We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful location”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Magdalener Hof

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Magdalener Hof
Ranked #8 of 26 Hotels in Bolzano
Certificate of Excellence
McLean, Virginia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

We arrived late and were greeted by a very helpful and friendly man at the front desk. He gave us a lovely room with a view and some recommendations about town and choices where to eat since they were closed that evening. Everything was wonderful!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view. It's lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jkhastings1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

305 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    140
    36
    13
    8
See reviews for
74
115
3
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2013 via mobile

We stayed one night at this hotel. The view from our room was amazing with green mountains all around. The room was very clean and specious.
The bed was horrible, you felt each spring of the bed and the pillows were thin an hard.
The hotel is pretty far from the town so take that into account. They have free parking garage which is great if you comd with a car.
The staff was very helpful and nice.
The wifi didnt work at all not in the lobby nor in the room as was promised.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roni A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Landscheid, Germany
Level Contributor
34 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013

We stayed the the Magdalener Hof in Bolzano in mid-August. The grounds are absolutely breathtaking: a view of downtown Bolzano from up on a hillside, surrounded by vineyards, with a pool and lounging area that begs to be enjoyed all day long.

The hotel restaurant provided one of the best dinners I have EVER had. World-class cooking, fine wine, and delicious desserts. Just be sure to make reservations!

The staff was friendly and helpful.

My only complaint is that the hotel was a bit noisy at night with trains from the tracks a mile or two away and the constant hum of an air conditioning unit. Also, I could not get the wifi to work on my devices, which I have read as complaints from other guests. The price was also a bit higher than we usually pay, but the extra amenities were worth the higher price.

Overall, we had a great experience and would likely stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson AZ
Level Contributor
217 reviews
123 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

We booked a deluxe room, and were accommodated in their brand-new building. We were on the second floor with a lovely balcony overlooking the mountains. The bathroom looks to be state of the art, but in reality, there was no place to put toiletries while showering, and every time you turned on the bathroom sink, you had water all over the mirrored glass wall. We had plenty of storage room, and a nice working station for the computer. The television, though, escaped us. There are something like 3,000 channels to go through -- but only a handful are actually available to watch. There was no list, and the only way you could find anything (which we mostly couldn't) was trial and error. With such a lovely new facility, they need to do better on this! Restaurant was outstanding!

Room Tip: The comfort rooms are definitely a plus!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HappytrailsTucsonAZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013

The staff were friendly and the room a good size. However I was in old part of hotel Nd free wifi did not work in my room making it a waste of effort. There were no amenities in bathroom and when I asked about having laundry done I was told they did not offer this service. The breakfast buffet was good and staff very friendly. Reception and bar staff were very happy to answer questions. Please make sure free wifi works if going to offer it and laundry service is standard for a hotel that claims to be at this level.

Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank rhysjarvis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia
Level Contributor
80 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2012

Hotel Magdalener Hof and Bolzano were both a really pleasant surprise. We were upgraded to a suite in the new section of the hotel, which was really lovely and beautifully appointed. The only downside to the room was the fact that the bathroom has a clear window that looks straight out into the lounge, and the courtyard via the mirror, and there is absolutely nowhere to hang towels! A monir issue, however, in a lovely property. The staff, in particular Weske (hope that's spelt right!), were really friendly and helpful, and the restaurant served a great dinner and breakfast. The centre of the old town is about a 15 minute walk, the cable car (worth doing) leaves from just down the bottom of the hill, and there is excellent hiking from the hotel into the mountains. I can highly recommend the town and the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank diikon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Genova
Level Contributor
75 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2012 via mobile

Staff pleasant bartender Ranko very service minded and pleasant. He made all feel welcome. Room with view but no amenities or English speaking tv stations. Gym uncleaned basically dirty and part of cooks charging locker. This area needs attention. Pool nice, pool towels great, restaurant for dinner very good, breakfast the usual Italian fare with fresh fruits.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank SoloGenova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bolzano hotels
1.0 mi away
Stadt Hotel Citta
Stadt Hotel Citta
#3 of 26 in Bolzano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,100 reviews
3.0 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Bolzano
1.0 mi away
Hotel Greif
Hotel Greif
#1 of 26 in Bolzano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Hotel Post Gries
Hotel Post Gries
#6 of 26 in Bolzano
4.0 of 5 bubbles 361 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Eberle
Hotel Eberle
#13 of 26 in Bolzano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
0.6 mi away
Scala Stiegl Hotel
Scala Stiegl Hotel
#9 of 26 in Bolzano
4.0 of 5 bubbles 359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Magdalener Hof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magdalener Hof

Property: Magdalener Hof
Address: Rentscher Strasse 48, 39100 Bolzano, Italy
Location: Italy > Trentino-Alto Adige > Province of South Tyrol > Bolzano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Bolzano
#8 Business Hotel in Bolzano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Magdalener Hof 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Magdalener Hof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Magdalener Hof Bolzano
Magdalener Hof Hotel Bolzano

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing