We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”
Review of Parkhotel Laurin

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Parkhotel Laurin
Ranked #2 of 26 Hotels in Bolzano
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed October 26, 2013

We stayed in this hotel as part of a tour group and could not fault anything about the facilities and staff. Room , including bathroom, was quite spacious and light, overlooking a lovely garden. Great breakfast. Helpful friendly staff

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,039 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    652
    306
    61
    15
    5
See reviews for
154
456
54
229
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sharon, MA
Level Contributor
297 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2013

We recently stayed twice at the Parkhotel and enjoyed both of our visits.

The hotel's location -- on a small park that's maybe a three-minute walk from the train station and no more than a five-minute walk from the bus station -- makes it a convenient choice for visitors (like us) arriving from Venice and traveling on into the Dolomites. Even though it's so close to these two transit hubs, the hotel is surprisingly quiet. Also, it's just around the corner from the city's pedestrian-only zone -- so, it's a great base for exploring Bolzano's historic center.

The hotel entrance has about five steps up from the street -- not a problem for us, but it might pose a challenge for some visitors with extra heavy bags and/or mobility issues.

Inside the old world lobby, the front desk staff were friendlier than others we've met at similar boutique hotels elsewhere in Europe. They were well-trained and, for the most part, very helpful. Martina was particularly helpful, with her map marking skills and her restaurant and hiking suggestions.

Our first room (503) was an upgrade (offered without our asking) featuring a gorgeous white marble bathroom (see photo) and a view over the garden. Our second room (307), though considered a standard, actually seemed a bit nicer to us, with a better layout than our first room and a striking red marble bathroom (and, even though it was on the front side of the hotel, it was still a quiet spot).

Breakfast was a real highlight here -- the room itself was lovely (see photo), the buffet was extensive, and the service from the well-trained staff was courteous.

Our main disappointment with the hotel was the dinner menu -- at least when we checked it, options for non-meat eaters were limited or not offered. However, we were later assured that the staff could have prepared a fish or vegetarian meal to our liking if we had requested it.

Overall, with its old world charm (check out the elevator with a seat!) and convenient location, the Parkhotel is a very welcoming place for a hotel its size. If we were back in the area, we'd gladly stay here again.

Tip: In addition to exploring the Piazza Walther area, try walking on the promenade along the Talvera River for views of local vineyards and mountains, or, take a 10-minute walk from the hotel to the lift that goes up to Renon, where there are plenty of restaurants and an amazing variety of good hiking options.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DGandSAG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2013

Stayed in the single room at the front of the hotel, it had 2 sets of double doors leading onto a small balcony, eliminating all outside noise. The room was very spacious,well appointed and a lovely bathroom with nice toiletries.
The hotel itself is in superb grounds with a swimming pool, courtyard bar and barbeque area (not in use when we were there). It was lovely to just sit in the garden with a drink and relax.
Breakfast was plentiful and varied. The location is good for shopping, dining and transport
Highly recommended

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jagjetfly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fishers, Indiana
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2013

This hotel has everything one could want: great location convenient to parking garage and bus/train stations, spacious rooms with a view of their own beautiful park and the spires of Bolzano, modern bathroom, warm hospitality, excellent breakfast. Received upgrade simply because arrival was before stated time. Overall best value of a 10-day trip Italy.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HoosierTraveler51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
174 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2013

We had never been to Bolzano and chose the Parkhotel Laurin for our 7 night stay on the basis of Tripadvisor reviews. It was just perfect! A short walk from the station, but quiet and sedate, this hotel ticked every box for us. The reception staff were warm and friendly - especially as we must have looked tired and bedraggled after our train trip from Munich. And they had upgraded us to a Superior Room! We were completely delighted. The room was spacious and very comfortable, with a view of the mountains and a splendid bathroom. Breakfast is served in an elegant room with palm trees and chandeliers and offers a huge range of choice - among the best we have ever had. The hotel also has lovely gardens, and one of the treats of our week was to sit on the verandah, sipping Prosecco and enjoying the ambience. This hotel was a real treat!

Room Tip: The rooms facing the garden are airy and light and very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lillian_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albert, Canada
Level Contributor
63 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2013

Parkhotel Laurin, located next to the historic center of Bolzano, provides a perfect home base for exploring the region. The 100+ year-old building is comfortable and charming, and has been very well-maintained. Located just a five-minute walk from Piazza Walther, abundant shopping and dining options are available. Or, if you choose, the hotel offers a perfect location for just relaxing.

The property was easy to find, but for those arriving by auto there is no parking for check-in; rather, just temporary street parking. Like many hotels located near a city center they don’t have their own parking, but the hotel does have an arrangement with the lot directly across the street. The way it works is that reception gives you a pre-paid parking card and then adds the total to your bill, the rate being pretty consistent with the rate in other European cities (Switzerland excluded).

Our large deluxe room was located on the third floor overlooking the front of the hotel. Even though it overlooked the street, we did not notice any street noise. The bed was comfortable, and we were pleased to note that feather pillows and plush comforters were available upon request. The three-piece bath was large and modern, featuring a shower-equipped tub, bidet, and double vanity. The toilet was in a separate two-piece room next to the main bathroom. One of things that caught my attention was the artwork, and upon further examination we found a card in the room describing the designer who had designed our room (individual room design being a hallmark of the hotel), and a description of the authentic artwork and artists. This was a unique feature that we could not recall seeing in any other hotel.

We did not eat in the hotel other than to have breakfast, but the restaurants appeared to be very well-appointed and if it had not been raining the evening we arrived I certainly would have spent some time in the outdoor lounge in the private park – it looked to be a lovely place to enjoy a cold drink on a warm day. Breakfast was very good – a good mixture of hot food, plus a plethora of baking, cheeses, cold cuts, fruits, cereals and best of all, fresh-squeezed orange juice.

To summarize, the elegance of the hotel combined with the convenient location make the Parkhotel Laurin an ideal choice when staying in Bolzano.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Doug_Bowles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, CA
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2013

very spacious rooms, very nicely appointed with modern furniture, wonderful park (private) in back of the hotel with a swimming pool, outdoor bar, area to sit and have drinks overlooking the area, and the hotel restaurant, which is also outdoors. outstanding breakfasts. Definitely recommended.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ted999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bolzano hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Greif
Hotel Greif
#1 of 26 in Bolzano
525 reviews
2.4 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Bolzano
0.1 mi away
Stadt Hotel Citta
Stadt Hotel Citta
#3 of 26 in Bolzano
1,131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel Post Gries
Hotel Post Gries
#6 of 26 in Bolzano
370 reviews
0.2 mi away
Parkhotel Luna Mondschein
Parkhotel Luna Mondschein
#11 of 26 in Bolzano
291 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Regina A.
Hotel Regina A.
#9 of 26 in Bolzano
418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parkhotel Laurin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parkhotel Laurin

Property: Parkhotel Laurin
Address: Via Laurin 4, 39100 Bolzano, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Trentino-Alto Adige > Province of South Tyrol > Bolzano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Bolzano
#2 Business Hotel in Bolzano
#2 Luxury Hotel in Bolzano
#3 Romantic Hotel in Bolzano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Parkhotel Laurin 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Parkhotel Laurin 4star superior, opened in 1910, is a n Art Nouveau hotel in the centre of Bolzano, South Tyrol. The 100 rooms and suites, completely renovated from 1990 and 1998, are all decorated with original paintings by 20th century artists. They offer state-of-the-art comfort and amenities such as marble bathrooms, LCD sat-TV, safe, minibar, phone, Wi-Fi internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Parkhotel Laurin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parkhotel Laurin Bolzano
Parkhotel Laurin Hotel Bolzano

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing