We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First impressions are deceptive”
Review of Arts Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Arts Hotel
Ranked #30 of 33 Bolzano B&B and Inns
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“First impressions are deceptive”
Reviewed July 28, 2012

Tricky to find as it is in a back road and there are more signs for the Thai restaurant next door!Seems dark and dingy when you first arrive but the staff were very helpful and the rooms are clean and comfortable. The breakfast room is in the basement with no windows but they've decorated it entirely in white so it is very bright and service was good. The hotel is a 15 minute walk into Bolzano which is a great city to visit.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yv0nne18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    20
    36
    40
    44
See reviews for
21
48
15
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lugano, Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed March 20, 2012

It's located in a back alley road and there are not many parking places. But rooms are very nice and some of them are decorated with special themes. The breakfast room is in the basement so there is no natural light, but they've decorated entirely in white and it looks nice. Excellent home-made yogurt!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnickCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
Reviewed October 17, 2011

My wife and I stayed at this hotel in September, 2011.Overall, we were extremely disappointed and would not recommend this hotel to anyone.

It is situated in a back alley and is very hard to find. The day we were to check in, there was no one at the front desk or anywhere else for that matter. We waited for a good bit, but no one showed up to check us in. We left, went to the square, ran errands, had dinner etc. and came back around 7...still no one there. Finally, someone did show up as to check us in. The parking
is not secure as the only parking available was on the street. In the morning, there was still no one around and breakfast never materialized. As far as the room goes, it was basic,but the "artistic" touch was definitely not present.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dolomites389
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Bolzano hotels

Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2011

This hotel is anything but not nice! Everything said on the web is a lie!! No aircon - hot in October, shower almost doesn't give any water, no tea/coffee facilities, no iphone/ipod dock - no art in room - nothing!!! This is a 2star hotel worth €50 max! We are no curious about the breakfast, but believe it's gonna be dissapointment as well!!!

  • Stayed October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FreakyCamel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2011

When we arrived, there was no hot water for a shower. There was no option for a price without breakfast, and the breakfast was mediocre at best - the coffee not up to Italian standards at all, and no cheese - very unusual for a continental breakfast. The overall choice was pretty poor. My wife found a hair in the teapot... The website looks flashy (in fact, the best thing about the hotel is its website) but the finish (when you’re actually there) is actually quite cheap - not representative of what you’d expect at this price. No minibar, no air conditioning - and it got overbearingly warm - in May. There was only one bedside lamp, the lighting was odd, there was no wall-socket or lamp on my side of the bed (poorly thought-out design) and although we asked for a two-bed, the rooms we were offered were effectively two-bed rooms with a third bed squeezed in. Overall the hotel has the feel of a hastily converted apartment block from the 50’s. Internet is only available in the foyer - not in individual rooms - and I found it to be extremely slow and unreliable. Given that the hotel seems to target arty and/or tech-savvy clients (at least, the site has this vibe) - this seems a bit out of kilter. The shower has no curtains, so the bathrooms are of the type where everything gets wet.
Overall the service was courteous, but for €110 eur, we should have chanced a stay at the Sheraton for €100 without breakfast.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank aardvark-irl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bolzano hotels
1.0 mi away
Hotel Regina A.
Hotel Regina A.
#6 of 26 in Bolzano
424 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Post Gries
Hotel Post Gries
#5 of 26 in Bolzano
371 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Greif
Hotel Greif
#1 of 26 in Bolzano
528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Stadt Hotel Citta
Stadt Hotel Citta
#3 of 26 in Bolzano
1,149 reviews
0.6 mi away
Kolpinghaus Bozen
Kolpinghaus Bozen
#17 of 26 in Bolzano
146 reviews
1.1 mi away
Scala Stiegl Hotel
Scala Stiegl Hotel
#9 of 26 in Bolzano
376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arts Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arts Hotel

Property: Arts Hotel
Address: Piazza Giuseppe Mazzini 35, 39100 Bolzano, Italy
Location: Italy > Trentino-Alto Adige > Province of South Tyrol > Bolzano
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 33 B&Bs / Inns in Bolzano
Hotel Class:3 star — Arts Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Arts Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing