We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Best ratio Quality/Price.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Imperial

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Imperial
Ranked #105 of 128 Hotels in Turin
Bologna
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best ratio Quality/Price.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013

The hotel is not in the centre of the city, but almost near the tube station M1, so it's good if you must go in a place achievable by the M1. It was lean and cheap. I stayed here for a night only, and maybe I will be again if I must go to Turin for work.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dani_b0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    47
    31
    19
    17
See reviews for
24
58
10
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cannes, France
Level Contributor
76 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2013

I’ve stayed in the Imperial many times and the reason is simple……it’s good value for money. I wouldn’t stay there if I were on my honeymoon or if I were trying to impress a potential lover, but as I’m doing neither the Imperial is a good base to set out and enjoy Turin. A discount deal will give you a decent sized, clean double room for €40. With breakfast it comes to €50. Both prices are rare, if not inexistent, in the Piedmontese capital.
Breakfast is very much standard fare, but cheaper than what you’d pay in a café. Just don’t come down too late for it.
The hotel is run by a Sicilian family who will go out of their way to help you and tell you where you can get special offers in local restaurants that also happen to be run by Sicilians. Don’t get me wrong, this is not a Mafia joint, just a family run business.
It’s true that the hotel is in a rundown part of town, but then again, although Turin is a wonderful city, many districts are rundown and I don’t think the more central parts are any safer. What’s more, staying here you’re not far from a local market with lots of fresh vegetables and the bus and metro services work fine. Failing public transport it’s only a twenty-odd minute walk to the city centre.
If you’re not going to spend too much time in your room but rather visit the city and its many attractions, the Imperial is a fine base. You can usually find a free parking space in front of the hotel or in the surrounding streets and I’ve never seen much broken glass next to the cars. If you require a guarded car park there’s one at the end of the street for about €10 a day.
TVwise there’s the usual Berlusconi type drivel 24 hours a day, but fortunately there is free wifi and you can thus leave the remote control to fester in its corner of prediliction.
Some advice……book through a website and, if you’re staying on a Saturday night, ask for a bedroom at the back in order to avoid the noisy neighbours spilling out of the local nightclub at three in the morning. Finally, bring some cash in case the dodgy Turin credit card network mysteriously malfunctions.
All in all I quite like the Imperial Hotel and will stay there again next time I’m in town.

Room Tip: If you're staying on a Saturday night and tend to be a light sleeper, ask for a room at the back...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank roy b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Saint Lucie, Florida
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2011

I liked this hotel, The morning breakfast was simple yet very goo, My wife loved the cappucino, the room was small but served itd=s purpose, if you are going to a hotel based on swimming bar etc. this is not for you but if you base it as a room to rest comfortably, sleep at night this is the place to go

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lenny0861
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cormatin, France
Level Contributor
104 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2011

Based on the rather glowing reviews on this site, a friend and I booked a night in the Imperial for a weekend in Turin. We got a great deal on booking.com for 49 euros/night including breakfast. If the room had not been so cheap, I would not have given it a 4 out of 5 "very good" rating. The room was adequate, not the cleanest I've seen with visible "dustbunnies" around the window, someone else's hairs on the bathroom floor, and a ridiculously small shower. The location is not central AT ALL. It is in a slightly run-down residential neighbourhood, at least a 20-minute walk from anything of interest, if not further. Not scary, but not especially appealing either. However, the personnel were very friendly and helpful and deserve special mention, and the breakfast was outstanding, with several home-made cakes that were delicious, as well as fresh fruit and very good cappucinos. It was also nice to be able to have breakfast outside in the courtyard. The WiFi was not great, nor was the air conditioning. The hallways/stairways/common areas were very clean and generally in better shape and with a nicer décor than the rooms. We were able to get one of the 2 parking spaces right in front, which was very convenient. Overall, I would recommend this place if you get a good deal on the room rate. When I had called the hotel directly before reserving, they had quoted me 70 euros/night. If we had paid that rate, I would probably have been very disappointed. As it stands, it was fine for one night, with the personnel and breakfast being the high points.

Room Tip: Do not book through the hotel directly, you can get better rates on one of the travel sites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CathyFrance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
66 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2010

We stayed at the Hotel Imperial for two days in March 2010. It is a bit out of the city centre but don't let that put you off. Buses and trams stop nearby. The room, although quite small, was immaculate. Breakfast was perfect, a wide selection of pastries, cereals, fruit etc. We were woken up by the smell of croissants each morning. What really made oujr stay special however was the effort of the staff. Neither of us spoke a word of Italian but the staff at the hotel were so helpful. They did their utmost to communicate with us in English and were just so genuinely helpful and friendly.

Just one hint - make sure that you eat in the city centre as we struggled to find anywhere to eat near the hotel. Also, remember that the standard evening meal time seems to be 9 - 10pm. If you are hungry or just want to eat earlier (say 6:30 onwards) you will find it difficult as the restaurants/cafes areclosed or between service. On our final day, we had lunch at the Sfashion Cafe which was perfect. There is a cover charge and the soft drinks are expensive but the food was delicious.

Enjoy!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UKSian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2010

My friend and I stayed here for three nights on a recent trip. The hotel is 10 minutes walk from Porta Susa, which makes it fairly central. There is also a bus stop for buses into the city centre close by. The room was very clean and comfortable, as was the bathroom. The breakfast was included in the price and came with delicious coffee and croissants, various cereals, toast, biscuits, yoghurt and juice - plenty to choose from! The staff were very friendly and gave us a good map of the city, explaining where we were and recommendations of where to eat.
Overall, I would recommend the hotel, especially for the price, but be prepared to walk a little to get into the city centre proper.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Flooro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Turin hotels
Hotel President
#51 of 128 in Turin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 481 reviews
B&B Hotel Torino
#41 of 128 in Turin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 356 reviews
Hotel Balbo
#91 of 128 in Turin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Salvario
Hotel Urbani
Hotel Urbani
#31 of 128 in Turin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 931 reviews
Hotel Royal Torino
#92 of 128 in Turin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 445 reviews
Hotel Galant
#26 of 128 in Turin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Imperial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Imperial

Property: Hotel Imperial
Address: Via Principessa Clotilde 81, 10144 Turin, Italy
Location: Italy > Piedmont > Province of Turin > Turin > San Donato
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #105 of 128 Hotels in Turin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Imperial 3*
Number of rooms: 203
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Budget Places and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Imperial reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing