We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“an excellent hostel”
Review of Ostello Torino

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ostello Torino
Ranked #16 of 76 Specialty Lodging in Turin
San Diego, California
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“an excellent hostel”
Reviewed December 12, 2012

All aspects were very good. Good Value for the money. Squeeky clean facilities, limited variety, but good breakfast. Front desk closed at night, but a watchman is on duty to let you in if you arrive late. Private bathrooms are available, but they are not in the bedoom, but down the hall, but locked with only you having the key.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mike d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    48
    14
    5
    3
See reviews for
4
10
33
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tokyo, Japan
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2012

First of all I think everyone needs to know that the location changed. As of sept 2012 they are now at Corso Giambone, 87/34 - 10134 Torino  (ingresso da Via Giordano Bruno, 191).

With that, first, the positive points. The hostel itself is new and very clean. Pretty rooms. We had a private double room with own bath.

Reception closes 10:30, and then until 2:30 am the door is closed but you can knock. From 2:30 am it is completly locked, noone to open so make sure u ask for the key.

Now, the negative comes from us being non-italians who are not familiar with the language so maybe that made things harder. The location of the hostel is far from city centre. Far is okay if it is easy to reach. However the nearest thing to it is a tram, that is around 5 blocks away, and the atmosphere is shady. Probably some gypsies around. I wouldnt know for sure.

And you have to properly ask about it, since the location of the tram stop beside Porta Nuova was closed, just follow the tracks and you will see the tram stop. Get home before midnight or you wont have a way to get back.

The tram going back to the city center is also crazy. We had to catch a train around 630 and the tram going back had a route not similar to the one going, so we missed the city center.

So anyway, if you are familiar with the setting already and will not catch early or late trains, the place will be okay. If you have to go to the place when the sun is out, it might not be safe.

I dont recommend Lingotto station at all. It is faaaar. You have to get on a bridge that is probably half a kilometer long, quite high up. Lingotto station and the Lingotto metro are different. If you have to go, just look up into the sky and you will see a red arch, huge one which supports the bridge. Cross it and then go through the auto gallery. Get out if it, look around and you will see an M. There is the metro. The lingotto station is farther.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank thejetsettress
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2011

Yes, you have to make your own bed but the building is nice. Its location is a tad below average. Curfew and you have to reserve dinner (which we did not have). Would come again though.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dirckfando
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallinn, Estonia
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2011

Good location, quiet neighbourhood - about 15 min centre. Clean rooms, incl. the bathroom. Nice, helpful and english-speaking staff. The breakfast was Ok, but nothing special. It`s a great option for a budget traveller, nothing to claim about...

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ullake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san francisco
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2011

Nice things first:
1. The neighborhood is good, because you'll find that a lot of local Torinos choose the nearby park (Valentino) as their preferred hangout for studying or playing. It's a 15 minute walk from the hostel to the park. Locals will tell you that it's one of the best neighborhoods in Torino. On the hostel side of the park, it's very residential and mostly senior citizens, it seems.
2. One bus will take you to Porta Nuova station in about 30 minutes (add 30 minutes wait time on Sundays).
3. Curfew is enforced, BUT you should ask for the key-- then, it's no problem getting in. ASK FOR THE KEY!!!
4. The lockers seemed fairly secure. Leave a 10 Euro cash deposit for the key.
5. For the Left Luggage, you can pick up your bag anytime before Curfew on the day you checked out. The Left Luggage room also seems fairly secure.
6. The staff were friendly and had good English. They even patiently listened to my terrible Italian when I indicated that I wanted to practice.

To be improved:
1. They had no membership cards, so even if you wanted to start one, you couldn't. Technically speaking, all IH Hostels in Italy must have membership cards available (as the staff at IH Genova will kindly inform you.)
2. Some Italian hostels let you use the cafeteria or lounge to eat and check email during lock-out hours, but not this one. It's a total lock-out.
3. WI-FI and internet use are NOT free, and (as far as I saw,) they only have one computer. If you have a laptop or Iphone, go to the Valentino park and ask around or look for the independent caffe (look for lots of bicycles and college students, by the water.)
4. The free breakfast is missing fruit or vegetables-- unless you count fruit jam as a vegetable! As a vegetarian, I could eat what they offered, which was toast and cereal. If you're vegan, you'll have to bring your own soy milk, which is a pain.
5. Dinner at 10.50 Euro is a bit expensive, even for a big city! I went to a pizzeria and ate a huge Calzone for 5.50.

You should book roughly 2 weeks in advance. I tried to book online for a Saturday, about a week in advance, but no luck.

Room Tip: BOOK ABOUT 2 WEEKS IN ADVANCE (at least).
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank guignon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brno
Level 6 Contributor
546 reviews
181 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 557 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2009

Staff on reception is very friendly, speaking english also.
Its easy to find.
Bathroom & Toilet were clean.
Breakfest wasnt good, only some toasts, muesli, milk, coffee. For the price (13,5 euros per night) you cannot expect more.
The worst thing was that you cannot sleep in the room during day between 11:00 - 14:00 (or 10:00 - 15:00). You must go down to common room and wait for something...I really dont understood why I cant sleep (lie) in my bed...

  • Stayed August 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rbbrno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level 6 Contributor
92 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2007

I stayed at Ostello Torino for THREE WEEKS while apartment-hunting in Turin. Overall, it was a fairly disappointing experience and I would be hesitant to recommend the hostel... except that there really aren't any other hostels in the city. With that in mind, here is what you need to know before you check in:

- The hostel is serious about their daily lock-out, from 10:30 to 3:30. Under no circumstances will you be allowed in the hostel at this time. In my opinion, these lengthy daily lock-outs are a thing of hostels past and a serious inconvenience. I've stayed at many other hostels that were just as clean, but that didn't have a lock-out at all.

- The hostel offers meals (free breakfast, no lunch, EUR 10 dinner) but you have to reserve dinner in advance. Be prepared, though: if you reserve in the morning and then leave because you're being locked out, and nobody else (or just a few others) orders dinner, they will cancel dinner service. There are no public kitchen facilities, so you will come back to the hostel at 7:00 and find there is no food food for you. Back to the city center it is (as there are no affordable restaurants nearby). Breakfasts are always a plain roll with jam and butter, and coffee or tea.

- The staff are forgetful with reservations. A week or ten days into my stay, I asked if I could make plans to stay a third week. They said it was no problem and I saw them write my name in the book. Nobody asked me to pay in advance. On Night 15, I found out that my reservation had been erased because I hadn't paid, and I had to find alternate accommodation with literally no notice. You also have to keep track of how many nights you pay for on stamped cards, as they don't seem to be very tech-savvy.

- Internet facilities consist of a Telecom Italia booth set up in the front lobby by the door, requiring an insanely expensive pre-paid internet card and offering users a barely-functional keyboard and mouse, and no privacy.

- The hostel does not take the safety and comfort of its guests seriously. When I was there, a group of about twenty males from a war-torn nation were visiting the city on some kind of sponsored tour. These men got extremely drunk every night, threw furniture around, sang drinking songs until 4:00 am and took advantage of some young female guests. That's not the hostel's fault, but the hostel should have given the guests an ultimatum: shut up or leave. Instead, they said "there was nothing they could do". As reception is not open all night and no emergency contact number is left, the girls in my room were concerned for our safety with those guests literally running wild in the hostel.

- This hostel is NOT close to the city centre or the action. To reach it, you must take a bus from Porta Nuova train station (the #52 heading across the river) and then walk up a medium-sized, steep hill, or prepare to walk for about forty minutes from the same train station. Bus tickets are EUR 0.90, the #52 is fairly frequent on weekdays but runs about twice an hour on weekends.

If you're a big, burly man looking for a place to sleep, and you don't mind being kept up late by loud guests and then kicked out of the hostel at 10:30 every day, you won't mind Ostello Torino. Anyone else... think twice.

  • Liked — This hotel is cheap and the rooms are fairly small (no eight-bed dorms, that I saw).
  • Disliked — The lock-out is a relic of hostel days of yore, it lacks a 24-hour reception and the staff and disorganized.
  • Stayed January 2005, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank ComoCarla19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Turin hotels
0.5 mi away
NH Torino Lingotto Congress
0.4 mi away
Hotel Cairo
Hotel Cairo
#46 of 129 in Turin
473 reviews
5.4 mi away
Hotel Miramonti
Hotel Miramonti
#27 of 129 in Turin
948 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
B&B Hotel Torino
B&B Hotel Torino
#44 of 129 in Turin
404 reviews
0.2 mi away
Galimberti
Galimberti
#42 of 129 in Turin
231 reviews
6.2 mi away
Hotel Galant
Hotel Galant
#21 of 129 in Turin
404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ostello Torino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ostello Torino

Property: Ostello Torino
Address: corso Giambone 87/34 | Ingresso da Via Giordano Bruno 191, 10134 Turin, Italy
Location: Italy > Piedmont > Province of Turin > Turin
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 76 Specialty Lodging in Turin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hostel Turin, undergoing rebuilding, is located internally former Olympic Village south bound Lingotto.Within 8 min walking distance from Lingotto railway station, in connection within olympic walkingthrough with Centro Fiere e Congressi; located next to Olympic Stadium Complex and Palaisozaki (20 min on foot).The structure has 99 beds with single and twin rooms as well as rooms equipped with 3,4 and 6 beds, most of them with private restroom. Accomodation caters for single travellers, families and groups. Our rates include breakfast. Check in from 14.30 to 22.30. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Ostello Torino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing