We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent, moderately-priced choice”

Restaurant Zur Kaiserkron
Ranked #2 of 407 Restaurants in Bolzano
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $35 - $88
Cuisines: Diner, Mediterranean, Central European
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Austin, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Excellent, moderately-priced choice”
Reviewed July 1, 2014

This restaurant was a recommendation of hotel staff in another city. It was right down the street from Hotel Greif where we were staying. We had a delicious and filling meal. We shared one appetizer, had a pasta course each, and shared one "second plate" and had plenty of food between us. We also enjoyed a recommended local wine, which was superb! The service was friendly and professional. Would definitely go back in the future.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank terzlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

555 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    327
    167
    44
    12
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Elegant”
Reviewed January 4, 2014

Service was excellent and the food modern and creative. Well sized portions and delectable. The wine list is extensive but not ver expensive. A sommelier there to help match wines. I will now always go to dinner there.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank di05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Izmir, Turkey
Level 6 Contributor
159 reviews
118 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“delicious food in the center of bozano”
Reviewed December 31, 2013

this place recomended by a friend, who is a perfect chef, to try in bolzano. it is a beautiful old building and nice decorated restaurant. i don' t like to say "perfect" for everything but i didn' t detect any fault at the service. i tasted veals head and ox tagliata. they recommend to use some drops of red wine viniger when serving veals head, which is very useful. both are delicious and pefectly served. at the end of the dinner i ordered millefoglie with chestnuts cream and realized that chestnuts cream is not that good. i am sure they already know it and use additional ingredients. result is satisfactory. maybe their prices are a little bit high but it is a good choice to taste local cuise in bolzano.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank AlparslanT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reichertshausen, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best food in Bozen”
Reviewed December 8, 2013

I have visited Bozen many times over the years, and it is difficult to find good food. In comparison to the rest of Italy and the surrounding South Tyrol the quality is poor and often overpriced. I was therefore very pleasantly surprised by the Kaiserkron.
Excellent food, creatively prepared and perfect service. In fact one of the best meals I have had in several years. For 50€ a head we had 3 courses and wine.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Erik B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Good, slow food”
Reviewed December 6, 2013 via mobile

We stopped in Bolzano to stretch our legs in the middle of a long road trip. The food at Zur Kaiserkron was very good. Everything we had was in season and delicious. The potato / leek soup was soul satisfying. My husband had a fresh salad to start with pumpkin in it, that was good, but in our opinion, not worth the 10 Euros. The pasta fresca is of particular note, as was the steak. Both were exceptional.

The lunch, all in, did take close to 1.5 hours, and we only had 2 courses.

Overall, we would recommend this place. Just make sure you have some time on your hands.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank LivingAbroadFirenze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Zur Kaiserkron also viewed

Bolzano, Province of South Tyrol
 
Bolzano, Province of South Tyrol
Bolzano, Province of South Tyrol
 

Been to Restaurant Zur Kaiserkron? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing