We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (620)
Filter reviews
620 results
Traveler rating
453
140
15
8
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
453
140
15
8
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews piazza walther rooftop bar the main square sister hotel eggs to order perfect location train station small terrace design hotel the hotel manager restaurant recommendations christmas market bay window deluxe room nice size i highly recommend this hotel perfect stay
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 620 reviews
Reviewed January 29, 2019

Hotel Greif was one of the best hotels we have ever stayed. We were there to visit family member in hospital and the staff at the hotel were extremely kind, helpful and thoughtful. Our rooms were excellent, comfortable and a really good size with quality furnishings. The hotel is centrally located and public transport very easily accessed. We would fully recommend this hotel.

Date of stay: January 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank robertbsp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2018

Our visit here could not have been much better. From the moment we walked in, the staff were most helpful and so friendly. You'll really have to travel far and wide in Italy to beat their breakfast: fresh fruit and pastries; they'll cook eggs for you if you wish. Our room overlooked the Piazza Walther and it was so fun just to people watch from our 3rd floor window. It is not inexpensive, but I just can't praise this place enough. For us, it was the perfect stay.

Room tip: Rooms that overlook the square are fun to people-watch from
Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Jeffrey N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2018 via mobile

Clean hotel, friendly staff and only five minutes from the train station on the lovely Piazza Walther, comfortable beds and decent sized rooms.

Definitely worth considering, we have no complaints at all.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank charlieefarley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2018

Staff was superb from the minute we walked in from the five minute walk from the train station. Very friendly and outgoing. The room was modern and comfortable. It is located right in the square with all the cute restaurants and stores. And directly across from the Duomo.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank AdventureBiker21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2018

My wife and I pursued a counterclockwise driving route during our trip from Marco Polo airport to the Veneto and Dolomites, and opted for a night's stay in Bolzano before heading eastward to the Dolomites Road. The reviews for Hotel Greif were quite favorable, so we booked to stay here.

Finding the hotel was slightly challenging. We did indeed use the Viale della Stazione as a goal per our GPS, but at the roundabout heading from the southeast via Via Garibaldi, we first exited by mistake on Laurin Strasse. Noting the barriers ahead delineating the ZTL, we did a K turn at the entrance to the Laurin parking lot, headed back to the roundabout, took the next exit on Viale della Stazione to the right, found the Waltherplatz parking lot immediately ahead, and descended. Once the ticket is obtained to enter the lot, there are signs clearly indicating where the hotel entrance is located on -1. We did have to wait for someone else to leave, there were otherwise no open spots (red lights above the spots for taken, blue for open). We rang the bell at the hotel entrance door, started inside, noted a curious several stair up and then several stair down platform, at which point we were quite pleased to have been met by a hotel staff member with a cart and have our bags brought to our room.

We had originally booked a comfort double room, which upon arrival we were advised would be on two levels, When we indicated that we would vastly prefer a single level room, we were upgraded to a superior double room, which was enormous. The bed was close to the floor level but comfortable. The room was a bit warm, not sure why we could not get it cooler, and opening the windows was a non-starter due to noise from the street. Our view was that of another hotel just a few yards away, but that was no problem. The bathroom was also large with a shower offering nice power and temperature.

The hotel is very conveniently located to the plaza and all the shops and restaurants in the surrounding warren of streets. If one exits the covered arcade in the direction opposite the plaza, and goes down the elevator to -1, there is a very nice grocery store offering everything from food products to alcohol of every time.

As so many others here at TA have noted, the hotel staff are uniformly very friendly and helpful, including offering good restaurant recommendations. The breakfasts are indeed characterized by a great selection of fruit, cheese, breads, eggs to order, and of course nice coffees, teas, fresh squeezed orange juice. The staff there also was extremely attentive.

The WiFi is quite fast. We did not watch any television, but for English speakers, CNN and BBC were available

We usually are efficient travelers and do not leave items behind, but this time we did accidentally leave our night light plugged into the bathroom outlet Later on the day of check out the hotel emailed us to ask if we wished to retrieve it or have it sent...fortunately, it was an inexpensive Amazon item which was surely less expensive to replace than to have sent to us.

If you arrive by car, the hotel has a system whereby they put the E19 charge per night to your room, and provide a second card to place in the exit machine (don't lose that first ticket you get when you first arrive, it goes in first) on leaving the garage.

Clearly the reviews here at TA are well deserved, and we thank our predecessors for having led us to a great hotel.

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank petergoode2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews