We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Acceptable hotel”
Review of Hotel Post Gries

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Post Gries
Ranked #5 of 26 Hotels in Bolzano
Jönköping
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Acceptable hotel”
Reviewed July 31, 2012

Clean, good tasting breakfast, garage and helpful staff.
A little bit from centre but this is not a problem.
A lot to see in Bolzano. For example Ötzi and Museum for contemporary art.
Minus for the ventilation in the room. Very warm and a window to get fresh air.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank 1italia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

371 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    197
    84
    13
    7
See reviews for
71
120
14
76
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo, SP
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2011

The hotel is in general ok. I selected it because I need it parking and it offered it for free. We spent 2 nights and when we arrived there was parking space at the hotel but the second night there was not and they have a parking 50m from the hotel. They give you card to go in an out. you have to go thru several doors (5) to get out of the parking and go thru a building lobby, but it was ok, not a big deal.
Hotel is quite hold but well kept. Room was ok and internet costs 5Euros per 12hs of use, not bad either.
Breakfast area was huge and food was ok. not a big variety but good quality.
Location was not good if you don´t like to walk. We walked every day, but It was aprox 3km from the center of bolzano.
So, this is an average hotel but I paid 120Euros per night which I think is well overpriced for what you get and the location.
In summary, I would reccomend to stay here only if you pay much less than that and if you don´t mind walking to downtown. Everything is just ok.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pato_River
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bena, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2011

For the past few years we have spent 2 week visits to Bolzano twice a year. Having sampled all the top hotels around Piazza Walther, it was a pleasant surprise to find this small, family-run hotel right on piazza Gries-a moderate walk to most points of interest in Bolzano. The hotel offers several very nice small apartments in a very nice building nearby..with included underground parking-a rare treat in this town. Very secure, very modern and up to date, this hotel offers a fine value and location. And the family Berger, owners, do a very efficent job of running this popular hotel. It is popular with tour groups and has buss parking close to the hotel.
The hotel restaurant serves straight-forward German and some Italian food and is a good place to eat. I always look forward to a visit to this restaurant.

Room Tip: This is a busy hotel. Book well in advance for reservations during holidays and events-and there are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ofrankc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
89 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2011

My family and I stayed at the Post Gries for a couple of nights in late November. We initially selected it because it had decent reviews and had the best pricing of all the hotels we looked at. We paid 125 Euros a night for a double, which we though was a decent deal considering that the Trentino-Alto Adige region is the most expensive in Italy.

Likes:
- Excellent location. Downtown Bolzano is around a 15-20 minute walk away. This was a real plus because we were there a few times experiencing the biggest Christkindlmarkt in Italy.
- Free Parking. This is something that cannot be overstated. In a lot of the bigger cities in Italy you have to add 15-20 Euros a night to cover parking costs.
- Cleanliness of rooms. Everything was spic and span and just so.
- Breakfast buffet. Nothing out of this world but plenty of variety and replaced constantly.
- Reception. All of the people at the reception were at multilingual and gave excellent directions on hotel supplied maps.

Dislikes:
- Room size. Kind of on the small side.

Overall, we were happy with this hotel. I would recommend it to someone planning to stay in Bolzano and would stay there again provided we could get a similar deal.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ulical
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2010

The Post Gries Hotel is easy to find and provides an extremely friendly welcome - in good English. It has car parking, a restaurant, a bar and a lift. Breakfast was classically simple but generous. The room was modern and efficient. There are other cafes and restaurants nearby, but the Post Gries is on a straight road which takes 15 minutes to walk into the beautiful old town of Bolzano where there are tourist delights all around. If we return to see more of Bolzano we will stay at the Post Gries again. We chose it because of TripAdvisor reviews.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MacdEdininburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nadur, Malta
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2009

We stayed here for 3 nights. And I must say that I was really disappointed. But I'll start naming the positives: quite clean, excellent free parking, average breakfast, 20 minutes walk from the centre. I must disagree with other reviewers about other things such as: our room wasn't new but you could see visible cracks on the walls, the service given was below average especially in such a region. If you needed any information, it was better not to ask, because they always answered in a 'sad way' and sometimes even without looking at you. Interenet wasn't functioning, but if it was it costs €4/hour. When you arrive at the reception you'll notice that it's a non-smiling zone.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sammut79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanDiegoHistProf
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2009

We stayed here two nights with young children (4 and 2). Rooms were very quiet with excellent windows that open and electronic blinds for quiet and early morning dark. Walking to the center is possible even with a stroller (about 20 minutes at a good pace). About 15 minutes to a wonderful riverside park. A grocery is nearby. The taxi service is reasonable and efficient. Breakfast at the hotel is very nice. Speaking German made things easier, but I think one would get good service speaking only English as well (provided one is civilized in his/her approach). If you want to be in the center, this is not the place. If you want a family friendly, quiet, clean, and modern place at a reasonable price, it is great hotel.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SanDiegoHistProf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bolzano hotels
2.2 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Bolzano
1.0 mi away
Stadt Hotel Citta
Stadt Hotel Citta
#3 of 26 in Bolzano
1,149 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Greif
Hotel Greif
#1 of 26 in Bolzano
528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Parkhotel Luna Mondschein
Parkhotel Luna Mondschein
#11 of 26 in Bolzano
296 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Regina A.
Hotel Regina A.
#6 of 26 in Bolzano
424 reviews
2.5 mi away
Business Resort Parkhotel Werth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Post Gries? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Post Gries

Property: Hotel Post Gries
Address: Corso della Liberta' 117 | 39100 Bozen/Bolzano, 39100 Bolzano, Italy
Location: Italy > Trentino-Alto Adige > Province of South Tyrol > Bolzano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 26 Hotels in Bolzano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Post Gries 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It doesn't matter whether you are in Bolzano/Bozen on your own or with your family; Hotel Post Gries offers you comfortable rooms that will make you feel good. All rooms are lovingly furnished and excellently equipped with a bath or shower/WC, hair-dryer, satellite TV, cosmetics mirror, safe, telephone, wireless LAN and allmost all with air conditioning. Hotel Post Gries is also outstanding as a stopover hotel, trade fair hotel and of course as accommodation for your city trip in Bolzano/Bozen, and represents an ideal starting point for many excursions in Bolzano/Bozen and the surrounding area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Post Gries reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Post Gries Hotel
Post Gries Bolzano

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing