We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hotel in the mountains....” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Pinei Nature & Spirit

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Pinei Nature & Spirit
Ranked #5 of 34 Hotels in Castelrotto
Certificate of Excellence
Verona, Italy
2 reviews
“Great Hotel in the mountains....”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013

We arrived on the motorcyle in the rain and everything was perfect. The family awaiting us, the lovely Italian girl who could speak no Italian in her typical dress gave us the choice of room. We chose the Panorama - fantastic! We had our merenda with a delicous sacher torte, did the spa - turkish bath, sauna all in the nude, great pool and then rest and then DINNER!!! Never ending fanastic DINNER! The food out of this world and the presentation very nice....we left the next day under the snow capped mountains and VERY COLD, but with the lovely woolen blanket around us, we managed to do the trip to Verona.

Room Tip: panaorama is worth it!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jennykv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    112
    92
    26
    11
    1
See reviews for
104
69
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Traunstein
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013

This hotel was wonderful, it has amazing views from the terrace. The service was excellent, the food was excellent and the pool and spa area had a really relaxing atmosphere. It is great for winter sports in winter or walking other times of the year. We will definitely go again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heidelberg, Germany
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013

We spent one week this winter (2013) in the hotel. The room was spacious and clean. Food was good and plenty, even though not perfect for a vegetarian like myself. Spa area was very relaxing, sauna little small. Kids felt at home and personnel was very friendly. As the hotel is outside town you have pros and cons: very beautiful surroundings, the kids could enjoy the hills next to the hotel for sledging, ice skating, snow... But you have to use the car or the hotel shuttle to get to the resort (10mins away, so no big deal). Definitively a recommendation!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank atg99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephan M, Familie Mahlknecht at Hotel Pinei Nature & Spirit, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Dear atg99,
thank you for your review.

We are happy that you enjoyed your stay at Hotel Pinei.
Maybe we can welcome you another time at our place - this would be very nice.

With best regards
Family Mahlknecht and the Pinei staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
51 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2011

We stayed at this hotel in mid March 2011 and we were very satisfied with the premises and the food offered.
The room was large, with hardwood floors and everything was new and clean. The hotel itself is also very clean and the whole ambient gives you a good feeling that you are in the mountains. I used the SPA once in the morning and I really enjoyed it as there was no one there. It felt really relaxing sitting by the window in the sun and reading a paper.

The food was outstanding considering that not that many Italian hotels in that area offer very large buffet breakfasts or dinners. The choice of items was excellent and everything was fresh and tasty. The servers were also friendly.

The ski deposit room was very convenient as well as the shuttle to the lifts. Sometimes we had to wait an extra 10-15 minutes for the other shuttle to come, but that was not an issue.

The hotel is not located in the town and it is quite far away to walk to the nearest town. You will need to have the car to move around. There are many pretty villages around to visit and many local food stores and restaurants were you can have a variety of traditional dishes and drinks.

If I happen to go skiing again in this area, this hotel would be my first choice.

Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Globalina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brussels
Level Contributor
21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2011

We stayed there during 10 days on December 2010.

This hotel is located on the top of the "Panider Sattel" hill. It has been recently upgraded to 4 stars but the services and food worth no more than 3 stars...

1) We booked a "double room pinei". When we arrived, the reserved room was outrageously small. We paid an extra in order to get a bigger and very decent room with a nice view and a balcony.

2) SPA area: the swimming pool was nice but with a too high level of chlorine! The sauna and turkish bath were OK.

3) Their "SKI SHUTTLE" is a shared taxi-bus which is working for two hotels at the same time. Not convienient at all! Indeed, there is always some battles between the guests to get first in the skibus + the waiting time is longer than the average waiting time that you can expect for a 4 stars ski hotel.

4) The level of services is poor. The staff is very limited and you meet the same waitresses from the morning to the evening... Furthermore, the internet connection encountered a lot of technical problems...

5) The very bad point: the restaurant. The salad bar was OK but the food was average to disgusting. One evening we even received a sad chicken leg with fries and sweet and sour sauce coming directly from a can! Definitely not a fine dining experience.

CCL: The hotel itself is not ugly and the SPA area was OK. If they change their cook and their food policy, maybe it will worth a winter stay...

Room Tip: If you are a gourmet... Find some other places
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank natalieluc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castelrotto
3.1 mi away
Hotel Cavallino d'Oro
Hotel Cavallino d'Oro
#1 of 34 in Castelrotto
5.0 of 5 bubbles 353 reviews
2.8 mi away
ABINEA Dolomiti Romantic SPA Hotel
1.6 mi away
Hotel Chalet Tianes
Hotel Chalet Tianes
#6 of 34 in Castelrotto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Hotel Villa Kastelruth
Hotel Villa Kastelruth
#11 of 34 in Castelrotto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mountain Spa Resort Hotel Albion
2.9 mi away
Hotel Savoy
Hotel Savoy
#18 of 34 in Castelrotto
4.0 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Pinei Nature & Spirit? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Pinei Nature & Spirit

Property: Hotel Pinei Nature & Spirit
Address: Frazione San Michele 37/1, 39040 Castelrotto, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Trentino-Alto Adige > Province of South Tyrol > Castelrotto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 34 Hotels in Castelrotto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Pinei Nature & Spirit 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exclusive panoramic location, best natural setting! Peace and silence surrounded by woods and meadows. Perfect starting point for outdoor activities both in Winter and Summer. Hotel Pinei is located at 1400 meters above sea level, half-way between two villages: Castelrotto, at the feet of Alpe di Siusi, and Ortisei, the gem of Val Gardena. Both areas can be reached in ten minutes drive, also by public transport (bus stop 100 meters away, free tickets). Hotel Pinei offers a large free parking, a restaurant open every day for lunch too, a wellness center (indoor swimming pool, whirlpool, sauna, Turkish bath, fitness room) with massages and beauty treatments. For children: a playground in our park, two playrooms. Internet wi-fi available for free in common areas and private rooms. We suggest our guests the ¾-board: delicious buffet breakfast; afternoon snack; dinner with salad and starter buffet, three-course-menu. Our rooms, in modern Alpine style, have a balcony or terrace (except for single rooms), satellite flat-screen TV, telephone, safe, mini-fridge, private bathroom with hair-dryer and cosmetic mirror. Towels, bathrobes, slippers and sauna towels are available for free. In winter, free shuttle service to Ortisei: there you can take the gondola-ropeway to Alpe di Siusi (ski-beginners, winter walking tour), the gondola-ropeway and cable-car to Seceda (Sellaronda), or the cable-railway to Rasciesa (winter walking tour, sledging). Ski room, ice rink and ice skates are available for free too. In Summer, you can use our mountain-bikes and trekking backpacks for free; trekking poles for rent for a small fee. You can relax on our panoramic terrace, enjoy the sun in our garden, prepare a barbeque or play table-tennis with your friends. Some walking trails start exactly from our hotel. You can also take part to the activities and guided hiking-tours of Val Gardena Active Programme (Ortisei) for free or with a discount price. We look forward to welcoming you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Pinei Nature & Spirit reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing