We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Little Hotel, Close to Downtown and Train”
Review of Scala Stiegl Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Scala Stiegl Hotel
Ranked #8 of 26 Hotels in Bolzano
Certificate of Excellence
Chico, CA
Level Contributor
141 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
“Nice Little Hotel, Close to Downtown and Train”
Reviewed September 12, 2011

I liked this little hotel very much. The desk clerks were very helpful. It's close to the tram, the train station, and downtown. The breakfast was good, with lots of fresh fruit and plenty of coffee. There is a pool in the rear for use during the summer, and a nice restaurant with plenty of outdoor seating under umbrellas. (The waiter told me that the umbrellas are just in case one of the many large, beautiful chestnut trees happens to drop one of its nuts, which might be painful!) My room was small and spartan, but I have no use for anything other than a good, clean bed, a shower and a TV, so it met my needs perfectly. I would certainly stay there again.

Room Tip: The rooms in front seem to be the largest, but just ask to see the room in advance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Soggiorno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

369 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    175
    76
    14
    7
See reviews for
72
132
15
74
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Southampton NY
Level Contributor
50 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2011

Walk every where in Balzano. . Wonderful staff, all the comforts of home. At the base of one of the cable cars to take to Sopra Bolzano.
Cool off in the pool after a warm day.

Room Tip: Roomy. air conditioned, very clean..facing the mountains,,be sure to ask.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacqueline S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2011

I found out about Bolzano from the design hotel website. It is somewhat of a hidden jewel of a city, tucked away in the Domomites with relatively few UK visitors. Needless to say I did not choose their Hotel Greif as I wanted a hotel with an outdoor pool and as the weather for the third week in August was consistantly 34 degrees this was a wise choice!

First impressions of the Scala Stiegl are underwheming - reception is small and dominated by a lift to take the disabled to its restaurant. Reception staff are very helpful, hard working and are keen to please. I booked a superior room - probably not worth the extra money, the promise of a marble bathroom turned out to be marble plastic tiles. The king size bed was 2 singles pushed together - the balcony had no furniture, and the furnishing did not seem to match!

Breakfast has a good range of fresh fruit, cheese, hams, yogert and breads - freshly brewed coffee and juices. Service is efficient. Breakfast can be taken outside in the garden.

The hotel's best asset is the outdoor pool and garden - a pleasure to sit in and lots of sun beds.

Bolzano can be reached via a flight to Verona - short bus ride (5 euros) to the station and then a 2 hour / 1 1/2 hour train ride depending on whether a regional or intercity train is taken. (Cost is 9.30 or 14.50 euros). The hotel is afew minutes walk from the station. So this is 'do-able' for a long weekend. In this area of Italy they speak Italian and German - the city is very clean. Its worth exploring with a good range of up market shops, and lots of opportunities to take cable car trips to mountain villages. There is one cable car station just round the corner from the hotel which takes you to Sopra Bolzano or Ober Bozen - Above Bolzano - the views are great and it costs just 3.90 return. (Next to the cable car station is a strange Aldi/Lidl type supermarket called Euro Spin - its the nearest supermarket to the hotel and sells cheap drinks including water.) BEWARE - ALL SHOPS CLOSE ON SUNDAY!

If you visit the, city - vist a bar called Fischbanke - a phantasy bar (Dr Steiter Strasse) is a must - try the Veneziano cocktail - a mixture of Aperol (orange liquor and prosecco). Best atmosphere is Bolzano!

Room Tip: Book a standard room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank englanderin186299
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2011

One of the very best hotels. Very nice and helpul staff, spatious, clean rooms, huge garage cross the hotel, fine internet connection, excellent service. A very good breakfast buffet. On reccommendations we had very good food with very ggod wine. Superb hospitality. If you wonder how a hotel should be run, this is it.
It was a dream to be a guest here, and the hotel staff made it easy for us all to just forget about all worries.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bgronas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2011

We had never heard of this hotel when we planned our trip to Bolzano!
The plan was to stay at the Four Points Sheraton for a one night stopover on our way to Cortina. However when we arrived, there had been a fire at the Sheraton so they booked us into the Scala in town. My initial reaction was disappointment as the Sheraton looked good and the Scala looked much older.
But when we calmed down, we realised we had free outdoor parking (20 euro at Sheraton), free breakfast, and a great location in town. We probably would not have bothered going into Bolzano from the Sheraton, and would have missed a wonderful old world town centre. It also meant on the day we left, we were able to visit the "Iceman" museum which was a bonus.
So in the morning, having a good breakfast, in a pretty garden, warm and under a big umbrella, near to the swimming pool, we decided that fate had smiled kindly on us. If we come back to Bolzano, we would stay here again rather than on the fringe of town like the Sheraton.

Room Tip: High fllor executive rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeff2727_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviewed October 26, 2010

We went there for two nights in June. We had two double-rooms "Classic" with the view on the hill (wine). Rooms are beutifully furnished and bathroom was big and clean. Because it was so hot that days, the airconditioning was working like hell and water sipped out in the night. We put it off then... Perhaps airconditioning needs to be renewed in some days... Nevertheless, in the second night we had great sleep. The pool is very clean and it is great to lay in the shadow and take a "Veneziano" to cool down. You are even served. Great service. Not too many people so that we could relax at the pool. Really quiet. Walking distance to center about 10min. Best breakfast ever in Italy. Quite continental.
Grand hotel!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bestfour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2009

The only issue i had with the hotel was the lack of soundproofing on the doors. when people came down the hallway at night i felt like they were in our room! other than that and if you've taken earplugs the room was fine, great location with a short walk to this gorgeous town and the garden was lovely for breakfast.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bellevue12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bolzano hotels
0.4 mi away
Stadt Hotel Citta
Stadt Hotel Citta
#3 of 26 in Bolzano
1,133 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Greif
Hotel Greif
#1 of 26 in Bolzano
525 reviews
2.7 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Bolzano
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hotel Post Gries
Hotel Post Gries
#5 of 26 in Bolzano
370 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Regina A.
Hotel Regina A.
#7 of 26 in Bolzano
418 reviews
0.2 mi away
Parkhotel Luna Mondschein
Parkhotel Luna Mondschein
#11 of 26 in Bolzano
292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scala Stiegl Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scala Stiegl Hotel

Property: Scala Stiegl Hotel
Address: Via Brennero 11, 39100 Bolzano, Italy
Location: Italy > Trentino-Alto Adige > Province of South Tyrol > Bolzano
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Bolzano
#9 Business Hotel in Bolzano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Scala Stiegl Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HRS so you can book your Scala Stiegl Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Scala Stiegl

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing