We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Masterpieces you don't expect”

Giovanni and Marella Agnelli Picture Gallery
Ranked #56 of 368 things to do in Turin
Attraction details
Turin, Italy
Level Contributor
124 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Masterpieces you don't expect”
Reviewed August 24, 2014

I've seen a large number of masterpieces of very famous painters in this fantastic picture gallery, like Picasso, Modigliani, Renoir Manet, Matisse and others. I didn't expect this, and so I was amazed!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank FalconeMatteo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    92
    105
    34
    16
    13
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leiden, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
56 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Small collection in former Fiat factory”
Reviewed August 11, 2014 via mobile

The privale collection includes Canaletto's and huge Dresden depictions by Bellotto. The Matisse paintings compile a nice set, and Modigliani's nude is impressive. The collection is housed on top of Fiat's former test tracks on the roof of Lingotto building. Tickets include roof and art, but are rather expensive.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank jj3939
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
188 reviews
86 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“Seven fabulous works by Matisse”
Reviewed June 15, 2014

First, I must get my grouch out of the way! I picked up a brochure in the Tourist Office with a nude by Modigliani on the cover. The painting is obviously a reclining nude but here she is upright and looking mighty uncomfy. And, no, you don't open the brochure like a book. Her body is cut in half and you open it this way. Honestly!!! But to the works held in this little museum. Nu couche, 1917 is lovely - of course, lying down,and even better without the stupid cut through her middle. Two Picassos - A really lovely L'Hetaire (1901) and a big cubist painting of a man leaning on a table (1915-1916), La Negresse (1862-1963) by Manet and La Baigneuse Blonde (1882) by Renoir. But those fabulous works by Matisse - all seven of them. Breathtaking. I also thought the 8 euro (senior) was a bit steep, but the 3 euro English audioguide was really good value. I was disappointed that there were no postcards of the Matisse paintings, but there were ones of the Modigliani - and, yes, nu couche is standing up. Honestly!!!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Dale47_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1,358 reviews
797 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 579 helpful votes
“Small But Stunning With A Bonus”
Reviewed May 11, 2014 via mobile

This is a relatively small collection of top quality paintings that formed the backbone of the Agnelli family collection. There is much to enjoy in the paintings themselves but an additional bonus is the gallery itself, set in an unusually shaped building atop of the old Fiat factory, now converted to a major retail and restaurant centre including a multi screen cinema. Access to the gallery is from the centre of the building and a major bonus is the chance to walk around the Fiat test track on the roof including banked turns at each end. There are stunning views across the city on all sides.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank bsandrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Level Contributor
62 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Just 26 pictures, but almost every one a winner”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

We went to see the pictures, and were not disappointed. It's a very small collection, but top quality. The six Canalettos were stunning. The two huge Bellottos must be among his very best: we were particularly fascinated by his painting of Turin's Palazzo and Giardini Reali as they were in the eighteenth century. The entrance fee may seem a bit steep, but entrance to this gallery is included in the 2/3-day Torino + Piemonte card (described in my review of the Cinema Museum).

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Caroline T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Giovanni and Marella Agnelli Picture Gallery also viewed

 
Turin, Province of Turin
 

Been to Giovanni and Marella Agnelli Picture Gallery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing