We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel is nice but price not wise”
Review of Parkhotel Laurin

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Parkhotel Laurin
Ranked #2 of 26 Hotels in Bolzano
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 7, 2012

We stayed for 2 nights.
It is very important to notice that the hotel located in the main old center but it is accessible by car and a parking place is behind the hotel door. The hotel exchanges parking ticket with another one noticably reducing parking cost to 14 euro per day.
The rooms are excellent - very big, with separate step-in wardrobe. Bathroom is good enough, clean and there is only one regret that it has a bath tube but not a shower.
The restaurant in the hotel is said to be famous, and I was convinced of this truth at a dinner - a menu is short but the food is something special!
A breakfast is good - no "wow" but everything what we normally need: cheeses, salamies, prosciutto, bakery, eggs, yogurts etc.
One regret is WiFi network - signal is weak and you can't login at a room and need to go to a ground floor. And the second regret is a room price - we paid 290 euros per 2 nights and it was "so-so", but after my purchase price increased up to 380 euros per 2 night, and I think it is too high. But a number of businees travellers I have seen in a hotel obviously votes for this hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Divex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,109)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

221 - 227 of 1,109 reviews

Reviewed November 6, 2012

The hotel has a great deal in its favour. It's near the railway station (if you arrive by train), it has parking (if you drive), it has a certain European formality and art deco style, the rooms are spacious, the breakfast is generous, the restaurant and bar are both worthwhile. Other positives: fine bed-linen and table linen in the restaurant, thick towels in the bathroom, free wifi. We stayed for a week, and enjoyed every day. The location is terrific, too, on the edge of the pedestrian centre of the town. Staff are helpful, but not effusive. The down-sides were not signficant, although they may be to others. The bathrooms are compact, and perhaps cramped. The television was best viewed from the bed. And this is one of the parts of the world where a double bed is two singles put side by side, with some gap between them.

Room Tip: The higher the floor, the better the view. The superior rooms, which have a small sitting area, are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RivkahMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Great rooms, comfortable beds, air con not so good if you are in warmer months, good Internet, spacious, beautiful gardens to enjoy coffee or drinks, great ambience, very helpful staff.

Good breakfast.

Parking is across the road in a public car park. It's acceptable.The hotel validates the ticket when you leave and you get a better rate.

Room Tip: We had adjoining and connecting rooms for family. Went for a more expensive option but felt it was w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank r m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2012

Have stayed here on several occasions over the years. The hotel is situation in the city centre and is well signed from within the city. Hotel staff are always very friendly and efficient. Rooms in the hotel are spacious and generally offer good views of the city and surrounding countryside so rooms also face onto the garden. The hotel restaurant can be on the expensive side but generally the food there is good and there is a very reasonable wine list. In the summer months food is served in the garden. Breakfast time can be very busy but generally food offered is acceptable though do watch out for cold coffee which I have experienced on several occasions.

Room Tip: Take a room on a high floor to get the best view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wolvescyclist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2012

Nice location in the center of town, beautiful historic building. If that is all you are looking for, you are at the right place. However if you look for friendly and competent staff, if you want a seat in the breakfast room or if you want internet access in your room: Look somewhere else, because none of that is offered in this place. Truly disappointing experience.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ONELIFE_LIFE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkhotelLaurin, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Parkhotel Laurin, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2013

Dear Fktravel,
Thank you very much for your review following your recent stay with us. We appreciate you taking the time to share your observations with the travel community. I am delighted to read your positive observation on our location and our historic facility.
We feel very sorry about Your comment on lack of friendliness and competence of our staff. We would have appreciated you explained the reasons for this observation. This would help us to take corrective steps, trying to further improve our service quality. In regards to our breakfast room we, indeed, experienced some difficulties in coordinating the seating in certain rush moments. Meanwhile, we worked out alternative solutions, meaning that we open up additional salons on the first floor, when needed. We strongly believe, that this procedure, well programmed in advance, will help us to avoid unhappy situations as You stated. The problems with internet access in the guestrooms, as you mentioned, are meanwhile resolved. Since January we have a new provider for this service.
Once again, thank you for having taken the time to share your comments with us. We look forward to welcoming you back at the Laurin,

Yours sincerely,

Sabrina Schenk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2012

Historic hotel in the centre of Bolzano, at walking distance of all the main sights in Bolzano. The Laurin has a parking site opposite the hotel.
My standard room was large enough, with all amenities and everything in working order.
Very ample breakfast, really worthwhile, Efficient and friendly staff (mainly speaking German).
Do try the hotel's excellent restaurant for dinner!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GypsyKingBrussels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

This hotel is a lovely, just a block off the main square and is likely preferable to being right on the square. The staff speak English and the rooms are lovely with antique furniture and original art everywhere. It is an easy walk to all sites and restaurants as well as to the cable car to Oberbozen and the bus to Castlerotto, two worthwhile side excursions. There is not much Italian here, the dominant language being German. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elena459
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bolzano hotels
2.4 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Bolzano
0.1 mi away
Hotel Greif
Hotel Greif
#1 of 26 in Bolzano
553 reviews
0.1 mi away
Stadt Hotel Citta
Stadt Hotel Citta
#3 of 26 in Bolzano
1,218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel Post Gries
Hotel Post Gries
#5 of 26 in Bolzano
405 reviews
0.3 mi away
Scala Stiegl Hotel
Scala Stiegl Hotel
#7 of 26 in Bolzano
400 reviews
0.2 mi away
Parkhotel Luna Mondschein
Parkhotel Luna Mondschein
#10 of 26 in Bolzano
313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parkhotel Laurin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parkhotel Laurin

Address: Via Laurin 4, 39100 Bolzano, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Trentino-Alto Adige > Province of South Tyrol > Bolzano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Bolzano
#2 Luxury Hotel in Bolzano
#2 Business Hotel in Bolzano
#3 Romantic Hotel in Bolzano
Price Range: $165 - $397 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Parkhotel Laurin 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Parkhotel Laurin 4star superior, opened in 1910, is a n Art Nouveau hotel in the centre of Bolzano, South Tyrol. The 100 rooms and suites, completely renovated from 1990 and 1998, are all decorated with original paintings by 20th century artists. They offer state-of-the-art comfort and amenities such as marble bathrooms, LCD sat-TV, safe, minibar, phone, Wi-Fi internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Parkhotel Laurin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parkhotel Laurin Bolzano
Parkhotel Laurin Hotel Bolzano

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing