We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, slow food”

Restaurant Zur Kaiserkron
Ranked #2 of 408 Restaurants in Bolzano
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $35 - $89
Cuisines: Diner, Mediterranean, Central European
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Good, slow food”
Reviewed December 6, 2013 via mobile

We stopped in Bolzano to stretch our legs in the middle of a long road trip. The food at Zur Kaiserkron was very good. Everything we had was in season and delicious. The potato / leek soup was soul satisfying. My husband had a fresh salad to start with pumpkin in it, that was good, but in our opinion, not worth the 10 Euros. The pasta fresca is of particular note, as was the steak. Both were exceptional.

The lunch, all in, did take close to 1.5 hours, and we only had 2 courses.

Overall, we would recommend this place. Just make sure you have some time on your hands.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank LivingAbroadFirenze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

558 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    330
    167
    44
    12
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
PA
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Special night at Kur Kaiserkron in Bolzano”
Reviewed October 12, 2013

We just came back from one of the best meals we have had on our tour of Italy. I had checked TA to find a special place to eat on our last night in Bolzano and many travelers had recommended Kur Kaiserkron. I had made reservations while we were still home and I am glad I did because the place was packed. Our table had a reserved sign on it with our name so they do honor reservations. We ordered the chicken and potato dish that was absolutely delicious. Highly recommend this restaurant for a nice night out. Happy retirees Joanne and Tommy

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 308j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
el cerrito, california
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
“A better restaurant for a special night out”
Reviewed June 23, 2013

TripAdvisor shows the Restaurant zur Kaiserkron to be the best restaurant in Bolzano and so we trudged there one evening for dinner. It was located in the Old Town of Bolzano, which was very pleasant area with small restaurants, little shops, an open air market, but difficult to park.

The food they served was good, better than average, and the presentations were pleasing. Both the service as well as the surroundings were correct, a bit stiff and formal, as you would expect from an expensive establishment in Germany (even though Bolzano is in Italy) Their prices were a few euros more than similar dishes in other restaurants. Maybe half a Michelin star? Probably worth it, if you want to eat something for a special occasion. The patrons were also, in general, better dressed than average and they kept their voices down. Many looked like this was a special evening out, and you would probably feel under-dressed if you just dropped in with your grungies. The place is packed, even in the middle of the week, and as the evening wore on. People eat a bit later here than in the States.

Personally, if I wanted just to eat something, II would just opt for something a bit simpler, homier, less fancy, and with food probably almost just as good.

See also: http://www.travelswithhok.com/From_Schladming_to_Venice/Entries/2013/4/25_II__Bolzano.html

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ploddinghappily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“It waz Zurrific!!!”
Reviewed June 23, 2013

Spending 21 days dining across Italy and Austria had it's highs and lows, and this meal was definitely among the top 2. The food, service and atmosphere (we sat outside while a great concert was going on) was fantastic. Even our 9 year old twins loved the place. The meal was appropriately long--long enough to savor every course and morsel. I would travel back to Italy just to eat at Zur Kaiserkron!!!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank OKCTwinmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orvieto, Italy
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Simply the best.”
Reviewed April 6, 2013 via mobile

I had planned ahead and reserved before arriving in Bolzano. We dined here on a Friday and watched many folks attempting to walk in being turned away...tutto prenotto... All reserved. I am so happy I did plan ahead as I am sure this will go down as the best meal of the trip. The service was excellent, friendly, attentive and professional. Wine list was heavy with excellent local selections and included other regions in Italy as well as France, Austria and Germany. Beyond all that, the food was just spot on and perfect. From the tasty salad of dandelion greens and first of the season white asparagus to the zucchini flowers filled with risotto and cheese and fried to golden brown to the so perfect delicate lamb racks with haricot vert and finally to the sublime desserts. If you are in or planning a trip to Bolzano.... Eat here you won't be disappointed.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank duetravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Zur Kaiserkron also viewed

Bolzano, Province of South Tyrol
 
Bolzano, Province of South Tyrol
Bolzano, Province of South Tyrol
 
Bolzano, Province of South Tyrol
Bolzano, Province of South Tyrol
 

Been to Restaurant Zur Kaiserkron? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing