especially at our table that had the alpine view).

- A comfortable lounge area where Gayle and I would sit in comfortable chairs, with a drink from the bar, and hang out. A good Wi-Fi signal is available throughout the Hotel, but it almost seemed like a shame to use it in such relaxing and romantic circumstances.

- Free laundry machines in the basement. Unfortunately, we didn't get the chance to use the steam room and sauna just across the hall.

- Great Advice. The Hotel has lots of available literature on tourist choices in the area and Hotel staff were very accommodating with various inquiries. I witnessed one teenage guest who had a question about leather bags being sold as part of the Thursday morning market on the Square. The person at the front desk accompanied her out to several of the booths and helped her decide on a choice. I was interested in buying a cow bell, which I thought was the perfect and authentic Alpe di Siusi/Seiser Alm momento. Stefan was quick to suggest the local Coop, which had a wide variety of these genuine items.

I'm not sure when Gayle and I would have the next chance to visit the South Tyrol of Italy. Maybe we should come during the Winter Holidays featuring the Castelrotto Christmas Market, the appearance of Krampus, or a performance by the Kastelruther Spatzen folk music group? If that happens (God willing), we'll surely be staying at the Cavallino d'Oro.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Eric B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2013

This is our third trip to the Cavallino d'Oro (the first for Christmas) and i am sure it won't be our last. We discovered it 6 years ago through the Karen Brown web site and it remains our favorite hotel in Europe. Stephan and Susanne are so welcoming, and Monica is still smiling in the dining room. There is no snow in the village this year (though enough on Alpe di Suisi) but the atmosphere is still lovely and Christmassy, and the Christmas Eve celebrations (and seven course dinner!) in the hotel are wonderful.

Room Tip: Ask for 24!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GeorgiaCT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
75 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2013

We were booked in a Standard Double room with Half board

The hotel is right in the centre of the old town, on the square next to the bell tower. It is a beautifully decorated alpine hotel and the rooms are furnished comfortably with pretty painted, timber fittings.

On arrival you should drive up Via Dolomiti and take the right turn that will lead you into the town square. You can leave your bags and they will direct you to the large underground parking garage behind the hotel. The hotel has their own , secure area within the parking station. From the garage you can use a lift to bring you up to the street near the hotel.

The room was a reasonable size with room for a table plus two chairs and wardrobe and a small TV stand. There was no fridge in the room.

The bathroom was very clean and fresh, with a large one-person bath and excellent lighting of the vanity and a reasonable amount of bench space on the vanity.

We had requested ( and were given) a high floor with mountain views. We had a fine view up to the peaks and there was a table and chairs on the balcony.

There was a nice large wardrobe but not a lot of room for suitcases.

We had booked half-board. The dinner menu had 3 choices for 4 courses plus a salad bar. We enjoyed a pleasant meal with friendly service and all the staff are friendly and helpful and speak excellent English.

On arrival we were given a wonderful selection of brochures for activities and sights in the area. Breakfast was the usual fruits, bread rolls, pastries and cheeses. It was perfectly adequate but there was no toaster , so no fresh hot toast. The coffee was excellent.

The bed was very comfortable but the church bells will wake you in the morning. It's not a bad way to be woken.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Castelrotto hotels
0.3 mi away
ABINEA Dolomiti Romantic SPA Hotel
3.1 mi away
Hotel Pinei Nature & Spirit
Hotel Pinei Nature & Spirit
#5 of 34 in Castelrotto
4.0 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Savoy
Hotel Savoy
#18 of 34 in Castelrotto
4.0 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hotel Chalet Tianes
Hotel Chalet Tianes
#6 of 34 in Castelrotto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 273 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel al Lupo
Hotel al Lupo
#11 of 34 in Castelrotto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Alpenflora
Hotel Alpenflora
#7 of 34 in Castelrotto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cavallino d'Oro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cavallino d'Oro

Property: Hotel Cavallino d'Oro
Address: Piazza Kraus, 39040 Castelrotto, Italy
Location: Italy > Trentino-Alto Adige > Province of South Tyrol > Castelrotto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Castelrotto
#1 Spa Hotel in Castelrotto
#3 Romantic Hotel in Castelrotto
#3 Family Hotel in Castelrotto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Cavallino d'Oro 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the old village square of Castelrotto (Kastelruth) in the heart of the Dolomite Mountains, you will discover a small hotel with a 700-year tradition of hospitality. The "Cavallino", which was first mentioned in the village chronicles in 1326, has been carefully renovated. New garage with reserved place extra large. Perfect starting point for excursions in summer and winter sports into the Dolomiti Superski area winter. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Studio Scivoletto S.r.l. , Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Cavallino d'Oro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Cavallino d Oro
Cavallino d Oro Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing