We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful, elegant place, in the heart of Bozen with a wonderful quiet garden”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Parkhotel Luna Mondschein
Ranked #9 of 26 Hotels in Bolzano
Reviewed December 11, 2011

We just stayed here during the Xmas Market, the room was big, very clean and nice, the place is big but quiet with a beautiful garden (I think very pleasant to stay in summer too); 10 minutes walk from the station, 2 from the Portici (main street).

They gave us a suite for 2/4 because we were 4, so apparently quite expensive but actually it wasn't as they didn't asked for extra charge for the children (even they are grown up 16 and 12).

The breakfast was rich and good: speck, salami, ham, different kind of cheeses, yogurt, eggs and bacon, vegetables, different pastries and many hot and cold drinks.

The staff was very kind and helpful and we would certainly stay here again when back to Bozen

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Silvia1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (321)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

59 - 65 of 321 reviews

Reviewed November 21, 2011

I only stayed for one day and night, on a business occasion. The hotel is beutiful and embedded within Bolzano's lovely old town. The park adjacent to the hotel is well kept
and charming. My room was a single bed one, and was very simple small and modest
(for example - old TV set, plain bed). There was also a maintenance issue (TV set power cable had to be replaced), but this did not matter too much as the place was still very pleasent.
Breakfast was excellent - reach and large, and perhaps much more Austrian than Italian.
Two things I learned about Bolzano - almost no restaurants open on a Sunday evening
at the city old town. It's already cold at the end of November, and the woods around the
town have the winter look although no snow.

Room Tip: If you arrive for more than a day - better take one of the larger rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Gil T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2009

Had not expected to stay overnight in Bolzano during a recent trip to see relatives in Trentino-Alto Adige, but decided at the last minute that it made sense to do so. My aunt lives in the city center, so Hotel Luna was a very convenient place for us to stay, and I'm grateful that they had a room on 2 days' notice in mid-June.

Our room, while a little on the small side, was very clean and comfortable, with luxurious drapes. The A/C worked just fine. We also had a small balcony overlooking the park -- that was a fantastic benefit! It's too bad that my husband wasn't feeling well in the morning, because he would have loved the fulsome buffet breakfast. I certainly did.

The staff were courteous and helpful. We needed a place to leave our bags between check-out and our later train. No problem there. It was an easy walk to the station as well.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TrentinaNE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2006

Charming hotel with restaurant in garden. Slightly odd 70's Decor, fancy avocado green fixtures in bathroom. Location was great, service was good (all the staff were very friendly and helpful).

Our flight from the US was delayed by one day, and they didn't charge us for the night we missed (we emailed them that morning).

Good German food at the restaurant (we had rabbit and roast pork). Big buffet breakfast with eggs, cereal, ham, cheese etc. Free Internet.

  • Stayed: September 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank TomAndDonna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2006

I've travelled extensively throughout the world, and the Luna Mondschein is one of the worst hotel I've been to !!!

First of all, this hotel is expensive, ans is rated as a 4-stars, so, when making your reservation, you're quite confident about this property's overall quality.

Well, the Luna Mondschein is no more than a 2-stars. The property is *VERY* old and tired, and the staff is unhelpful at best.

The rooms are totally ridiculous, I think they are the same than in 1920 !!! I had the "pleasure" to stay in this hotel in July, and there was absolutely no air-conditioning in my room !!! I was so upset, it was very hot, and we had to sleep with our window opened !

The room itself need a total refurbishment, I've never been to a room so old and tired. The bathroom is also very old, and I was (again) totally upset, because I paid an expensive fare for a 2-stars room.

I mean, if I paid 50 Euros for this room, and if it was advertised as a 2-stars property, it would have been OK...

The breakfast is a total robbery, we paid 10 Euros per person, and the "buffet" was definitely ridiculous: poor choice, poor quality...

Luna Mondschein is definitely NOT a 4-stars property, they should be ashamed to sell their hotel as a 4-stars !

By the way, as I go back very often in Bolzano for business, there is a brand new property situated in the industrial area of the town (far from city center), and this property is definitely 4-stars !

  • Stayed: July 2005, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank Tiquinho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bamako, Owner at Parkhotel Luna Mondschein, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2009

4 years have passed… in the meantime our hotel has been renovated.
We have installed air conditioning in 80% of the rooms and completely redecorated and refurbished our bathrooms, floors finishings, preserving the elegant antique structure and adding on modern comforts.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Thalwil, Switzerland
1187
Reviewed April 30, 2005

Very traditional hotel in a small park right in the historical center of Bolzano (Bozen). Insist on a room in the main building. These rooms are pretty quiet, some have park view. There are also some rooms in an adjoining building near the garage. Noise there coming from the courtyard quite terrible at times, especially in the early morning. Do not pay too much for your accommodation. As with most hotels in Bolzano, rates displayed through travel agents and on the hotel’s Website are unrealistic. Walk-in rates about 15% lower, maybe even more if you are good in bargaining. Do not accept a rate that includes breakfast. This will amount to EUR 10 (per person) of the total room rate. The hotel’s breakfast buffet is not worth that. Check rates with travel agents anyway, in case the Luna changes its attitude about online bookings. So far business has not been good this year for hotels in Bolzano.

The Luna offers the usual facilities. Most of the rooms are reasonably sized and quite comfortable. It also used to have a free PC corner with Internet access on the ground floor plus free WLAN in most rooms of the main building. However, the computer broke down already some weeks ago and in the meantime the WLAN has stopped working as well, except in the Lobby. It’s unclear if and when these services will be reestablished.

The hotel’s front desk staff is friendly and helpful, with very few exceptions.

  • Stayed: April 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 days ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Michela R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bamako, Responsabile reception at Parkhotel Luna Mondschein, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bolzano hotels
2.5 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Bolzano
0.2 mi away
Stadt Hotel Citta
Stadt Hotel Citta
#3 of 26 in Bolzano
1,239 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Greif
Hotel Greif
#1 of 26 in Bolzano
558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Scala Stiegl Hotel
Scala Stiegl Hotel
#5 of 26 in Bolzano
405 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Post Gries
Hotel Post Gries
#6 of 26 in Bolzano
411 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Eberle
Hotel Eberle
#13 of 26 in Bolzano
212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parkhotel Luna Mondschein? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parkhotel Luna Mondschein

Address: Via Piave 15, 39100 Bolzano, Italy
Location: Italy > Trentino-Alto Adige > Province of South Tyrol > Bolzano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Bolzano
#5 Luxury Hotel in Bolzano
Price Range: $143 - $279 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Parkhotel Luna Mondschein 4*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Green oasis in the center of Bolzano. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your Parkhotel Luna Mondschein reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parkhotel Luna Mondschein Bolzano

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing