We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely views, hard beds”
Review of Hotel Feichter

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Feichter
Ranked #11 of 26 Hotels in Bolzano
Certificate of Excellence
seattle
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Lovely views, hard beds”
Reviewed April 14, 2010

Overall a good value for a clean room with an outside sitting porch and gorgeous view from the porch. Beds were too hard, slept poorly. Breakfast buffet average. Close to good hiking and Alpe di Siusi.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank happyhiker10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    109
    29
    7
    4
See reviews for
43
82
8
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2010

In a great location, this hotel is pleasant, though not spectacular. The place was nice – nothing fancy but that’s pretty much what I expected. The room was a bit tight for space: it was hard to find somewhere to lay our three suitcases. It was functional and clean, though not immaculately so. The bathroom, however, was newly renovated and very clean.

The location is excellent. It is very close to the station. We used the hotel map from the website and walked. The hotel is about a block from Piazza Walthur, the main square so you’re in the middle of town.

Reception is on the first floor (no lift from the ground floor) and then we took the lift to the first floor. Our room was an outdoor undercover walkway. We stayed for two nights in December in a triple room for 105 Euro which seemed like okay value. (Bolzano accommodation seems to be on the expensive side.) Other costs in Bolzano seemed very reasonable. Much cheaper than Rome.

Breakfast was a standout with good coffee/cappuccino, cheese, ham, rolls, yoghurts, cereals etc. I had three different types of croissants, the best I had in Italy. It was much better than I expected for a hotel breakfast. Also, the breakfast area at the back of the café downstairs was full of character. It was a lovely place to sit and start the day.

I’d stay there again simply because of the location and the breakfast.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KickChick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2010

I had read about the Hotel Feichter in my travel guide and it sounded like the perfect place. My stumbling block came when I tried to reserve a room and they don't have online reservations. I sent an email and received a response that instructed me to send a credit card number via email to hold the reservation. For obvious reasons, I didn't want to do that so tried calling several times only to be told to call back another time to speak with an english-speaking clerk. Anyway, I never did connect and we made our travel plans around it, with a reservation at the local hostel. When we arrived by train in Bolzano, I decided to try my luck and see if they had availability. We found the hotel, just a short walk from the train station and were ecstatic to find a room available! What a great place and a great little town. The room was precious and clean. It had a comfy bed with individual down comforters, a private bathroom and a sweet little balcony that overlooked the street. The rooms at the back have a balcony with a view of the Dolomite Mountains. The breakfast was very substantial with the usual continental fair of breads, cheese, meats, yogurt, cereal, fruit, juice, coffee, tea, etc. Very nice indeed and held you over for a day of hiking and sightseeing. The hotel staff was very nice and even found me an electrical adapter when I discovered I had the wrong kind for charging my camera battery. Such a life saver!

If you go: Avoid Sundays, since almost everything is closed. Definately go see Ootzi, the iceman and the archeological museum. Take the cable car up the mountain, then the little train and walk around in the mountains. Enjoy the farmer's market. Understand that in this area of Italy (northern), both German and Italian are spoken as this region was once part of Germany. So many people do not speak English and some get a little put off when you ask. But, having said that, it was a very enjoyable side trip and I would highly recommend it. After our stop here, we continued on to Venice, which was beautiful, but oh so crowded :(. Do enjoy Bolzano, though! I would go back in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blknight113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 4 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2009

Our room was quite small, but it's clean and nicely located. I was satisfied with my stay here. Although, it was a bit steep. It's our most expensive b&b in italy 80 Euro, but the buffet style breakfast makes up for it.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jensfbay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2009

Stayed here for a night while travelling between Nova Levante and Vencie. Very convenient for train station.
Rooms are fine, had two 3 bed rooms, both with one double and one single. Bathrooms adequate. Place isn't spotlessly clean but not dirty, just bits of dust. Breakfast was really good, much better than expected for a 2 star. Staff friendly. We left our bags there for the day after he'd checked out which was really handy.
Boplzano is really lovely, good shopping and restaurants and very picturesque, wouldn't stay there for more than 2 or 3 days unles you're going to go walking in the mountains or something but worth seeing. This hotel is a good base for those on a budget.

Stayed December 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank AwnyaBurd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2008

Bolzano was one of the 6 cities in Italy we visited while on our Honeymoon. We really enjoyed Bolzano and we enjoyed the Hotel Feichter as well. It's a family run place. I think one of the sons works the front desk and he (like most people in Bolzano) speaks German, Italian and English. I started out speaking German to him, but he quickly figured me out and asked if I wanted to speak English. I gladly agreed (though slightly amused, but embarrassed, that I wasn't fooling anyone).
The rooms small, but clean. I like their pro-environment policy about towels. They let you decide whether you want a fresh one or not. If you want a fresh one, leave it on the floor. If you want to keep yours for another day, hang it up.
I also thought the view of the town and surrounding mountains from the balcony to be just perfect. Bolzano is a beautiful little town.
The only negative comment I have is about the bed, which was just two twin mattresses pushed together. This seems to be the norm in Italy when you ask for a double bed, but I never felt it was comfortable at all. The typical breakfast (while spare, with little variety) was a good start to the morning. However, the hotel was a very good value and I would stay here again and recommend it to friends.

  • Liked — Location, Comfort
  • Disliked — Bed
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lknaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2008

This Hotel was one of the nicest 2 stars we stayed in during our recent visit. It is a family run business located in the heart of Bolzano (Bozen) ; a 5 minute walk from the train station. In Bolzano the train and bus stations are located in the same area. To get to the hotel walk up via Laurin and stay left on via Grappoli-Weintraubegasse, it is on the right about 50 meters. Check-in is on the second floor.
My wife and I had a room on the 3rd floor. Our room was small and not air-conditioned but it was spotlessly clean and had a shared balcony where we could sit and relax after a day of trekking. The weather during our visit was very hot and the balcony was much appreciated and it also offered an opportunity to chat with other travelers, a must in my book.
We found the hotel owners to be courteous and the service was as advertised with a nice breakfast of bread, meat, cheeses, cereal, juice, coffee etc. included in the price.
This part of Italy is beautiful and I will certainly be returning and would stay here again. One tip for getting around, Italian is not necessarily the first language in this area and I found that my Italian which usually is adequate was not up to the task several times as some local folks speak German with limited Italian and no English. The city is beautiful and exceeded my expectations, there is a nice mix of museums, culture, strolling, shopping, dining with some world class hiking and views only a short bus ride away.

  • Liked — Clean and well situated for no car travelling
  • Disliked — No air conditioning during a summer visit
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tyrolia-Joe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bolzano hotels
0.1 mi away
Stadt Hotel Citta
Stadt Hotel Citta
#3 of 26 in Bolzano
1,149 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Greif
Hotel Greif
#1 of 26 in Bolzano
528 reviews
0.1 mi away
Parkhotel Luna Mondschein
Parkhotel Luna Mondschein
#10 of 26 in Bolzano
296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Regina A.
Hotel Regina A.
#9 of 26 in Bolzano
424 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Post Gries
Hotel Post Gries
#6 of 26 in Bolzano
371 reviews
2.4 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Bolzano
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Feichter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Feichter

Property: Hotel Feichter
Address: Via Dei Grappoli 15, 39100 Bolzano, Italy
Location: Italy > Trentino-Alto Adige > Province of South Tyrol > Bolzano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Bolzano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Feichter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Feichter Hotel Bolzano

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing