We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Definitely worth seeing” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of South Tyrol Museum of Archaeology

South Tyrol Museum of Archaeology
Ranked #2 of 105 things to do in Bolzano
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: The exhibition of the South Tyrol Museum of Archaeology consists of a collection of the most important archaeological findings of South Tyrol, like the world famous chalcolithic ice mummy called "Ötzi, the Iceman" who was found with all his belongings on the glacier in 1991.
Useful Information: Stairs / elevator, Wheelchair access, Activities for older children, Bathroom facilities, Lockers / storage
Hassocks, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
956 reviews
447 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 382 helpful votes
“Definitely worth seeing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2013

We made a special trip from Verona by train to see Otzi the iceman and were not disappointed. Arriving mid morning there were no line ups at the museum to get in. The whole exhibit was very interesting, but especially frozen Otzi himself.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Edwin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,561 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    962
    458
    106
    23
    12
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Doncaster, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
175 reviews
97 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
“Highlight”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2013

Thanks to TA, I discovered Oetzi, the Ice-Mummy, was situated in Bolzano, and made a visit.

It was the highlight of the trip to Italy. There is so much interesting information, viewed with his possessions, but actually seeing the man himself is breathtaking and humbling. I can't stop thinking about it.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank johnnychips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
98 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Worth a visit to Otzi the Iceman”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2013

Forget those Egyptian mummies... they're babies compared to Otzi who dates right back to the Copper Age! This museum is Otzi's home and you can get up close and personal with him. He looks a bit shrivelled but he is over 5000 years old (there are folks in retirement villages today who look older)!
You can wander at your own pace through this musem and absorb the Otzi story. It will transport you right back to the Copper Age. You can marvel at Otzi's arrows and animal skin boots while you learn about his amazing life wandering the Alps. The archeological information is so thoroughly presented that by the time you leave the museum you feel like you've lived in the Copper Age.
The museum draws together the expetise of a range of disciplines and everything is presented very clearly and logically. There are hands-on activities to keep busy young minds entertained.
Allow at lest 2 hours to take it all in. Very, very interesting.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Natalie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
355 reviews
99 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 238 helpful votes
“not to be missed!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2013

This is a small but world-class museum. A whole floor is dedicated to Otzi, the 5300 year-old mummified man found in the mountains nearby. This is a unique resource, and the musuem planners knew that and did a wonderful job of displaying and interpreting it. If you are in Northern Italy at all, its worth a detour to Bozen/Bolzano just for this, let alone the beautiful mountains.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank ggold113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracy, California
Level Contributor
531 reviews
328 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 226 helpful votes
“Thousands of miles to visit Otzi”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2012

After having read newspaper reports and reading National Geographic's piece on "The Iceman", this was clearly a must-do on our trip on the way to the Dolomites. We struggled with finding it, although in the process we found a delightful cafe for lunch. After advice from a man on the street as to where to park and which direction to walk, we got to the Museum. It is really well done. It could tell the story more briefly, but it is a big story none-the-less. The video is helpful and it was not crowded when we were there so we were unhurried. The people at the counter were also very helpful in directing on our way north. I think you will honestly regret not stopping to visit Otzi if you are anywhere near Bolzano. This is an important story in human history.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Maconthemove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed South Tyrol Museum of Archaeology also viewed

Bolzano, Province of South Tyrol
Bolzano, Province of South Tyrol
 
Bolzano, Province of South Tyrol
 

Been to South Tyrol Museum of Archaeology? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing