We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very dirty...horrifying, even.”
Review of Hotel Orchidea

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Orchidea
Ranked #118 of 130 Hotels in Turin
Reviewed September 25, 2010

Unfortunately, my experience of the Hotel Orchidea did not reflect the generally positive reviews listed on this website. I chose the hotel for its cheap rate and good location near Porta Susa and the city center; however, when I arrived, I discovered pubic hairs and a filthy bathroom in my reserved room. After speaking with the receptionist, she did offer me a room change, which seemed somewhat comforting. However, after finding actual excrement stains on the lid-less toilet in the next room, I was too horrified to stay. This hotel is where the traveler on a budget comes to die. I highly recommend the Hotel Dock Milano, which is in the piazza by Porta Susa, much quieter, quite clean, and only 10 euros more than this place.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank goodman23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (266)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

21 - 27 of 266 reviews

Reviewed October 22, 2009

Hotel is located close to the Porta Susa station which I believe is less than 30 min to the airport by bus services. It is an old building with a clean and good size room (we had a double room) offering the basics. If you are not intending to spend a long time in your room this can be a great choice. The shower area was very small with some water leaking but it was clean. Staffs are very nice and friendly and let us to check in a bit earlier. Breakfast is good and enough. You have to pay for air con. and internet which is a negative point. I bought an internet voucher which didn’t work. I asked the reception and they offered me another one for free which didn’t work again. There are good restaurant around which you can keep the budget low. It is easy to get to the city centre by tram (10-15 min). I recommend this place for the people who don’t want to spend a lot and still get an acceptable quality.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sh_n04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
An Agoda Traveler
Reviewed August 29, 2009

  • Stayed: August 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank An Agoda Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed August 20, 2009

I think the hotel is over rated with 3 stars as a 3* hotel would have air conditioning as standard and wifi as standard for free. In the hotel you must pay 5 euros for 12 hours of wifi and another 5 euros for a night of air conditioning. In all 3* hotels this comes as gratis as a standard. The rooms are ok not brilliant. And the ensuite room well there is not much there either as it is very old and somewhat unclean. I think the hotel is only good for one night even then your maybe better off at a bed and breakfast which is cheaper. I would also like to say there is no fridge in the rooms for the boiling summer heat.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank italianstallion88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2009

Stayed in this hotel for three nights on a work trip to Turin in the end of February 2009. Got a good deal through Booking.com, double room for single use 45 euros/night.
Room was a large one with a balcony to the street (pleasantly quiet street and area) with a little small bathroom. Hotel staff was very friendly and helpful and the breakfast enough to keep you going for next few hours. Hotel is located is only a short walk from Porta Susa train station where the trams and local buses pass and the buses from Torino airport also come/leave. The quarters near the hotel are middle-class and have many very decently priced restaurants. Good value for those who want to avoid over-priced eating and eat in a more local atmosphere, still only a walk away from the city centre. I would definitely stay in this hotel and area of the city, if I ever went back to Turin.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MarkusMalahide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2009

Unlikely to return, but the hotel was clean, although bedroom and breakfast had alot to be desired!

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jelliski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2007

we booked the hotel via internet.

Location is OK, area is not the best in town, but also not one of the worst. Hotel is nice, but has standard equipment, nothing more. Rooms clean but not especially nice. Breakfast not really to recommand, OK for one time.

But staff friendly and possibility to park the car inside a private parking.

In conclusion, good place to sleep for one night.

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank globetrottersforlife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Turin hotels
Star Residence
#18 of 130 in Turin
252 reviews
Cit Turin
Eco Art Hotel Statuto
Eco Art Hotel Statuto
#53 of 130 in Turin
242 reviews
Cit Turin
Casa Crema Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Diplomatic
#34 of 130 in Turin
1,840 reviews
San Salvario
Hotel Romano
Hotel Romano
#91 of 130 in Turin
101 reviews
Centro
Hotel Dock Milano
Hotel Dock Milano
#39 of 130 in Turin
1,228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Orchidea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Orchidea

Address: Via Claudio Beaumont 31/c, 10138 Turin, Italy
Location: Italy > Piedmont > Province of Turin > Turin > Cit Turin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #118 of 130 Hotels in Turin
Price Range: $48 - $138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Orchidea 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Orchidea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orchidea Hotel Turin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing