We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A brilliant hotel in a great secluded location!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Hanny

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Hanny
Ranked #7 of 26 Hotels in Bolzano
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“A brilliant hotel in a great secluded location!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2013

We stayed here for four nights at we wanted to be close to our friends who lived in Trento and close to the mountains where we were hiking and via ferrata-ing. It was a perfect base which gives easy access to the mountains but allowed us to go out at night in the city.

The hotel is gorgeous, well kept, up to date and clean and the family who run it couldn't have been more friendly. They spoke excellent English and were extremely helpful from giving directions to serving us breakfast.

The free bike service, the breakfasts, the view from our room, the meal at night were all brilliant and I am really struggling to find fault with this hotel. If I had to say one negative thing it would be that it's quite far from the centre of Bolzano and up a steep hill. So if you aren't a fan of walking then you might want to rethink. However for us we liked the location and the walk/cylce back made us feel better about working off our meal on the way home.

All in all a fantastic hotel and a great holiday. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: 203 had an amazing view of the vineyards. Try and get it if possible!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DevonVsPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    121
    41
    3
    2
    1
See reviews for
34
71
5
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Carlisle, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

Stayed four nights in family room. Vey clean, friendly helpful owners and staff. We sacrificed a view of the valley for a bigger room to house all four of us, but still saw a church and vineyards. Love the promenade along the Talfer river to exercise or get into town by bike or foot. Also able to walk to runkelstein castle and st. Genesis cable car. Hotel is a steep walk up from the main road, not far, but the last portion is a butt kicker for the unfit to walk up. Reward is ordering a tall cold forst beer from the tap and sitting on the terrace overlooking the pretty valley and up at the mountains, vineyards. This part of Bolzano is beautiful, unlike the modern part of the city. Do not miss a trip up to the rittern /renon man top. GORGEOUS!! We bought a cable car day pass. We walked from hanny to cable car for renon, near magdalene church, about 20 mins on foot then cable car up, train to final stop and hiked to Maria Saale, ate lunch at a geranium-bedecked chalet perched on a rolling meadow while gazing at the Dolomites, saw the "pyramid" rock formations along the way, fed cute goats, and then took the train back to cable car. Hotel loaned us their trail map and frommer's guide. Our kids per-teen and teen even had to admit it was stunning. Highly recommend this and also the ice man mummy museum. We did runkelstein (cute, underwhelming for the steep walk) and San genesio, which is another butt kicking hike in places and pretty, but after Rittner it was the lesser of the two. Rittner far surpassed genesio. Two thumbs up for hotel hanny. Loved their homemade jams. Only ate dinner there one night. Owner is a chef. It was great but we like variety, so we hit the vogele in town and some others. Vogele was our favorite. Hotel also does outstanding cappuccino.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Amy494
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upminster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013

Excellent hotel, run by friendly welcoming owners who care.

We stayed for 3 nights, rooms were very clean and spacious, with great views over the valley.

Just outside Bolzano itself, it is a pleasant 15-20 min walk into town along the park, beside the river.

Breakfast was plentiful and fresh and i would recommend having dinner here rather than in town as it was excellent and some of the best food we had eaten during a 3 week trip around Italy.

Will definitely stay here again

Room Tip: rooms at the front overlooking the valley
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liamj66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
des moines, IA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2013

My husband and I, along with two of my siblings and their spouses recently spent two glorious nights at the Hotel Hanny. We all had rooms with a balcony facing the most breathtaking, picture postcard setting imaginable. We arrived in Bolzano by train from Florence, and the six of us were able to get a six passenger van to haul us and our luggage up the steep approach to the Hotel. We had heard from other reviews about the hill, so we were prepared to find the taxi. We stayed in two lovely and quaint hotels in the cities of Rome and Florence previous to our arrival. After stepping in the front door, we were once again pleasantly surprised by this hotel. It was clean, modern, and hosted by a lovely couple. This town was to be our resting spot before heading off to Munich for 4 days. We were not disappointed. The town below was a lovely scenic walk downhill. We did manage to walk back uphill, but it might be too difficult for some. Karl was the most amazing cook. We had not planned to eat both meals at the hotel, but after the first, we absolutely had too. Best food I have ever had anywhere while traveling! We hated to leave after only two nights. When we called the taxi to go back to the train, it was too small, so Margot offered to drive us. Best accommodations ever! If we ever go back to Italy, they will have our business for sure.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the floor with balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank barista53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2013

I stayed here for ten days in June 2012 with my husband, 1 year old and 5 week old baby. The place is beautiful, the surroundings idyllic, the staff very friendly and extremely accommodating, the food fantastic, the rooms smart and immaculately cleaned daily. The hill up to the hotel is hard in the heat but a stairway to paradise nonetheless. Travelling with two babies could have been stressful, but i felt very welcome and safe here. Best breakfast I've ever had. I highly recommend Hotel Hanny.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jillismae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san francisco
Level Contributor
79 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2013

Hotel Hanny, is perched on the side of a vineyard-stepped, and castle-dotted valley just beyond the manicured town of Bolzano. It was our second visit to this confortable and well run hotel. Our room was modern and commanded views of the entire area. The restaurant here is excellent, and this time we elected to eat in town.

Thanks to our host family Riegler, we had access to bikes and footpaths for three active and relaxing days in which to intimately connect to the community.

We were able to bike to dinner in the center of town where German and Italian dishes compliment each other. White asparagus, fresh trout, risottos, delicious brown breads, frosty pilsner beers and white wines. Of course, fantastic high-fiber breakfast buffets braced us for days of brisk activity.

An active mountain sports culture is visible everywhere. An array of extraordinary sports facilities and public spaces have been built along the river and promenade that covers the length of Bolzano. Someone is paying attention here in planning a city that works.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the valley afford a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelblogger1221
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La California, Italy
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

The ideal spot if you want to be outside the noise and bustle of Bolzano. An easy and beautiful walk to Bolzano along a designated pedestrian path, or borrow on of the hotel bicycles. The hotel is ideally located with a wonderful view of the valley and surrounding mountains. The Rieglers give a very warm welcome and are very helpful in planning visits to the area. The rooms are very comfortable and clean. The food is excellent. The only downside is no wireless internet service in the rooms, but it is available in the lobby.

Room Tip: Request a room with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Doug B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bolzano hotels
3.1 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Bolzano
0.9 mi away
Stadt Hotel Citta
Stadt Hotel Citta
#3 of 26 in Bolzano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,102 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Greif
Hotel Greif
#1 of 26 in Bolzano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hotel Post Gries
Hotel Post Gries
#6 of 26 in Bolzano
4.0 of 5 bubbles 361 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Eberle
Hotel Eberle
#13 of 26 in Bolzano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
2.6 mi away
Gasthof Kohlern
Gasthof Kohlern
#14 of 26 in Bolzano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Hanny? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hanny

Property: Hotel Hanny
Address: Via San Pietro 4, 39100 Bolzano, Italy
Location: Italy > Trentino-Alto Adige > Province of South Tyrol > Bolzano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Bolzano
#3 Family Hotel in Bolzano
#6 Business Hotel in Bolzano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Hanny 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Hanny reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hanny Hotel Bolzano

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing